Fairbanks North Star Borough School District Employee Reviews in United States

See reviews about:
Showing all 9 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place I have ever worked
Special ed clerk/para (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKJune 7, 2016
I worked with the best staff, learned so much, they treated me like family. We were all team players and they listened to my opinions, I mattered at that school. If I hadn't relocated I would still be there.
Pros
everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Substitute Teacher / Special Needs Aide (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKJanuary 6, 2016
As a Substitute Teacher assigned to perform the duties of the regular teaching staff for all grade levels (K-12) to support learning in all subject areas including Reading, Math, Language Arts, Science, and Physical Education.
I Implemented daily lesson plans, maintained a structured, monitored environment, established clear objectives for all lesson plans, and communicated those goals to students through lectures, discussions, and demonstrations.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work with young children.
READING TUTOR (Former Employee) –  Joy ElementarySeptember 10, 2015
Very fulfilling job where you provided young children with the necessary tools to help them discover how to put those letters together and make a work they can read and understand.
Pros
Kept me close to my children while they were in school.
Cons
Not a full time job.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst employment in 30 years of professional work
Undisclosed (Former Employee) –  Admin officesMay 31, 2015
Extreme lack of credible professional management. Highly contentious work environment. Just read the Fairbanks News Minor for more information. Don't work here if you value ethical supervision.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work, fun working with children.
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKNovember 16, 2014
I learned how to be patient and how to manage my working environment.
Pros
having a job and making money.
Cons
only temporary work, and i am looking for permanent work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pearl Creek Elementary
Intensive Resource Aide (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKJune 14, 2013
Great experience working at Pearl Creek Elementary. Thank you to the staff and students for a wonderful experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great district to work for
School Psychologist (Current Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKDecember 24, 2012
Reasonable caseload, good admin. staff, no complaints! I really enjoyed my time with this district.
Pros
great place to work
Cons
it is cold in fairbanks :)
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kept me in work
Substitute Teacher & Librarian (Current Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKJune 14, 2012
Lots of job availability for subs. New computer system makes it easier to secure jobs ahead of time.
Cons
can only work 7 hour days. on-call system for subs
Was this review helpful?Yes3No

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture