Family Service Association Employee Reviews

Showing all 75 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atmosphere is excellent for repore.
Teacher 1 (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 11, 2017
I have had the pleasure of working with a diverse amount of dedicated people. Everyone was very eager to assist me and I received a warm welcome to their working community.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being A Role-Model
Program Leader (Former Employee) –  Moreno Valley, CAJuly 7, 2017
Get students engaged in academics as well as sports to help them see that school is fun and it can lead to having cool jobs in the future. A a program leader, you become a role-model for the upcoming generations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You would see clients back to back throughout the day
Clinical Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJune 23, 2017
I liked this job at the time, but had a small child at home. It wore me out emotionally, so I needed something that was more 8:30am to 5:00 pm, hours worked better for my child's day care
Pros
it was an independent job
Cons
emoitionally exhausing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Service Association
VOLUNTEER COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 18, 2017
One of the best non-profit organization in the city of San Antonio.
This organization truly cares for the community, my boss at the time was wonderful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing, fun, and caring employees
OPERATIONS MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Moreno Valley, CAJune 15, 2017
Honored to be part of this team. The best part, is that at the end of the day, you go home knowing that you made a difference in the lives of how ever many clients life's you interacted with on that day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  New Bedford, MAJune 12, 2017
Enjoyed working as a receptionist and helping co-workers. Assisted and sought help for people who needed information and direct their call to a nurse or social worker.
Pros
Mangement allowed you flexible hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh it was ok
Child Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Fall River, MAJune 12, 2017
They were ok..pay sucked but you know what your getting yourself into.had one boss who was a jerk.how he wasn't fired is insane good people though so yeah
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an open work place with understanding people and fine hours
Alamo colleges (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 11, 2017
A typical work day consisted of running earns and filing confidential client information. I learned how to use a copier machine. The work place was typical and smooth. The hardest part of the job was getting use to different work assignments. The most enjoyable part of working here was getting the chance to develop skills and meet interesting people.
Pros
enjoyable meetings
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horriable
Early Head Start Teacher (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 1, 2017
Working there they seem good at first. But then they start to push buttons. Making work past hours, no lunch breaks, poor management, and rats in their buildings
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respite care provider
Respite care provider (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 14, 2017
Flexible schedule, excellent for college graduates, meaningful work, caring amazing supervisor. Awesome co-workers, great for someone who has free nights and free weekends.
Pros
All aspects
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
SOCIAL WORKER I / INTERNSHIP (Former Employee) –  Absecon, NJApril 4, 2017
flexible schedule, allowed for the opportunity to develop lesson plan for group as staff seen fitting to each client. A wonderful team that worked well together.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware
Purchasing Specialist (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 24, 2017
There is very little acceptance for learning curves you are expected to know everything and when you make a mistake you are made to feel awful. As you try to improve and get better you are only known for your mistakes and not the accomplishments you have made.
Pros
Friendlyness of Staff
Cons
Very little assistance for learning
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not well managed and unproductive
Teacher (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 5, 2017
A typical day at work includes provided the lesson and curriculum to 20 students. We work with low socioeconomic students and their families. I have learned to focus on the students, and the classroom because that is what's important. I have learned what not to do in my future workplace.
Management is very disorganized. Policies are always changing, and there is no communication.
Workplace culture is very negative, not a positive environment.
The hardest part of the job is non stop paperwork, and the feeling that we are not able to teach.
The most enjoyable part of the job is making a difference in the children's lives.
Pros
Working with children
Cons
Short or no breaks, healthcare, management, communication, pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FSA has a safe and fun workplace culture
Social Work Intern (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 24, 2017
Employees at FSA are encouraged to engage in critical and innovative thinking. My time at FSA was the most enjoyable and challenging time of my internship, because it taught me how to thinking outside of the box and applied myself professionally.
Pros
Relaxed dress code, potlucks, etc
Cons
short breaks and work lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Certain Sites are favored
Preschool Associate Teacher (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAJanuary 18, 2017
I feel as though the site I worked at was overlooked and was not really supported in the way we needed to be. The kids and families were nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
many changes
Parent Advocate (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 4, 2017
lots of paperwork that does not help those who are being served. never a good structure also changing, can be overwhelming when changes happen abruptly
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Early Childhood Clinician I-Part Time (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXDecember 30, 2016
Overall the team I work with is great. Would be nice for part-time employees to get more benefits. The pay is okay, but again, wish there were more benefits for part time people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love my clients and co-workers
20-hour as PCA Nurse (Current Employee) –  Fall River, MADecember 3, 2016
My co-workers are amazing and we work well together. I love my clients. We are a big family.
The hours work well with my responsibilities as a mom.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful experience
Back up Scheduler/Caregiver (Current Employee) –  Fall River, MANovember 17, 2016
caring coworkers a bit unorganized occasional poor communication overall good experience wonderful community agency great resource for the community happy experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad business for the community
S3nit (Former Employee) –  Langhorne, PAAugust 24, 2016
The place is run by the inmates. It's soooo sad
No one in higher management is held to their own standards unlike everyone else
Pros
Lunch breaks
Cons
Low pay for high volume work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Family Service Association. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 75 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.6