Fairfax County Government Employee Reviews

Showing all 64 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive
Engineering Technician II (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAFebruary 8, 2017
The county has great opportunities and avenues available to enhance once aspiration. As corny as it sounds there is no limit what you can be as long as you keep a positive attitude.
Cons
lower salery
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Kitchen Staff (Current Employee) –  Clifton, VADecember 26, 2016
Great place to be on any kind of day. Food is delicious. Best hotdogs in town. Nice size golf courses. Great instructors and staff. One time is not enough to play.
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
Seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and Fun!
After School Teacher (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VADecember 16, 2016
I love my job because it keeps me young, I work with children and there truly is never a dull moment. I love inspiring children to be their best self.
Pros
Working with children
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Coworkers
Social Worker II (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VADecember 14, 2016
I have been employed with Fairfax county for almost a year. My experience has been great. I have an amazing team of coworkers that desire to see me grow.
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Registrar (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VANovember 20, 2016
I've worked here for six years while going to school for nursing school. My supervisors and co-workers were great at supporting me. The office environment is fun, busy and family friendly. We all worked together as a team, nothing was too hard, everyone always offered help and taught anything that was not clear. Best place I've ever worked at. Supervisor strives to keep the team united by engaging us in activities, praising jobs well done and helping in those areas that were lacking.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and creative place
Center Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VANovember 8, 2016
I start my day at 6:45 work until 11:00 am and then I have a long break and return to set up for the afternoon shift. at 2:15-6:15pm. The kids arrive to the center around 3:15
Pros
Long breaks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatplace to work for
Fire Engineer Fire Plans Reviewer (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAAugust 20, 2016
Great people to work for, flex work schedule, good pay jobs, promotion within the county, education available, team oriented.
Pros
Flex schedule
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and wonderful place to work
Administrative Assistant III (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJuly 10, 2016
Great environment and Co-workers. Management and staff worked extremely well together in accomplishing tasks.
The hardest part of the job was to move on due to budget cuts.
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting place to work
Counselor (Current Employee) –  Chantilly, VAJune 29, 2016
Self starter, motivated, goal oriented and team player. Client assignment is for overnight responsibility, monitoring client, security checks and assisting medical staff with completing vitals on client. Counseling of clients detoxing from opiates base substances and administration of subutex
Pros
Gain experience in counseling
Cons
no offsite lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hired as a seasonl employee
Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAApril 26, 2016
worked as a limited time employee. Wasn't there long enough to give an accurate review. Time spent there was good and seemed like a good work place enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairfax County Goverment
Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMarch 14, 2016
I worked from 8am to 4pm Monday-Friday
Learned a lot about computers and everyday construction
Of all Management only my last one would help when needed or short staffed
co-workers were pretty much ok some worked hard some played to much
hardest part was trying to get all work for day finished without being called on to help upper management with problems
loved meeting people and I liked working with monies and bonding and really all my different jobs with the County
Pros
Learning experience
Cons
Started hiring the real young who wanted to play and not work
Was this review helpful?Yes10No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMarch 2, 2016
Very good job! Flexible schedule/great benefits! Promotional opportunities available. Tuition reimbursement, cross training acceptable.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional dedication
Deputy Director (Current Employee) –  Fairfax County, VADecember 28, 2015
Elected officials and staff work together for the benefit of the community and employees. Great people to work with. Team oriented environment in the three agencies I worked in.
Pros
benefits, dedicated professionals
Cons
salary scale
Was this review helpful?Yes17No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress
Human Service Worker II (Current Employee) –  Reston, VANovember 17, 2015
Unmanageable caseload, people have been quitting right and left. Job advertised was much different than what you are actually expected to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes45No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work, and balance life priorities
Energy Manager (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAOctober 18, 2015
Excellent work environment, engaged management, engaged community, international work force, great compensation, and healthy respect for the community and environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a government job
Early Head Start (EHS) Child Care Specialist (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VASeptember 9, 2015
It's a government job. Benefits are great, plenty of room to move around, not such a great work/life balance. Pay is decent.
Was this review helpful?Yes27No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fairfax VAAugust 26, 2015
great work environment. used multiple tools and applications to research tax payers information and collected delinquent taxes via research tools available
Was this review helpful?Yes12No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for benefits
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Government centerJuly 7, 2015
Shift work, not a learning environment per say.
This is great for those who are wishing to retire and not make a ton of money for example.
Pros
Retirement Benefits
Cons
hours of work
Was this review helpful?Yes18No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall productive workplace
Office of the County Attorney (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJune 15, 2015
Typical day at work is covering any and all administrative duties for all attorneys within the office. I am the go-to person for tasks paralegals need help with as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of room for advancement
Assistant Director South County Teen Center (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VaJune 15, 2015
They promote leadership from within and encourage employees to seek advancement as far as they want. Supervisors will back you up in a tight situation with the public. They won't throw you under the bus.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No9Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fairfax County Government. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 64 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0

Fairfax County Government Reviews by Location