Find companies:
Family Dollar
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,965 reviews

Family Dollar Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Aurora, ILSeptember 16, 2014
Nice Company to work for. The customers make the difference.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun work place till they changed District Managers
Store Manager (Former Employee), Chandler, TXSeptember 16, 2014
The most enjoyable part was the customers. Their smiling faces keep me going.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No structure
Sales Associate (Former Employee), new britain ctSeptember 15, 2014
i disliked this job the manager was very rude and treated his coworkers poorly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My review
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Pensacola, FLSeptember 15, 2014
My everyday includes opening and closing of stores. Manage 3 associate on daily tasks. Inventory, data entry and customer service is performed every day all day I've learned a lot of the many years that I've worked for this company about rules and enforce them help trained other workers on all stores procedures. my job is so natural comes natural customer – more... service is the best part of my job and the most enjoyable apart is the help of me assisting people – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Dollar isn't a safe place to work.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 13, 2014
Working for Family Dollar taught me how to manage payroll, make work schedules and help others to advance. A typical day was fun and busy. The most enjoyable part of the job was the guest, getting to know different people. The hardest part of the job was the fact that the there was not time for your family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 years Growth within the Company
Assistant District Manager (Current Employee), New Jersey, NJSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: free lunches, getaways, company car etc
Cons: stressful long hours at times
A fast paced urban market retail envirnoment that contains 8,100 discount stores. I started as a cashier and now typically the DM, I have turned stores around that were in the worst condition possible. I have also turned the shrink numbers and sales massively compared to prior years. Details and proof provided upon request. I have a strong passion and – more... ability to motivate and inspire employees to be the best in their work ethics and rise to the next level not just in work but in life generally. Overall I have learned to be a sucessful leader and not just a manager. My success, simply respecting people making them feel recongized and bringing the best out of them in turn I get the best results from them. Their success leads to my overall success and thats the most enjoyable part of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, a learning experience
Store Manager (Current Employee), Louisville, KYSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: nice pay
Cons: barely any free time outside of work
This job isn't for everybody the hours are long but the people you work with are amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fine
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 12, 2014
Cons: long days
nice people but also to many management problems. the company itself wasn't stable. ok hours and ok co wokers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place.
Associate, later promoted to Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Harrisburg, ILSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: wonderful people, flexible hours
Cons: low pay
Very much enjoyed my time with Family Dollar. I met a lot of great people and worked with some very loving and caring ladies and gentleman. Love the fast paced environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ill commutative and hazardous environment,
Cashier, Customer Service, and Stock (Former Employee), Astoria, NYSeptember 12, 2014
Clock in and begin to count the register your going too be on for the day. Your on register until told to either pack out merchandise or recover an area, Any task that has been given to you. I learned about keeping tabs on money when cashed out and the importance of having a clean and friendly store. My co workers had character in their own. The hardest – more... part of the job was not having a break and wanting to finish a task but not being able to because your the only person on the register. The most enjoyable part of the job was clocking out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
there are no pros or benefits to working for this company
store manager (Former Employee), Conway, ARSeptember 12, 2014
Cons: work 60-80 hrs a week on salary and have no family life earn vacation but never get to take it
This company makes money off their employees backs with no respect for the employees when you need time off you can forget it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DONT DO IT
Customer Sales Representative (Former Employee), Dallas, GASeptember 12, 2014
Pros: literally nothing
Cons: you will be miserable
Honestly, the WORST year of my life, living under a bridge would make you a happier person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a great work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Menominee, MISeptember 11, 2014
Pros: great work environment, nice co-workers, and very productive
Cons: short breaks, and few hours
my first day on the job i loaded and unloaded trucks from the old store to the new store, built and placed metal shelving units for stocking, than stocked the shelves and cleaned up the work place.
i learned how to cooperate with others, stocking, and loading and unloading, i also learned on communication with others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quick pace
Cashier (Former Employee), Eagle Pass, TXSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: decent hours
Cons: always on call
I enjoyed working with customers on a daily basis. It was always one manager and one cashier to keep a good work flow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FAMILY DOLLAR
assistant Manager (Current Employee), CASTOR AVESeptember 11, 2014
LOOKING FOR A BETTER CAREER , FAMILY DOLLAR IS A GOOD COMPANY BUT ITS NOT A LONG TERM CAREER FOR ME WORK IS GREAT I ENJOY THE HANDS - ON WORK COMPLETING TASK AND PROVIDING LEADERSHIP AND KNOWLEDGE TO OTHER TEAM MEMBERS ON BOARD .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an okay job
Cashier (Former Employee), 971 nassau rd uniondaleSeptember 10, 2014
The day would start by opening up the registers. follow by cleaning around the front of the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It would be an okay place to work if they paid more attention to the little people
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: decent pay for the work, good repetitive customers which create a family environment, great incentives
Cons: poor management, bad customers, thieves. overstocked stores
At first glance its an exciting place to work. Then comes Thursday after Thursday of the company sending hundreds of things we have no use for nor any place to put them. The management would always find an excuse to "have to leave the store" anytime anyone from corporate or another store was coming by. Security is almost non existent but things seem – more... to walk out a lot more than we'd like. The employees were fine. Most times the manager was too until it was time to hear or dish the latest gossip and if she ever got into it for something she "should of been doing", the finger is always pointed towards the employees, whether rightfully or not. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like working with the public
Lead Cashier (Former Employee), Craigsville, WVSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: awesom co workers
Cons: cant think of a con: pay wasnt great
Im a people person, like working with the public never dual day.
Loved my co workers and even my boss they were all great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment great experience with customers
sales associate (Former Employee), gaSeptember 9, 2014
manage well with coworkers and do your job
no hard part for me
i already knew how to do my job
an enjoyed working with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Norwegian Cruise Line
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Tampa, FLSeptember 9, 2014
Working in Hawaii was great.
A lot of hard work, but I enjoyed it very much.

1 2 3 4 5

About Family Dollar

Penny-pinching single moms are drawn to Family Dollar. The nation's #2 dollar store (behind Dollar General) targets forty-something – Read more