Find companies:
Familia Dental
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
45 reviews

Familia Dental Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
THIS JOB IS HORRIBLE
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Current Employee), Schaumburg, ILMay 27, 2014
Pros: people that you work with are nice and try to help you out.
Cons: poor management, managers don't do anything, they use a viper while at work. over load of work, busy just about everyday, no 15 mins break, have to have a smile on your face, you have to have a smile on your face everyday and on the phone, no mistakes.
UNLESS YOU LIKE GETTING WRITTEN UP FOR NOT HAVING A SMILE ON YOUR FACE EVERYDAY I WOULDN'T APPLY!!
THIS JOB IS SO UNORGANIZED!! ITS CRAZY, PPL THAT WORK HERE ARE NICE BUT VERY POOR MANAGEMENT. MANAGERS HERE ARE STUPID, NO RULES REALLY APPLY AND YOU HAVE TO LEARN A LOT OF THINGS. THEY ONLY HIRED WOMEN HERE. AND IT GETS VERY BUSY. NOT WORTH THE PAY FOR – more... SOME GIRLS. ESPECIALLY THOSE THAT COME FROM FAR AWAY. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team work
Dental Assistant (Current Employee), Plainview, TXMay 27, 2014
Cons: no health benefits or vacation
Co-workers in the back are easy going, fun to work with and we do good team work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place!! A sweat shop!!
Dental Assistant/Lead Dental Assistant (Former Employee), Hobbs, NMMay 4, 2014
Pros: none!
Cons: everything! long hours, no breaks, unprofessional
This company is the worst place to work for! I have never worked for such a disorganized, unprofessional office before!! They go thru different staff like crazy! Long hour shifts, no overtime and if you do go overtime you don't get paid for it! Lunch/break is only 15 min if you're lucky, manager is so unorganized, and clueless about everything. Corporate – more... only cares about getting a bunch of patients in even when the office is already booked. The office can never be kept up, everything is always breaking and staff is unorganized as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast past company
Dental Assistant (Former Employee), East St. Louis, ILApril 24, 2014
You must have a flexible schedule and be able to move at a very fast past. Must be able to explain how to maintain oral hygiene. Make sure to know the what tools the doctor use for each procedure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I still can't believe I made it out sane
Call Center Rep (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILApril 9, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: no benefits, unprofessional environment
I did two weeks of training and this place is horrible. Upper management is really unprofessional. Team leads are clueless and the training is mediocre. The girl (one of the team leads) who trained us was really unprofessional. The girls who I trained with and I did not understand anything in the manual because the trainer was constantly leaving the – more... room and off pretending to be "busy" while we were stuck in a conference room left clueless. This place will throw you back to high school. Most of the girls are constantly gossiping and having really inappropriate conversations with each other and managers. Managers often chime in and love the gossip.There are no boundaries and some of the girls talk to managers like they're out at the bar. It's ridiculous.

This company needs a serious 180 turn. There should be boundaries between staff, team leads and managers. If you are giving people rules to abide, enforce them and be consistent with everyone, not just new people. Upper management needs to be professional, I cannot count the many times managers were gossiping about employees or cursing. Also, there's a casual dress code...but some people are dressed in a very inappropriate manner. No one wants to see you back showing or your stomach. Be professional, you're going to work. I also saw a few girls get fired before training, for no apparent reason. If they don't like you, they'll get rid of you without any cause. It's really pathetic. The pay was about 12 an hour which isn't bad but the treatment they give you is ridiculous. Oh, and they have no benefits for full time employees. I mean you would think you'd at least get dental, but nope you don't. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at work
Call Center Representative (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILApril 3, 2014
Cons: health care, breaks
Working at Familia Dental was a great experience for me. I would start my day at 8:00 A.M. I would fill out my logs and log into my phone and start taking calls. I would schedule appointments, confirm, and cancel appointments. I would also make new files for new patients and take down all contact and insurance information.

I learned how to use Eaglesoft – more... and One Entry, where I made patient complaints, and if the doctor is in network for insurance purposes. Management was friendly along with my co-workers.

I would say the hardest part about the job was to try to keep up with all the appointments, reschedules, and canceled appointments I would do throughout the day and keep them in the call log and keep up with the phones. I was able to do it no problem however, when we were short staffed it was a little difficult.

The most enjoyable part about the job was that I was able to provide customer service and help the patients get into the office as soon as I could.

