Find companies:
FAIRFIELD RESIDENTIAL
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

FAIRFIELD RESIDENTIAL Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to learn and sharpen up skill coming out of collage
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), Hamden, CTJuly 31, 2014
great place for great designs in architecture with award winning customs home designs that are ready for the field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Leasing Consultant (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 30, 2014
Pros: good training, great work life balance
Cons: raise rents way too much on residents
This is a great company to work for. Fairfield encourages great customer service and a positive atmosphere. Sometimes they can get a little outrageous with raising rent on people. That is a little hard to cope with bc in this job I don't get a raise of 2,400 dollars a year and they raise rents as high $200 a month on people who have been living there – more... for years. I don't think that is good customer service. That really would be my only complaint about the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), North Hollywood, CAJune 13, 2014
Loved the culture and my team

great building const.

Breat benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved my job until they got a new regional and my assist and manager left
Leasing Specialist (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVMay 28, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: management was bad
loved my job unitl a new regional and my manager and assistant left because of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful properties a company that has good values.
Assistant Property Manager (Former Employee), Athens, GAMay 22, 2014
Fairfield is an amazing company to work for and still has true values.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, Inviting and productive company to be part of!
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee), Lakewood, COMay 15, 2014
Pros: awesome employees and most management
Cons: budget! sometimes it can affect current residents, therefore causing bad reviews and hurts possible future leasing opportunities
I was very lucky to work for such a great copany. I loved my location and team as well as the fact advancement was a HUGE possibility. With all the training, employees and positive reinforcement I rate this company very high. There will always be pros and cons to a company, overall they set the bar very high for me, pesonally! I BECAME A HARDER WORKER – more... AND BETTER EMPLOYEE FROM MY EXPERIENCE. Sounds cheesy but you really do get to "experience the difference at Fairfield" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company to work for! Don't do it!!!!
Property Manager (Former Employee), Durham, NCMay 13, 2014
Pros: none!
Cons: horrible work environment, incompetent upper management, unresponsive hr dept
The company I worked for sold the property I worked at for 8 years to Fairfield in Dec 2012. From that day the property as well as the work environment went down hill. Upper management only cared about numbers, increased rents right away without researching the sub-market, residents started moving out, also they expected a 25 plus year old property – more... to not only be maintained, but thrive on a pseudo budget prepared out of nowhere with no real historical data. The budget was more designed for a brand new community with little needed in terms of wear-and-tear items...the community was 27 years old! I was made to be made to feel incompetent and practically harassed by the regional manager daily for not staying within budget which was impossible! Unrealistic demands were put on me as the Manager as well as the Service Manager. Policy was not well laid out and it seemed as if everyone in upper management had no idea how to interpret the written policy, so "policy" depended on who was asked and at time they were asked. I can go on and on, but I'll end with how non-responsive HR was when the regional manager's behavior was questionable and it was brought to their attention. I moved on from a property and job I loved due to this horrible management company. I will never recommend this as a place to work, not even to an enemy! No one should be subject to such work condition under no circumstances! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked it
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 12, 2014
Really enjoyed it. Worked with a great bunch of guys. Miss this place a lot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management and Unresponsive Upper Management
Leasing Consultant (Current Employee), Milford , ctApril 11, 2014
Pros: free suits quarterly
Cons: everything you can imagine
A bad place to work. Bad Management , Unresponsive HR and Marketing Dept. They will sell properties and the Employees are sold with the property. Expect to work 6 days a week , be scolded weekly, Have all blame put on you for everything. I trully believe this company is evil.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee), Corona, CAFebruary 22, 2014
Cons: work was overload for the amount of help we did not have.
Great people to work with, the staff was low and a very busy property.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very weak HR dept
lead service (Former Employee), raleigh ncJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: had insuance but it was terrible
Cons: they are corperate backstabbers
company i had worked for for 4 years sold to fairfield in feb 2013 and in the beginning (first couple months) was a large flux of corporate suits and boxes of empty unlabeled binders,list os supplies and required equipment some of which was very expensive.needing approval to buy these numerous emails,voice mails ect asking for approval ,mangers regional – more... managers ect just kept passing the buck,not returning the calls emails voice mails on these and other important issues.HR had to be contacted regarding employ misconduct HR gave me the runaround for two months after i was fired being a "whistle blower" HR said there had been a misunderstanding and the reason they gave was not having required paperwork in the binders that they themselves could not produce or find on there own HR website and not having the equipment they would not give approval to buy – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Far
Maintenance Assistant (Former Employee), Stamford, CTJanuary 11, 2014
Living in Meriden and working in Stamford proved to be too taxing on my life. I need to find something a little closer to home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
MAINTENANCE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Yardly Crossing 1800 Yardley Pa. 19067November 9, 2013
Pros: always learning new things and meeting new people.
Cons: having those few residents that were never pleased no matter what you did for them.
Was always busy from the start of the work day til the end. I had a pretty good team that I worked with; depending on the day! The hardest part of the job was always trying to please everyone. We wanted to make sure that the residents had everything that they needed but a lot of the times the decisions were out of my hands. The most enjoyable part of – more... the day was seeing how happy we made our residents! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company, high turnover!
Property Manager (Former Employee), Washington, DCOctober 16, 2013
Pros: compensation and health benefits were fair.
Cons: unstable structure, favoritism, culture issues.
Fairfield made a turn for the worst after their bankruptcy. Loyal employee's were let go, every time you turned around someone in upper management was resigning, and the on-site employees suffered because of it. The structure changed and never recovered; the culture changed; everything changed! There is some room for growth but you either have to know – more... someone in upper management to help you grow or you have to put in unbelievable hours to accomplish your goals (regardless of what achievements/designations/degrees you acquired while with the company). In this company, you almost have to sacrifice your personal life to advance and you must take the initiative to make things happen on your own because it's unlikely to be promoted within (unless you've "played the game" and got on everyone's good side or personally know someone at corporate). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Fun
Leasing Consultant (Current Employee), Torrance, CASeptember 30, 2013
-property is beautiful
-staff is very nice and friendly
-hardest part of the job is not having to market anything anymore
-i like giving tours, talking to different prospects on a daily basis
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stuffy Co-workers, bad management and Company ethics is an oxymoron
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee), Denver, COSeptember 21, 2013
Pros: closed on sunday?
Cons: pay, management, job security, yardi
My company sold its property to Fairfield and that's how I ended up working for them. They were HORRIBLE!! I can't believe people think they a good company to work for. (My standards must be really high)

