Fairway Market Employee Reviews

Found 210 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was productive and fast paced
Front - End Manager (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 13, 2017
Working in Fairway Market was a place where I started I was there for 6 years so I was using it as a stepping stone so it helped me but overall it's a good place to start working just to you can get the hang of working and to be independent but the pay could be better and some things need to change but it's a good place to start if it's going to be your first job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Butcher (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTSeptember 11, 2017
worked 6am till 6pm 6 days per week .. great job. job was really fun
. great
working , customer services , was good , 1 hour lunch. learned to be a great part of the team . looking forward to managerment .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced working environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 9, 2017
If your not up to speed with front end areas, it can become a stressful working environment . Overall despite the bag management system it's a good place to work & the weekly pay is a plus.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Bad manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment
Asst. Deli Manager (Current Employee) –  Westbury, NYSeptember 8, 2017
I like working there. its a great environment for anyone who is looking to learn the basics of being in a supermarket. the workplace is good, some days its slow nd some days are busy but we make the best out of the situations. I have a great team who gets everything done. The hardest part of the job is cutting hours bc my team works so hard to be there. I enjoy being a team leader and being able to see what my team can do.
Pros
we get 40 percent discount
Cons
cuttings hours alot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great customer, muilitask job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Douglaston, NYAugust 29, 2017
daily checking cashier behavior and how they talk to customers. counting money all day. emails about everything that goes on in the store. weekly schedule had to be made for 40-60 employees. ordering supply's. etc
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Plainview, NYAugust 23, 2017
a typical day at work of being run around and not appreciated. I did gain a lot of admin experience. management always changes and are never accommodating.
Cons
no security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Stamford, CTAugust 21, 2017
I enjoy working here. I get alone with everyone. Love conversing with the customers there. Rush hour can be stressful sometimes because of impatient customers but you'll get use to it.
Pros
Discount for employees
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic work enviroment with 0 to no chance in advancing your career
Instore Trainer (Current Employee) –  Stamford, CTAugust 15, 2017
If you are seeking to further your career, do not consider Fairway Market. You will not be happy, you will not want to cone to work and apply your skills.
Pros
Discount, ensurance after 6 months
Cons
Short breaks, no hours, management is poor, toxic workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience for a college student
Night time Coffee Department Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 15, 2017
If you're willing to work Fairway is a great place to work during your school years. Flexible with your schedule and a very friendly environment. Can grow as an individual by meeting/helping with different people.
Pros
flexible, great environment to grow
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very busy store to work at.
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 8, 2017
If you can deal with rude customers and a job where you don't get any rewards by managers or supervisors for going above and beyond what youre supposed to do fairway is the place for you.
Pros
15 minute break and 30 minute lunch if you work more than 6 hours
Cons
If you're 20 or younger you get treated like a child.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hated it.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Douglaston, NYAugust 7, 2017
made me work excessive hours at 17. management was rude and made me feel worthless, like i was just another cog in their big machine. i would not reccomend anyone to work here.
Pros
20% discount
Cons
non-flexible hours, impatient management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, team leadership
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 4, 2017
I am a team player and always looking forward to move up and learn more from the company. This is a family oriented company , but they do not really give the employee the opportunity to grow within the company .
Pros
weekends over time after 6 months being in the union
Cons
few hours, no place to move
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a relaxed work environment
E-commerce & e-Retail Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 3, 2017
I was working at Fairway for a year. I enjoyed coming to work for the most part. It was a relaxed environment on slow days but when the store was busy I always made sure I would do everything I can to work as quickly and efficiently as possible.
Pros
30% hot bar food, 20% of regular price
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Clerk (Current Employee) –  Chelsea, NYAugust 2, 2017
Opportunity to learn
Nice management
The harder part of the job will depends on you position
Have to be available to work standing for long periods of time
Pros
Union employment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere
Deli Worker (Current Employee) –  Westbury, NYAugust 1, 2017
Fairway is an friendly working atmosphere hours are good.management are very helpful to you and customers.the food is freshly made everyday,you have an wide selection of meats,cheeses to choose from,the staff are very helpful...
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
CLERK (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 24, 2017
it was a good experience. the managers were okay. the work load was a bit easy. I was working on the cafe so every day I would make sandwiches and pizza and so on.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quailty Food Grocery Store
Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 18, 2017
cashiers at fairway market are like peasants. they are at the bottom of the food chain. pay was not worth the job the people you work next to some are good people and do their jobs and others are not so good at anything. management did their jobs very well and the work place culture is like no other market they have great quality food but it is expensive to eat from there. the hardest part about the job was no job growth and the most enjoyable part was meeting new people.
Pros
Competitive job games that give you chances to when money to shop at the store
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall supermarket
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Westbury, NYJuly 15, 2017
Great supermarket.
Has everything you need.
Very fast paced store.
Manager are fair to employees.
Great team work.
Nice customers
Food and customers..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A friendly enviornment to shop for groceries
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 12, 2017
A typical day of work for me is helping customers with any issues they have as far as with refunds and cashiers era. I learned how to multi task with more then 5 taskes at a time with keeping my area tidy. Working with different cultures was a good experience to learn different food products and the use of it. The hardest part of the job was shrinking items at the end of the month. The most enjoyable part was being able to satisfy customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i had fun coworkers
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTJuly 6, 2017
Everyday i would clock in & go straight to the front-end of the derpartment & start stocking. other days i would cashier. I personally love cashiering.
Pros
half off on groceries & You get 3 sick days
Cons
I had a late shift so i had to close
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fairway Market. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 232 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.2

CEO Approval

53%
93 ratings
Add your rating