What made me uncomfortable about this job was having to offer Orthodontic services to patients who had dentures. I have gotten yelled at a few from certain patients and I just felt it wasn't necessary to offer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lets just say you couldn't pay me to go back!!!
Outgoing (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ilApril 2, 2014
Pros: if you work in outgoing you don't have to be there until 12pm if your not a morning person
Cons: everything else to me!
NEVER WORK FOR THIS COMPANY!!!! UNLESS YOU LIKE TO BE DISRESPECTED, TALKED TO LIKE A CHILD, I WOULD NEVER WORK FOR THIS COMPANY AGAIN!!!!!! AND THEY TRIED TO PAY US TO GO AND PUT UP REVIEWS FOR THEM... SO YOU CAN TAKE THAT HOW YOU WANT!!!! AND THEEEEEEEE ONLY REASON I GAVE THEM A STAR IS BECAUSE I HAD TO PUT A STAR TO POST THIS.... I'VE NEVER BEEN SO – more... UNHAPPY WITH A JOB! I WOULDN'T RECOMMENDED THIS JOB TO MY WORST ENEMY! GLAD I LEFT!!! I STARTED WITH 12 PPL IN MY TRAINING CLASS 2 MONTHS AND NOW THERE'S ONLY 1 LEFT! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service only girls are hired good pay
Appointment setter (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILMarch 10, 2014
only worked their for a few months but it is was fun and easy job god staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Job
Certified Dental Assistant (Former Employee), HobbsFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: paid rhs classes
Cons: always short staff, non-overtime, cut hours
Lack of job security.Lack of management, High turnovers, Fast pace environment. Company would provide RHS training to become a Certified Dental Assistant. Enjoyable helping patient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very unprofessional ...Espanola Nm
dental assistant (Former Employee), espanola new mexicoFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: no hours no benefits
Cons: nothing
Most employees not trained right.management very unprofessional and has her ways set. No respect for anyone managment. Down grades assistants who went to school and also don't sterilize handpicies and no radiology badges. Places is a wreak
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Familia Dental
Lead Dental Assistant (Former Employee), Decatur ILJanuary 20, 2014
Everyday i showed up to work 15 minutes early after clocking in i went to the lab to set up all our sterilization units and to set up patients trays, then lowered all the chairs in the ops. After making sure the office was ready to go for the day i would take a look at the schedule and set up for our first patients and the day has started. At the end – more... of my shift we cleaned the office sterilized all instruments and left for the night. In being Lead Dental Assistant I was responsible for ordering our office supplies, making schedules, ensuring employees were doing their jobs, and assisting the Doctors as well. The hardest part of my job was the lack of respect the company had for their employees. All of my coworkers were hard working kind hearted individuals. The best part of my job was doing what i loved and helping new people everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced Energetic work place with many flaws
Dental assistant (Current Employee), Addison, ILNovember 11, 2013
Pros: bonuses
Cons: short breaks, traveling sucks, no health benefits, underpay
Management is alright needs work though you never have a set schedule they over work you and underpay you the co workers are good but some are lazy. the higher management isnt very caring or understanding so good luck with that!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace.
Receptionist (Former Employee), East Saint Louis, ILOctober 28, 2013
Pros: fun working environment.
Cons: no insurance/benefits. non-competitive salaries.
A typical day at work consisted of checking in patients, getting all of their Insurance information, and taking payments if need. I did treatment plans and payment plans for private insurance patients. I also made sure that all of the consents and patient information was scanned in, and the walkouts were ready to go to our billing department. I learned – more... how to work with the EagleSoft software for Dental practices. Our management was ok, it could have been better. The hardest part of the job was trying to keep up on all of the new rules and regulations. Our management team was a little slow with letting us know new rules. The most enjoyable part of m job was who I worked with. My co-workers were very nice and fun people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Dental Assistant (Former Employee), Abilene, TXOctober 17, 2013
Today was my last day with Familia. This is a horrible place to work. Not many hours. Rusty instruments. Unorganized scheduling. Patients are crammed on the schedule then have to wait 2-3 hours. Corporate blames the office staff for everything. I reported a lot of safety hazards straight to the corporate office and nothing was done to correct it. If – more... you work over your hours they just remove them and you never see them again. I traveled to a different office a few times. What they promised to pay me they didn't. They have the employees a raise then cut their pay. They cut the budget. I was exposed to infectious liquid by another employee who was being careless so I have to go to several doctors appointments to get tested for blood born pathogens. She didn't receive any kind of discipline. Two Weeks later she was promoted to lead dental assistant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fast Paced
Billing Specialist (Current Employee), Schaumburg, ILOctober 5, 2013
Pros: weekends off, shifts, breaks, dental discount, 40 hour work weeks
Cons: no benefits, no overtime
A typical day at Familia Dental includes submitting claims, pre authorizations, calling patients for past due amounts, verifying eligibility for patients, processing claims and calling insurance companies. There is a always a change and something new to learn which can be challenging but rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DONT EVEN THINK ABOUT IT.
call center (Former Employee), shaumburg ilSeptember 28, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
-very unorganized
-management is two faced
-unprofessional
-no patience at all.
-one of the managers is the hiring managers mom so the hiring manager is a mamas boy who cant tell you anything to your face so he has his mama do it for him.
-some of the girls working there were nice and actually tried to help me out but most of the time they were rude, – more... as if i should know the material already. so not a friend vibe at all.
-they keep training so many girls cuz people quit all the time because of managment.

