Family Dollar Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Novellas
Customer Representative (Current Employee) –  Pontiac, MIJanuary 12, 2018
This job is dramatic. ALL the girls that work there flirt with every Latin or black guy that comes in. Latin Asian girl has 3 guys coming to see her and a white girl has intercourse in the parking lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but could be dangerous
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 12, 2018
I loved working for family dollar. customers made the day go by so fast but depending on your location, unlike me i was working in a terrible community where they steal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Dollar
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLJanuary 12, 2018
It was my second job and not where I wanted to be at for my career. It was a great place to start learning the job force but not where I would stay and start a career.
Pros
Learning experience
Cons
Not a place for careers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expectation do not meet compensation or allow for work/life balance
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJanuary 12, 2018
Expectation do not meet compensation or allow for work/life balance.
Working for family dollar is enjoyable but it was very difficult finding reliable employees for the pay rate that was given.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Tidioute, PAJanuary 12, 2018
I actually enjoy it, mainly because of the people I work with and the town locals. My biggest issue is we're not given enough hours for the store to function properly. And if you're part- time like myself you don't get anything.
Currently trying to get assistant manager just to make more to live.

Living in a rural area jobs are scarce, so I take what I can get.
Pros
Easy, usually good people
Cons
Often do managers jobs, nothing for part timers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of work for little pay
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Littleton, NHJanuary 11, 2018
worked in two stores, the store manager can make or break weather it a good place to work or not. The company considers 32 hours a week a full time job. I would say it can be a fairly good place to work if your manager is well trained and hard working but if not, it can be a horrible place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned alot
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Nassau, BSJanuary 11, 2018
Great opportunity to learn and grow.Fun and professional work environment caring and logical thinking management.Customers make your day. Loved ins and outs o f running my location.
Pros
Decent compensation....paid weekly decent benefits...growing company
Cons
Can be underwhelming in it's slower hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Green Forest, ARJanuary 11, 2018
The work is not very hard, but the management of the company as a whole needs to be improved upon. Store managers and higher are not held as responsible for certain issues as they should be, leaving everyone under them at risk of blame.
Pros
Easy work
Cons
No breaks, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On an average work day its fastpaced and busy
Cashier / Stocker (Retail) (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJanuary 11, 2018
I would come count my register, greet customers, unload boxes and crates and stock merchandise on the shelves. Interact with customers and make transcactions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Oriented
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAJanuary 10, 2018
This was a very fun and eye opening job that I truly enjoyed working at. The company gave great direction and were very detailed in the expectations overall.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good managers, not a bad place to work
Sales Associate, Salesperson, Sales Worker (Former Employee) –  Cumberland, KYJanuary 10, 2018
Pretty good job, managers were nice. Be warned, if you do not give a full two weeks notice this company will put in against you with future jobs. I was not hired at another retail job due to this, after five years they still put in against me. I desperately needed that job so I contacted my former manager and she tried to help, giving me Human Resources phone number. I never could reach them and they would not return my call.
Pros
not a bad job, good store managers
Cons
company isn't so nice
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
annoyed an not worth it
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Asbury Park, NJJanuary 10, 2018
short schedules no breaks over worked
mangers are greedy an selfish they don't wanna work with you
customers are sweet
the job was stressful with employees quitting or getting fired
Cons
no breaks, shortage on employee's
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 10, 2018
A typical day for was always busy open from 8am-10pm ,unloading trucks stocking make sure Employee are safe and ready to work creating friendly enviroment,At work i learn only your best alone is good enough.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 10, 2018
I wish we had more security and hours we're more steady other than that the job is good.

My manager is sweet and works with us as far as the schedule.
Pros
Its like a big family at work
Cons
No security
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LA 70805January 10, 2018
Family Dollar is not a place that will work with you. It is a hard job that is very fast pace. They make sure that you know you may not have your job tomorrow if you don't get things done in a timely manner as well as making sure your customers are taken care of and that you stop all the shoplifters that may come in. You are the manger, cashier, security guard, bookkeeper, and the janitor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced
Cashire (Former Employee) –  Waukegan, ILJanuary 10, 2018
Family dollar can be a lucrative employer. The location I worked for was in a transitioning stage so when it got busy time could get stressful due to lack of management in the stocking department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a job for someone who has many small children
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Madison, GAJanuary 10, 2018
The management at my store was not very appreciative of the all the work and time I put into the store. On all of my off days, I would be called in to help but when I would come in, I'd be the one working alone. You're schedule is all over the place and you aren't guaranteed days off if you are in the ASM position. It may have just been my experience, but this is not a job for people who have very busy schedules dealing with children.
Pros
Good pay for ASM
Cons
Work alone majority of the time, long hours, hard work with no aprreication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back work place, unfair with hours
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Erwinville, LAJanuary 10, 2018
I was the only person working double and working every weekend. I worked hard and did everything I was supposed to, and used for it. Once I asked for a transfer I was lied on so I couldn’t get transferred.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Watertown, NYJanuary 10, 2018
Awesome company awesome job awesome everything really great place to work the work environment is friendly and relaxing very fast paced so you got to move quick
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of hours
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  AlabamaJanuary 9, 2018
The pay not good for the amount of hours put in. Company does not care about it's employees. I would not recommend working for FD.
The one plus of the job were the people I worked with at my store and the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Family Dollar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 9,889 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.1
Culture
3.1