Find companies:
Family Business
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
121 reviews

Family Business Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
manuel labor and hard hours
Farm Hand (Former Employee), altus GAMarch 28, 2013
Pros: hour long lunch break
Cons: get covered in animal dung
typical day required me to herd cattle, collect eggs, and take care of deceased chickens. the most enjoyable part of the job was herding the cattle becuase it wasn't me on a horse making them walk into a cage, it was me standing in specific places and have them charge towards me aso i can flail my arms to scare the living heck out of them and they turn – more... into the holding areas. every part of the job was the hardest part of the job thats what made it great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For it was a family business I was managing it.
Manager (Former Employee), Debre Berhan, Ethiopia.March 22, 2013
Pros: time freedom
After the death of my dad I took over the responsibility of running the business and really was great.
We were providing installment credits for the government office staffs in a three mont and six month basis and was enjoyable too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast paced environment, all hands on work, and physical.
General Laborer (Former Employee), Sacramento CAMarch 18, 2013
I worked Monday through Friday and about 30 hours a week. My job was to do Property renovation/rehabilitation/remodeling which includes the following: Flooring, Roofing, , landscaping, Installation (doors, windows, kitchen cabinets, etc), painting, siding, finish work, and cleaning of the property. There was a crew of 5 individuals and we worked all – more... together. The job was always hard work and tiring but that is what i enjoy doing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked from home
Secretary (Former Employee), Rochester HillsMarch 12, 2013
Pros: worked from home
Cons: no pay, no referances
I was a stay at home mom for 18 years. My husband became part owner in a welding company the same year that we wer married and had our first child. I did not get paid for this job, but I could work from home. I typed invoices and billed costomers for him twice a month for 17 years. It was great being able to stay at home and develop my computer skills – more... while working from home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family
Management and events Coordinator (Former Employee), DallasFebruary 15, 2013
Working for Family is hard but learning from each other and pushing each other for the best is always fun. It can cause problems from time to time but in the end its family
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Car Detailer/Car Detailing (Former Employee), Freeport, FLFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: great all around
was awesome to have a family business to run to make people happy and do things at a rate that was easier for me to do instea doing something the same everyday of the week all and all the job was a blasted
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good expirence, learned alot
Maintenance (Former Employee), Auburn, INJanuary 21, 2013
Pros: made my own hours
Cons: living an hour away from the propertys
My grandfather owns many property's both commercial and residential. The residential property's were apartments he rented out. I would basically come in after a renter would move out and clean, paint, shampoo carpets, really anything that needed to be done. At the commercial property's i would do lawn care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Renovation and Property Management
Property Manager / Handyman (Former Employee), Fremont, CAJanuary 19, 2013
Renovating property such as replacing plumbing/installing tiles
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Barista (Former Employee), MissouriJanuary 17, 2013
great pay, great management, great co-workers, great environment no difficulties to the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
tremillo remodeling (Former Employee), San Antonio txJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: no benefits
i learned alot of things about cleaning and loading ,a little carpenter experience.but mainly just helper status
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Business
seasonal worker (Current Employee), Westminster SCJanuary 15, 2013
Sell produce grown on a family farm. Seasonal produce, cornmeal and honey.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Owner (Former Employee), İstanbul, T34January 12, 2013
i worked with my family members and relatives i showed me alot at work how to work how to make money how to spend and where to spend....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trustworthy group and enjoyable to be around
Repairman Home Repair (Former Employee), Gresham, ORJanuary 7, 2013
Hardest part was giving care to two of my family members in times of bad health.

The most enjoyable things about the job were getting to see family often and being able to help family.

Work was variable during this time but may include a day of painting and minor repairs to fixing meals and being a taxi service for someone.

Learning patience and – more... to be responsible was something that I achieved during this time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding
Driver (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 11, 2012
Pros: receiving tips and free meal
Cons: no exact hours of schedule
Meet different kind of people (different nationality)
learned how to deal with different characters
The most enjoyable part of the job is when the clients appreciated my performance in driving
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a great job but need more and differnt experince
Receptionist (Current Employee), Sparks, NVOctober 26, 2012
Pros: good service. unch breaks
recieve phone calls, making appointments. explaing and helping clients out. manager and co worker are great friendly and understandable. hardest thing on this job was making appoint ments and dealing with complans but got through it and mange to handle it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed Working life
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Surat, GJOctober 17, 2012
Pros: to gather lunch, cook food at the work place, little party in the evening.
Cons: i have not face any serious cons in my work experience.
I have worked under my father in this company as a assistance manager and I have learned very good management skills such as how to maintain everyday work and how to setup link between different work so that every work can be done in the time without wasting time and achieving time limit.

Most important day for this work is sunday because on this day – more... most of the client come at the work site to watch the home and apartment and inquire things related services provided by us in the house and apartment after selling and financing for the purchasing.

The most important thing i have learned through this work is to maintain team work and time management. As time is the most important thing to take care in this business for completing many work at the same time and sometimes one immediate work after other work.

The hardest part in this work i have face is that some times opinion does not match with the other person means someone wants to do or complete one work but at that time other person want to complete other work which create conflict between them and make delay in both work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
get the job done
Home care (Current Employee), Henderson, NCOctober 12, 2012
I love the home care business I love to help people that can't help themselves. Just something I love to do
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This position allowed me to create educational and networking programs, evaluate results and adapt or adjust as necessary to be valuable to members.
Associate Director (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNAugust 6, 2012
Pros: great benefits, good commute
Cons: lack of good leadership, support and team effort
Many hours were needed to accomplish my work in a productive way, but my time was flexible and self-managed. I learned it is very difficult to get things done when your support system is frequently absent or unable to produce work on schedule. Management was a bit challenging, in that the supervisory role in the department was in flux. I had a great – more... co-worker that provided a mutual support system to brainstorm and accomplish our work successfully. The hardest part of the job was not having infrastructure available to deliver our services, and the need for me to create or find everything I needed on my own - it took time from the main focus of my job. The commute to work was easy and there were many people on campus that I enjoyed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family owned business.
General Manager (Current Employee), Katy, TXAugust 2, 2012
Pros: lots of freedom.
Cons: handling 18 employees.
• Direct and coordinate activities of businesses or departments concerned with the production, pricing, sales, or distribution of products. Establish and implement departmental policies, goals, objectives, and procedures, conferring with board members, organization officials, and staff members as necessary.
• Determine goods and services to be sold, – more... and set prices and credit terms, based on forecasts of customer demand. Oversee activities directly related to making products or providing services. Review financial statements, sales and activity reports, and other performance data to measure productivity and goal achievement and to determine areas needing cost reduction and program improvement. Determine staffing requirements, and interview, hire and train new employees, or oversee those personnel processes. Manage staff, preparing work schedules and assigning specific duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Miami, FLJuly 23, 2012
Loved working here it was an excellent location with great cohesiveness and work ethics.

Family Business Photos