Family Christian Employee Reviews

Found 285 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Team Member/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIAugust 16, 2017
Awesome staff that truly encourages and perpetuates a culture of self amelioration, coupled with a sublime work ethic. I learned that lucid
communication is a catalyst for tangible team chemistry and success.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned-Excellent Customer Service skills
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAAugust 15, 2017
Family Christian Closed all stores in 2017 due to liquidation that occurred after not being able to recover from 2015 bankruptcy.
I really liked working for the Company and was sad to see them close permanently. Due to the bankruptcy they were not able to give adequate raises or benefits to employees.
The vision they had for serving the community was excellent, and they had been in business for 85 years.
I was happy to be an excellent customer service sales floor leader at Family Christian.
Pros
Employee discounts and satisfaction of helping customers.
Cons
Holiday and Sunday hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company closed
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Augusta, GAAugust 15, 2017
Family Christian was a great place to work. I never dreaded going to work. I worked with great people who loved each other and never purposed to harm each other. The store closed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Hickory, NCAugust 13, 2017
When walking into family christian you were always greeted with warm welcomes and how may i help you. The customers were very Godly and appreciative for us helping
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice workout area
Customer Service Agent / Call Center Department (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIAugust 11, 2017
My be ok for some people which i believe could possibly be related to type of job and immediate supervisor. I am not very sure of what else to say. I did enjoy visiting store across the US.
Pros
Nice gym
Cons
Commuication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but great work environment. Awesome management!
Sales Associate - Retail (Former Employee) –  Novi, MIAugust 8, 2017
Manager was awesome! Customers were mostly a great demographic. Pay not the best but for the hours and work it was good. Only stressful time was major Christian holidays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding company to be associated with.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Monroeville, PAAugust 4, 2017
Outstanding company to work for.
I learned much about being a servant-leader
Management was honest in dealing with the stores
I enjoyed helping guests and dealing with my staff.
Pros
Doing something each day to better the lives of others
Cons
We ended up liquidating
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice cliental
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  West Des Moines IAAugust 2, 2017
Was a fun job to have too bad they went bankrupt. They sold great merchandise and would love to see some appear in other stores, the customers were fun to chat with and hear their stories.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful family friendly products available at this location.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Boynton Beach, FLAugust 1, 2017
working for Family Christian Stores was a great experience. Made friends for life. Manager was understanding as was all staff members. Products offered were fun for everyone. Great benefits and paid time off.
Pros
Benefits, Pto, and hours.
Cons
Non secular items.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work with an Engraving Station
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Federal Way, WAJuly 24, 2017
I had a wonderful time working at Family Christian Store, however the way I was treated in the end by our new manager was dissatisfying and unnecessary.
Pros
Discounts on seasonal products on sale.
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Team Lead of Network Operations (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJuly 21, 2017
I was responsible for day to day operation for all equipment from the network connections from corp office to remote stores and all servers in house with different OS to Physical to VM.
helping out with help-desk questions on when they cannot get the issue fixed.
also, all updates from servers maintenance on weekends to creation for all docs from Visios to Excel labeling for network operations.
Then when we were without a IT Manager I stepped up to help out with those responsibilities.
Pros
Almost Everything.. Great Company.. was looking forward to retiring from there.
Cons
No pay increases.. for the entire time I was there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company went out of buisness
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  MichiganJuly 21, 2017
Loved working here! My team truly felt like a second family to me. We were able to build a relationship with the community we were in and make a difference. Unfortunately, they no longer exist.
Pros
Loved my co-workers and management team. A great environment to work and learn in.
Cons
They no longer exist.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A new experience
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCJuly 20, 2017
I had never been in a retail setting before. One lady showed up how it was done and everything I needed to know. The manager at the time did not show me anything and was not helpful.
Pros
different setting
Cons
manager, hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer open
Retail Sales/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Palmdale, CAJuly 12, 2017
A review would be irrelavent because Family Christian is no longer open. If it where open I would say it is a decent place to work. I liked the manageer but I was hired to help out while the store closed.
Pros
discount
Cons
gone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Christians helping others to be closer to God.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Southaven, MSJuly 7, 2017
It was wonderful because daily you would have singers come in to practice. Children enjoying the play area and watching Veggie Tales on our kids television. We also had movies on the other televisions and Christian music playing, Each day there was stocking to do and straightening the store.We always had special orders and imprinting to be done in a timely manner. The hardest part of the job was all the computer and paperwork, The best part was working with great people and wonderful customers and churches helping them with what they needed.
Pros
Helping people with their daily needs.
Cons
Overwhelmed with computer work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just loved the atmosphere and the customers, worked with nice co-workers
Store Floor Leader (Former Employee) –  Thornton, COJune 30, 2017
Fun, loved my co-workers and customers. Learned to process payment and set displays. The Culture was nice, the most enjoyable for me was everything, I loved it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Retail Job
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sioux City, IAJune 27, 2017
As a Christian, the ideals that they uphold are great, however, it is still a retail store. You still work on Sundays. They still worry about silly things like selling everyone membership cards, etc.
Pros
Good values, nice people
Cons
It is a retail job, often little business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very interactive work place and up lifting
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INJune 25, 2017
This job was very rewarding in all aspects. I enjoyed talking to all customers and helping them with all their needs. During the down time I enjoyed straightening and front facing the store. This helped with learning all the products and what areas they belong in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great place
Sales Floor Leader (Former Employee) –  Muskegon, MIJune 22, 2017
Great working environment with wonderful people. If the company were still in operation, I would definitely still be there. Helping people improve their lives was the highlight of my work there.
Pros
Great co workers
Cons
Low compensation and hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive day
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Trussville, ALJune 21, 2017
The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to impact guest lives in a good way. What I learned from working at Family Christian is good customer service set the atmosphere,
Pros
Nice Customers
Cons
low hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Family Christian. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 286 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.4
Culture
3.9

CEO Approval

72%
111 ratings
Add your rating