Find companies:
Family Business
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
155 reviews

Family Business Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This position allowed me to create educational and networking programs, evaluate results and adapt or adjust as necessary to be valuable to members.
Associate Director (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNAugust 6, 2012
Pros: great benefits, good commute
Cons: lack of good leadership, support and team effort
Many hours were needed to accomplish my work in a productive way, but my time was flexible and self-managed. I learned it is very difficult to get things done when your support system is frequently absent or unable to produce work on schedule. Management was a bit challenging, in that the supervisory role in the department was in flux. I had a great – more... co-worker that provided a mutual support system to brainstorm and accomplish our work successfully. The hardest part of the job was not having infrastructure available to deliver our services, and the need for me to create or find everything I needed on my own - it took time from the main focus of my job. The commute to work was easy and there were many people on campus that I enjoyed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family owned business.
General Manager (Current Employee), Katy, TXAugust 2, 2012
Pros: lots of freedom.
Cons: handling 18 employees.
• Direct and coordinate activities of businesses or departments concerned with the production, pricing, sales, or distribution of products. Establish and implement departmental policies, goals, objectives, and procedures, conferring with board members, organization officials, and staff members as necessary.
• Determine goods and services to be sold, – more... and set prices and credit terms, based on forecasts of customer demand. Oversee activities directly related to making products or providing services. Review financial statements, sales and activity reports, and other performance data to measure productivity and goal achievement and to determine areas needing cost reduction and program improvement. Determine staffing requirements, and interview, hire and train new employees, or oversee those personnel processes. Manage staff, preparing work schedules and assigning specific duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Miami, FLJuly 23, 2012
Loved working here it was an excellent location with great cohesiveness and work ethics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Wood Worker/Rustic Cedar (Former Employee), Appling GAJuly 22, 2012
Pros: traveling
Cons: homeschooled
The hardest part of the job was that my father owned it and he could tell me when to work and how long. But overall i loved the experience to be able to travel around the united states delivering homemade furniture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with family
Construction (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 22, 2012
Worked with family members over a couple years. I've been working on a family project and other minor activities that needed to be done
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
maintenance (Former Employee), Pecos, NMMay 31, 2012
a lot of work but i was still a kind of job where i was never bored.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working with my dad
Construction (Former Employee), Binghamton, NYMay 17, 2012
I have learned that working with family is a nice way to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job especially since i was working for family
Assistant manager (Former Employee), Radcliff, KYApril 19, 2012
Pros: good pay
Cons: no benefits
Assistant manager and maintenance of townhouses and apartments Rent Collection and advertising, Maintained lawn care and repair services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace, always meet someone new
customer service (Former Employee), robinvale and curlwaaMarch 7, 2012
Pros: cash work
Cons: no benefits/sick days
good businesses to work for, serving and interacting with new people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy High Trafic
Assitant Cosmotlgist (Former Employee), Gaffney,SCJuly 20, 2011
Pros: hour somewhat flexable
Cons: l was sometimes intemimadated
I enjoy this career for many years. It did help the development, of what I wanted in my life;by whatching and lisnening to elders that a we served, on a daily basis. It was a creative out let for me so I
take a second look at the community. I decied to stay in this area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Village wines Eton Windsor Counter Cashier (Former Employee), windsorDecember 6, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: longer hours
loved this line of work enjoyed
would recommend anybody to work there
no hard parts no challenges
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable work place
market trader (Current Employee), South Shields, ENGNovember 26, 2014
Pros: free breakfast and luch
Cons: cold weather
hardest part of the job was waking up at 4am however when we got ot south shields it was where the enjoyment of the job kicked in.I learnt alot of skills such as communication, custormer sevice and all round work experience knowing what to except at other jobs. My core-workers were my farther, my brother and my grandad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but great satisfaction
Administrations (Current Employee), CorkNovember 21, 2014
Pros: good hours, made a difference
Cons: not too challenging mentally
Early morning starts but good overall

Dealing with people on phones, via email, texts

Had to organise lessons, tests, courses.

Dealing with the public

Dealing with agencies also (Government and non Governmental)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Encoder (Current Employee), San Pablo City, 04ANovember 6, 2014
You just put the information in the app. then youll print it.
I learn how to register, if you are going to open a busniness.
I worked with my husband
I enjoy it because I do love to type.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Director (Current Employee), ENGNovember 4, 2014
It is sometimes hard to work with family as they don't always follow what you say.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and learning with my job
R&R Tailoring Shop (Current Employee), Quezon City, P00October 25, 2014
i enjoyed sewing because i can do my own fashion, i learned more about repairs at pants,blouse, dress.. i work every day with my inlaws. The hardest part with my work is you need to be done at time with your clients.. I need to be humble and patient with my clients..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Merchandise Manager (Former Employee), pbOctober 18, 2014
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, tiring, yet fun and productive.
book keeping (Current Employee), Port Elizabeth, ECOctober 16, 2014
Pros: it keeps me busy.
Cons: my school work may suffer at times.
Im a full-time student, so when i get to work im already tired and strained.

Although its a family business, i dont get any special treatment and my co-workers expect respect( wich i give them) since im younger than them. A typical day at work is busy and tiring but amoung us workers, we make it fun too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace.
Assistant (Former Employee), Blackburn, ENGOctober 13, 2014
Work consisted of stock checking, and dispatching items to customers and inventory, the days were productive and often fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cooks
Cook (Former Employee), Bukit TimahOctober 1, 2014
love to cook
learn alot bout
Indonesian,Malaysian Cuisine