they let go a couple girls in my training group because once again "mamas boy" didnt "like" those girls for some reason so he ran to his mama to tell the girls that they are basically being let go, right after signing paper work and quitting their jobs. no compassion whatsoever and very cold hearted.its sad cuz some girls who apply are single young mothers who think they are gonna make good money but get let go before even training. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible!!!
Dental assistant (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXSeptember 23, 2013
Cons: everything!
Do not apply to this place!!! Patients complained about waiting hours to be seen!! Corporate schedules patients for 30 mins an less! They only care about money an the number of people seen! They don't treat employees as "Family" as they say! I worked here 2 yrs an just couldn't handle it anymore!!! They don't think employees have any other life other – more... than to work there! If u have kids then this is a definite do not apply!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WARNING DO NOT APPLY!!!
Receptionist (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILSeptember 13, 2013
Pros: quick hire
Cons: bad management; horrible schedule, bad bad training
BAD BAD PLACE TO WORK AT, THEY ALWAYS HAVE AN EXCUSE TO WRITE YOU UP THEY WILL MAKE YOU PUSBH PUSH FOR APPOINTMENTS WHEN NO ONE WANTS TO COME IN CAUSE THEY ARE NOT PROFFESIONAL AT ALL!!!!! THEY HAVE NO GOOD MANAGEMENT ALWAYS ALL OVER THE PLACE!! ALL THE PATIENTS CONPLAIN THAT THEY WILL NEVER COME BACK CAUSE EVEN THE DOCTORS THEM SELFS ARE NO GOOD!!! – more... I WOULD NOT I MEAN NOT RECCOMEND WORKING HERE BAD BAD PLACE!!! I RATHER QUIT THAN GET FIRE FOR SOME STUPID DUMB THING. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect job for a mental breakdown at 30!!
Slave Labor (Former Employee), New MexicoAugust 26, 2013
Cons: no benefits- no paid time off - awful salary - little training
Front desk - So much pressure on the Office Manager and they can barely get a lunch. Hours needed to work to perform the job adequately are 55 - 60 hours for McDonalds wages. And forget about insurance health benefits. There are NONE.

Dental Assistants - they have horrible schedules! They never get full-time hours and the part time hours and are never – more... on a consistent basis. You maybe work 10-15 hours a week. Sometimes mornings, sometimes afternoons, sometimes Saturdays and Sundays.

And to get the word out if you open a new office is pathetic. They don't give the marketing people ANY help with advertising.

Marketing - You are given $0 budget to actually market the office and its benefits. Their marketing consists of 1-time mailer postcards of which the majority get returned or tossed as junk mail, 1 two week radio schedule for the grand opening of a new office. And yeah, that's it.

You're job demands are impossibly high, literally change daily, and you're expected to know what's going on with little to no communication from your superior.

The communication you DO receive is critical of you and not being able to have a 100% success rate in a 24 hr. period.

Not to mention that other people in other departments also make marketing decisions you're completely unaware of!

There is NO organization even at the corporate level. Trust me - You could make more money with less health ruining stress at McDonalds!!

Don't walk - RUN AWAY!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible work place and very unprofessional!
Dental assistant (Former Employee), Fort Wayne, INJuly 31, 2013
Pros: there are none!
Cons: no anything! false promises to get you to work there!
DO NOT WORK FOR THIS COMPANY! They are the worst! First off Training was ridiculous! Everyone in the office were completely rude all the time. I did not even get proper training until a few of us addressed it with hiring management. Corporate is constantly down your throat about things that are out of your control. I.e.when a patient has been in the – more... lobby 15 minutes or more they are calling. You get written up for things not even a private dental office cares about. The hiring manager tells you one thing one minute, then tells you something else the next making you look dumb and confused. As soon as they hired people, they laid them off saying there wasn't enough hours for them. The manager doesn't even seem like she knows what she is doing. They treat you like you don't know anything even though most of the employees went to an accredited school. They made us all full time then as soon as we started dropped us to part time. I wasted my time here! Don't waste yours! – less

1 2 3