Find companies:
Family Dollar
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,694 reviews

Family Dollar Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
store Manager
General Manager (Former Employee), Monroe, MIJune 24, 2014
open a brand new store started with a blank building and built the store from the bottom and after that got rolling i managed two stores at once
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overly worked
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Warsaw, KYJune 24, 2014
Pros: its a job
Cons: awful benefits
Horrible Company to work for. Overly worked staff and awful benefits.
Truck days were awful. They would order so much stuff we didnt need and send it anyway. My co-workers were fun to work with, it was just the district CEO who wanted you to work for free and cut hours.
The hardest part of the job was stocking, and the easiest was cash register.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to work with, enjoyed my job there.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Trenton, TNJune 24, 2014
Pros: hours
Cons: nights and weekends
I ran the cash register, put up stock from the company truck. Opened and closed the store. Always plenty of work to keep me busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Sales & Stock Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Riverdale, ILJune 24, 2014
 Processed sales transactions and balanced cash registers on a daily basis
 Implemented new marketing strategies to encourage customers to increase customer sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
store manager
Store Manager (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYJune 23, 2014
• Managed a staff of six including assistant managers and cashiers
• Responsible for hiring, payroll, ordering merchandise, scheduling, sales inventory and customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and comfortable working environment
Cashier (Former Employee), 12950 New Halls Ferry Rd. Florissant MO, 63033June 21, 2014
Pros: my co workers
Cons: the pay
A typical day at work involves working the cash register, stocking shelves, and helping customers find what they are looking for. I learned how to multitask while working at a fast but productive pace. My co-workers were hard working and easy to get along with. The hardest part of the job was being there by myself while we were extremely busy. The most – more... enjoyable part was interacting with the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager - Retail Store
Manager (Former Employee), Valparaiso, INJune 20, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: long hours within a work week
Opening the store I would get ready for customers.

Scheduling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
little time with family
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Princeton, WVJune 20, 2014
Pros: continuously changing
Cons: little time with family
I learned a lot while working at Family Dollar. I enjoyed working with co-workers, and customers. It is a great for a single person but not someone with a family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work enviornment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Tyler, TXJune 20, 2014
Cons: no, breaks, no vacation, no healthcare
Fun workplace and a great environment. The hardest part of the job is sometimes you will have to do other peoples jobs as well. the most enjoyable part is that I get to be off in time to pick up my children from school daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Marion, INJune 20, 2014
Pros: no pros
Cons: everything
Upper management does not care about their employee's. They work you like a dog!!!! Store level management is fine because they are in the same boat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager
Store Manager (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJune 20, 2014
Running day to day operations of the store. Customer service, ordering, stocking, banking, opening and closing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over all a good workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 19, 2014
i enjoyed working there and would go back very professional
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family dollar is a fast pased physical labor job.
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Kenosha, WIJune 19, 2014
A typical day includes stocking shelves, fronting and facing the store and ringing up customers. I've learned useful time management skills and also how to calm down angry customers. I've also learned that I work well when all of the upper management works together and are in a good mood. The hardest part of the job is when a cashier calls off or a – more... truck shows up early or three days late. For me the most enjoyable part of the job is the customer service, I love meeting new people and helping them with things, it warms my heart to help others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly enviorment
Assistant store manager (Former Employee), pittsburgh paJune 19, 2014
-Days are pretty long filled with wonderful customers who come in all sorts of good and active moods.
- i learned to stay patient with them and they will stay the same with you if they have a complaint dont take it personal.
-the management was ok only because at the store i worked in we rarely had a manager they didn't really last long in our store.
- – more... i love my co-workers we made sure the store stayed up to company standards we worked hard not just for the store but for each other.
-the hardest part was not having a manager at times and carrying they weight of the store without proper training.
-the most enjoyable part was my employees and customers no matter what mood i was in someone did or said something to make me smile there is nothing like positive people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible payroll
Store Manager (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJune 19, 2014
Cons: 6 days a week/expensive insurance/micro-managing
Zero payroll, working 6 days a week 60+ hours, and being micromanaged.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Greenville, NCJune 19, 2014
Everyday at this company was like an adventure never knew what the day would consist of. Some days there was good customers and some days there was not but it was all fun seeing the customers come in upset and see them walk out with a smile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with outstanding employees
Cashier (Former Employee), Georgetown, KYJune 19, 2014
Pros: very flexable with work schedule
Cons: i didn't have any issues but some would say they didn't enjoy working weekends
I enjoyed working at Family Dollar. The staff was very pleasant to work with. I always had something to do and never got bored of my job. I enjoyed seeing the smiling faces of my customers as they left re-assuring me that I was doing my job as what was expected of me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Dollar
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Uvalde TxJune 19, 2014
IT was an okay work environment. I learned how to be patient with others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Cashier (Former Employee), Wichita, KSJune 19, 2014
I enjoyed working at Arby's the crew i worked with was great and so was the regular customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FAMILY DOLLAR
Cashier (Current Employee), Bradenton, FLJune 19, 2014
Pros: part time
Cons: not enough people working at once
LIKE BEING A CASHIER HOWEVER NOT ENOUGH HELP TO CONTROL THE STORE AT TIMES

About Family Dollar

Penny-pinching single moms are drawn to Family Dollar. The nation's #2 dollar store (behind Dollar General) targets forty-something – Read more