Find companies:
Family Business
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
152 reviews

Family Business Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast past
cashier (Former Employee), Boston, MAMarch 29, 2014
Pros: family
it was fun working at a family business because i was comfortable with all my coworkers because they were all my familt
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with family as a fun eperience
Assistant (Former Employee), Chandler, AZMarch 18, 2014
Pros: learning alot
Mostly working with my father learning the ways of finding and buying homes, fixing and upgrading them for a profit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family owned restaurant
Restaurant Owner (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYMarch 6, 2014
Enjoyed dealing with the help, and the customers.Was responsible for all day to day activities, from cleaning to cooking,greeting customers. Did not deal with bookeeping,other members of family took care of that side of business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bookkeeper
"Book Keeper" (Current Employee), Kennett SquareFebruary 11, 2014
Excellent environment to Learn and excel. The company is very helpful with reaching an employees goals. Very satisfied working here
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good customers and nice place to learn how to work with people.
Cashier/Manager (Current Employee), Anaheim, CAJanuary 22, 2014
This job didn't pay it was only for gaining more experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taking care of my nephew and nieces, feeding them, clothing them, spending time with them, schooling (navajo)
Babysitting (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 10, 2014
Overall I have been doing this babysitting for years since I was fourteen. I babysitted three kids, two boys and one girl. Enjoying time with them while the parents are away at work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heritage family property managed since 2002
Landman (Current Employee), Albion, MEJanuary 5, 2014
Irregular but rewarding work in nature with no co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Clerk (Former Employee), Prattville, ALDecember 5, 2013
Pros: working around friends.
Cons: not enough hours.
I get work around family and friends every week. My family has owned and operated Posey Crossroad for over 30 years. It's a store with a lot of history.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
want to go back to airport job if possible
Manager on Diamond Market (Current Employee), victoria, texasNovember 27, 2013
Pros: good people
Cons: hmmm
I am tired with family business.....my current job is not challenging...its boring..no growth...used to work for airport for 6 years...feels like going back to some airport and work...If not get any different job in any companies where I can see growth on myself..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great with new people
Caregiver (Current Employee), rialto caSeptember 14, 2013
volunteer working with kids 9-12 months cleaning , playing, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Business
Owner/Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 1, 2013
Excellent environment to work in my family business. I am looking for a new job opportunity in the area of my expertise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family business
Business development consultant (Current Employee), Home base officeAugust 28, 2013
Pros: i operate on my own schedule
Cons: family business
On a weekly basis, I would review all sales, customers' profiles, study market activities through influx businesses, predict future business, look for new ways of doing business and improve overall business.

Basic accounting and bookkeeping are done weekly.

As part of business development for hospital dentist: I just started to work with California – more... Hospital Dentist Group. My main responsibility is to do anything and everything to launch this group by beginning of 2014. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at my own pace
Mower (Former Employee), Coffeyville, KSAugust 27, 2013
Pros: worked at own pace
Cons: very hot
Enjoyed this job the most although it was not a government job it still taught me about earning money and working for things my self.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Machine opeRATOR
Machine operator (Former Employee), Roseville, MIAugust 26, 2013
Family machine shop type buisness. Jobs got set up on whatever machine nesecary for the job, ie. Drill press, mills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Any business is hard work, but a Restaurant is extreme.
Restaurant Partner (Former Employee), New Boston, NHAugust 23, 2013
Pros: not sure there are any
Cons: its the hardest work you will ever do.
The family had the opportunity to purchase a beautiful 7 acre property on a river with a restaurant and rental property. For 5 years the property prospered until the winter of 2009 when we were closed due to the economic downturn and a series of winter storms closed all accesses to the town and the restaurant for 45 days. After which the business of – more... unrecoverable and the restaurant was closed and sold. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family own business: Productive, busy, friendly.
Personal Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Chestnut Hill, PAAugust 20, 2013
Pros: i could come and go as i please.
Cons: no benefits.
My hours are from 12-7. I would help organzie paper work, run errands, make travel arragments and anything else that my employer needed or his clients. I was very professional and so was my employer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving all day
Helper/Laborer (Former Employee), Sigourney, IAJuly 15, 2013
Pros: free lunches, step dad was boss.
Cons: no cons, it was a fun job.
Driving a tractor mowing feilds. I learned how to operate a tractor. The most enjoyable part was listening to music all day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great meeting new people
cutting grass (Former Employee), Elizabeth City, NCJuly 12, 2013
loved cutting my neighbors grass. it was always great seeing them happy of my work. the hardest part of the job was the weather being too hot. I learned how to cut down bushes and branches.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Citrix Online
Project Manager, Accountant (Former Employee), Peebles, OHJuly 10, 2013
• APAC Market Research Project Manager (China market localization)
• Identified key business drivers and used advanced financial modeling methods to forecast market entry cost/benefit and risk analysis
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My uncle Dennis's Business
Lawnmower/Limb Cutter (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSJuly 4, 2013
Pros: he would sometimes buy us lunch, but not every day
Cons: i can't really think of any.
It's always a joy to work for him, Even if it is hard work. Sometimes he could be a bit of pain in the butt, but it was all in good respects, He was just trying to teach many of us how to work hard and diligently and how to get a job done.