Find companies:
Fairfax County Government
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

Fairfax County Government Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working with police and public face to face
Police Citizen Aide (Former Employee), Fairfax, VAMay 26, 2014
enjoyed working with my police shift and dealing with the public face to face
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with supportive managers and feeling of teamwork.
Administrative Officer III (Current Employee), Fairfax, VAMarch 12, 2014
I get to my workplace 5 to 10 minutes before 8am so I can greet everyone at the office and do a quick review of what I have to do during the day. I've learned how to process applications for seniors and disabled people so I can help them get relief on taxes. My supervisors support and help me with all my tasks, specially new ones. My co-workers are – more... around my age so we talk about things alike and they are very helpful when I have a question about anything I don't know how to manage. The hardest part of the job is to make sure our visitors understand our policies, since sometimes they have trouble hearing or getting the message. The most enjoyable part of the job is to look back at the work you do one day and be proud of it, knowing that you counted with the help of a lot teammates. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great learning tool and stepping stone into working for a form of government rather its local, state or federal.
Scan Technician (Former Employee), Penino BuildingMarch 10, 2014
My typical day at work was reviewing and scanning case files for the social workers. I learned the various types of documentation that came with the Family Services and Social Services Department. The management was very good, I had a great relationship with my co-workers and supervisors, and they were very helpful when I needed them. The hardest part – more... of the job was the numerous amount of files and the tedious amount at times and its very repetitive. The most enjoyable part to me would just be the overall experience I took from everything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home and Worklife Balance
AAIII (Current Employee), Fairfax, VirginiaFebruary 3, 2014
Flexible schedules, great office environment, co-workers that are willing to help. Involvement in the community, time to further education by taking free county classes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good entity to work for if you're looking to retire
Manager and Team Lead (Current Employee), Fairfax, VirginiaDecember 10, 2013
. My typical day at work is busy and productive
. I have learned a lot about providing exceptional customer service and also managing the activities and time
. Management is great
. The team that I work with is hard working and productive and they are all great team players
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place. fun and live
Tax Administrator (Former Employee), Fairfax, VADecember 10, 2013
explain the billing process to tax payers, and genertate personal property tax bills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working as an emergency medical technician and firefighter
Firefighter/Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee), Fairfax, VANovember 4, 2013
Pros: rewarding job, helping others. overtime available.
Cons: 24 hours shifts away from home.
Highly trained, very professional personnel. Close knit group on my shift, like family. Enjoyed every minute at work. Very lucky captain knew me and requested I be assigned to his station in Annandale, which was very busy. Immensely rewarding to arrive on the scene of an emergency and know what to do to help people through their crisis. Also very satisfying – more... to be employed by one of the most prestigious fire departments in the nation. Most difficult part of the job was fire suppression training. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Engineer Technician III - Construction Mgt. Div. (Former Employee), Fairfax, VAAugust 5, 2013
Great hours
All aspects of construction management
ok co workers
N/A
Learn something new everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and progressive work environment
Executive Assistant (Current Employee), Fairfax, VAJune 23, 2013
Pros: pleasant, professional work environment
Cons: class bridging
A typical work day is fun, yet productive. A very diverse work environment with strong yet flexible management. Co-workers are wonderful, knowledgeable, and helpful people. The hardest part of the job is sometimes adjusting to the constant procedure changes. The most enjoyable part of the job is the interaction with co-workers and management, also the – more... staff recognition, and appreciation functions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Parent Education
Family Support Worker (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAJune 18, 2013
My typical day as a Parent Educator was to provide information to parents in the area of parenting skills along with the use of hands on strategies such as child play and age appropriate toys to enhance gross, social, and motor skills as means of preparing the child for school readiness. My co-works and I worked as team players in addition to brainstorming – more... ideas to best meet the needs of the family. The most enjoyable part of my job was seeing results during each visit and the hardest part of the job was seeing the family exit the program once they were no longer eligible to receive services. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Park Authority
Basic computer work and data entry (Former Employee), Springfield, VAJune 11, 2013
• Assisted customers and tourist visiting the park
• Basic computer work and data entry
• Clerical work within the Park office
• Operating tour boat and acting as a guide to tourist through the Park
• Worked with Microsoft Office application Word and Excel spreadsheet
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Customer Service Specialist/Help Desk Assistant (Former Employee), Fairfax, VAMay 3, 2013
Pros: incentives, co-workers
Cons: i stayed too short to make a determination.
Great co-workers and Team Spirit. Great Atmosphere. Stayed too short as I was contracted for 10 months only.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hello
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Fairfax,VAApril 29, 2013
Ok place to work but with all the budget cuts there isn't much room for advancement or for a raise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Essentail county services
Communications Service Manager (Former Employee), Fairfax, VAMarch 24, 2013
Provided voice and data service expertise to all county departments(police,fire,schools ; etc.) for equipment and services. Supervised county switchboard operators.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review payment requests and invoices submitted by departments
Accounts Payable Coordinator (Current Employee), Fairfax, VAFebruary 16, 2013
I am an Accounts Payable professional with 3 + years of experience. I am working mostly on the invoice vendor’s side, customers and vendors relation in accounting industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Friendly agency to work for
Administrative Housing Assistant II (Former Employee), Fairfax, VAAugust 18, 2012
Pros: excellent group of people to work with
Cons: the position was temporary
My experience as a temporary employee with Fairfax County Government was a great one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with development of children
SACC Teacher (Current Employee), Fairfax, VAAugust 8, 2012
Pros: 2 hour lunch break
Cons: long hours
Responsibilities include assisting in the overall operations of the daily SACC program activities; supervising students before and/or after school and during outside play; and representing the program and district in a positive way to students, staff, parents, and the school community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied Experiences
Management Analyst II (Former Employee), Pennino Building (prior to retirement)July 16, 2012
Pros: professionalism. compensation. progressive. emphasis on providing quality services.
Cons: office politics, personality driven, reductions in force have created very heavy workloads for remaining staff.
Fairfax County is not much different that most places of work. There are some agencies that are great and others that are not. One could be in a very healthy, flexible and enjoyable work environment one day and be in the opposite situation the next day due to a change of managers. That is the key. It's the managers that create the environment and an – more... employee's assessment will be based on values and preferences. I retired afteer working there for almost 24 years and my experiences ran the gamut. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging organization.
Counselor II (Current Employee), Fairfax, VirginiaJuly 2, 2012
Pros: opportunities for growth.
Cons: none.
Overall, great organization. Fairfax Government engages with both employees and the community at great levels one can truly appreciate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough job, but fantastic organization
Dispatcher (Former Employee), Fairfax, VAJune 13, 2012
My experience as a 911 dispatcher was very challenging. My supervisors (always at least 2 on duty) were great to work with. They were very understanding of the stressful situations that usually came up. They encouraged exercise, going for walks, and sleeping in the provided rooms to help relieve stress.

They were a very close "family" and they often – more... took care of the employees.

This type of job isn't for everyone, but I really enjoyed it and the people I worked with. – less