The employees are stuck up. They treat their tenants like 2nd class citizens. And why should they care? The company buys companies left and right, – more... jacks up the rental prices and then sells once the property is ran into the ground. I was embarassed to be employed by them.

The pay was garbage and its so micro managed you couldn't pick a booger without their permission. The property manager had the maintenance men unpacking her apartment rather then completing service request for the tenants and the computer systems are out dated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The companies Bankruptcy created difficult times
Community Manager (Former Employee), Silver Spring, MDSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: compensation
Cons: senior management
Great property, poor senior management, lots of turnover and abrupt changes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overwhelming conditions
Maintenance Manager (Former Employee), Stamford, CTApril 14, 2013
Pros: apartment and access to pool
Cons: place has a long way to go before it is back on track
At first glance it looked like a good place to work at but as time went by I quickly realized that I was working alone. Not only did I not have the support of the management or my assistant but the previous manager had run down the place. Its like everything was working against me. Management changed at the property but problems still remained because – more... the root of it stemmed from a Regional level. After I tried my hardest and even inconvenienced my family by coming in extra early and working late hours and even weekends trying to satisfy management, I was still let go. Soon after my departure they realized that the problem in fact was not me. I am glad that changes were made, although too late for me but my colleagues and friends that still work there are reaping the benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked working at Fairfield
Accounting - Auditor and Matching (Former Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: the friends a made there
I like working there is was nice to learn new things, i was in the Accounts payable department, i did the audits for them. i loved my job. but i got laid off from there while i was pregnant. liked my first manager i had then we got a new manager and wasn't very fair at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard but get paid fairly
Manager (Former Employee), NCNovember 20, 2012
Pros: generous compensation package, accolades for job well done
Cons: no work/life balance, tedious contract process
You are paid for new leases as well as renewals. You will receive bonuses on a quarterly basis and a token of appreciation for the Christmas holidays. Fairfield acknowledges your individual success with W.E. Awards and various leasing contests. You will be pushed to be the best manager you can be and will experience growth compared to working for other – more... companies. Once you work for Fairfield, all other companies are a piece of cake and somewhat boring. Fairfield is known for buying, redeveloping, and then selling the property for a profit so be prepared to transfer when needed. If you pride yourself on your work ethic and reliability, I would give Fairfield a chance. – less

About FAIRFIELD RESIDENTIAL

Fairfield Residential Company LLC is among the most experienced multifamily real estate operating companies in the United States. – Read more