Fairway Employee Reviews

Found 23 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Plainview, NYOctober 5, 2015
Balanced cash drawer by counting cash at beginning and end of work shift. Greeted customers entering the establishment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the job but not the people
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 23, 2015
I love dealing with customers and people in general. I had my everyday customers and especially the children. I loved helping them out and putting a smile on there faces. They didn't understand after FAIRWAY I have a life, responsibilities, family, school. If you was Spanish they treated us different.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management unprofessional
Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 22, 2015
I liked the job and was good at it. I was very helpful to the customers I served. I did not like management because of how they showed favortism to certain people. Most of the workers were very nice and pleasant t be around. If management wasn't being so unprofessional, I would have never left.
Pros
Allows you to always communicate with customers
Cons
management was very immature
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Sales Manager / New and Used Cars (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMay 27, 2015
Fun place, great staff, great co workers. the most enjoyable part of the job was the satisfaction of sales. Great owner. A typical day is to get motivated and ready
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay for a temporary part time
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 10, 2015
i would describe a typical day at work in fairway fair.
i have learned to place orders for items needed in the grocery dep.
co-workers are very motivational group of people and enjoy working with them.
Pros
union
Cons
horrible work hours can barely meet ends meet
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working hard
Kitchen (Current Employee) –  Woodland Park, NJNovember 7, 2014
very productive company with room for growth different job on hand nice place hardest part of job holidays lot's of food prep.I learned how to place orders and run a kitchen my co workers are the best easy going and respectful the joyful part of the day is to see every body packing orders and getting our job done as one unit
Pros
discount on foods and catering orders
Cons
pay and weekend
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent operations and internal products and controls
Mortgage Loan Officer (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GAAugust 14, 2014
Several of my previous employers in the mortgage lending area have closed their operations and offices. Fairway is one of the few to stay open and would be the ideal place for a Loan Officer to work if the housing market were healthy. As it is, lending is at a low point and over-regulation by the federal government has caused a dramatic decrease in incomes and job security.

Management is capable and motivating, the staff is terrific but the market has collapsed and is still in the doldrums. Loan officers have had to find other employment.
Pros
excellent operations and back office.
Cons
their lending market has all but collapsed in last six years.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team work
Front end cashier (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJuly 24, 2014
team work commication
no hard part understanding costumer
i learned to handel money better
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with customers
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hickory Hills, ILApril 21, 2014
I greeted customers with enthusiasm and took orders
sliced and weighed deli-meats and cheeses
Maintained and stocked all designated section areas
Santized and cleaned all areas in department
Handled accounts and cash effectively
Pros
there were none
Cons
there were none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pelham, NYApril 6, 2014
Work a hour straight before you take a 15 minute break then you work way into your shift and take a thirty minute lunch break. Management was okay and some of the assistants would help if it became too busy. Hardest part is when there is no customers and work cannot be don't i find it easier when theres work to do the time tends to go by faster.
Pros
a lot of hours
Cons
no complaints
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good environment
Stock Clerk (Current Employee) –  Plainview, NYJanuary 19, 2014
first thing i walk in my manager doesnt even say hey good morning or afternoon, he says"ready?" feels like im a piece of meat there. nothing is hard about the job its gets frustrating how you are treated there by co-workers and managers. the most enjoyable thing about fairway is leaving. just an overall bad company to work for.pay is not bad but im looking for a career working 37 hours and making 9.50 does not cut it.
Pros
nothing
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no job security
Customer service for retail and special orders (Current Employee) –  Kips bay lower east side manhattanNovember 14, 2013
i currently am employed at Fairway. Seems like everyone i know that works there is terminated just before they make the union and benefits kick in. Not for me. In addition they have me on a part time schedule. I need full time employment or the chance to secure a job that promises or at least gives that option in the near future. a promise for opportunity to grow would be nice.

typical day at work.
retail execution, maintenance and customer service
what i learned
bake off products
management
never there in the evening supervising. they leave me alone every night. they only work days.
Co workers
Shun away from responsibility leaving me the majority of the closing duties which i feel is inappropriate
Hardest part of the job
closing the dept and working the dept short staffed every night.
Most enjoyable part of the job
the customer interaction and service i render to them.
Pros
a check every week to barely make ends meet, i still appreciate but looking to leave.
Cons
write ups for every little detail we may forget regardless of we're overwhelmed with responsibility
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
smooth workplace with great employer and employees
Produce Clerk/Cashier/Barista (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 13, 2013
a typical day at work would include receiving payments for items purchased. Assisting customer request, and learned how to instruct a group of people on how to preoperly use a register. management was friendly and very work oriented as far as my employees they followed similar behavior. Hardest part of the job was having to see faces of people that didnt want to work certain days so they put faces of disposition.best part of my job would have to have to be dealing with customer request.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive environment.
Chesse Department Stocker (Former Employee) –  Pelham Manor, NYOctober 16, 2013
I was in charge of stocking shelves, receiving deliveries, packing those deliveries out in the stock room, inventory and I also sold products to consumers.
Pros
very pleasant work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTSeptember 26, 2013
great place to work.

team spirit. would recommend anyone to work there.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a complex IT infrastructure
Help Desk Specialist (Former Employee) –  Harlem, NYMay 27, 2013
A typical day at fairway as Help Desk Specialist included:
Respond to employee's computer queries and problems in a timely manner. Respond to down server, system outages, telecommunication issues/problems, and LAN situations. Coordinate resolution and escalate to vendor (outsourced system and service support), as appropriate. Production reports generation for Upper Management. Generates ad-hoc production reports upon users request. Update a knowledgebase database with daily technical issues, Maintain a daily log of work done categorized by job type. Worked in a collaborative work environment, assisting co-workers, and training new employees. The hardest part of the job was the job schedule; there were not weekends off, neither holidays. The most enjoyable part was the challenge of resolving new issues every day; acquiring a valuable technical experience.
Pros
good job environment. excellent upper management and co-workers relationship.
Cons
not a well-defined it staff salary policy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviorment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYApril 1, 2013
I loved fairway. I wanted to stay longer. Very simple job. I had previous experience so it was very easy.
Pros
good people
Cons
i had to leave
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and warm work environment
Stock Worker (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 29, 2013
It's a friendly work environment and the customers are nice and patient.
Pros
excellent work environment, friendly people, friendly co-workers
Cons
overnight there aren't any customers
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Maintenance Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTJune 11, 2012
Good company & management. Compensation somewhat below market.
Pros
growing business
Cons
pay below market
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Example: Productive and fun workplace and people
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 3, 2012
good daily work
how to operate a cash register
good management
good co-workers
capacity of customers
helping customers
Pros
free drinks
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 30 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture