Find companies:
Family and Children's Association
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 reviews

Family and Children's Association Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great clients, coworkers but unmanageable work expectations in HCBS Waiver (ICC)
ICC (Former Employee), Garden CityOctober 7, 2014
Pros: wonderful clients/families, some nice coworkers.
Cons: low morale, no encouragement recognition or room for promotion in hcbs due to cliques. negative work environment, nonstop complaining from all the icc's
Good experience to develop positive relationships with clients and their families and assist them in improving their relationships and lives. However there is a clicky culture amongst the supervisors and employees, little to no room for promotion and the workload is absolutely unacceptable, unfair and unbearable to manage as an ICC. Staffs suggestions – more... and concerns go unaknowledged, leading to low morale and no recognition. The workload is very stressful beyond typical social work stressful. HR is a joke as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
basement offices
Family Mediator (Former Employee), Mineola, NYJune 2, 2014
Culture of complaints, limited opportunities if not bilingual
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and sincere company.
Registered Nurse at Lakeview House Program (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 27, 2014
The company is vibrant, productive and sincere to their clients. The RN's position is a very independent supervisory position that entails collaborative work with multi disciplinary staff and medical professionals. On call 24/7.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low morale, no confidentiality with staff, get experience and leave!
Counselor (Former Employee), West Hempsted, WlmpntMarch 17, 2014
Pros: great concept to help people
Cons: low morale, no ethics, no values, no breaks, low pay, management does not care about the staff/clients, its not what you know, its who you know
Beware of management at this agency. The HR department does not handle situations correctly. If you are having issues with management, do not go to HR. The problem will get worse. This agency has a lot of good programs, but lack morality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Social Work Counselor (Current Employee), Long Island, NYMarch 13, 2014
I enjoy working for FCA. I find the environment to be great. Employees and Supervisors are helpful and always willing to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turn over
Case worker (Former Employee), Mineola, NYJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: benefit, pto, families, family ties program
Cons: admin, hr, very low moral, budget
Nice local agency. Good agency to start your social work career but depending on what program you work in beware. Morale is very low and turn over is very high. Previous review stated not to trust HR and that is correct. Confidentiality does not apply to HR. High turn over is partial due to worker burn out as well as not being supported by director – more... and assistant director. Being "thrown under the bus" is a common thing.
The agencies mission is great and the families although difficult at times, are great as well.
Just be prepared for the hypocrisy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Senior Respite Counselor (Former Employee), Hempstead, NYDecember 5, 2013
Good place to work as a student or long term. Management was caring and coworkers were nice. Great for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked hard with little recognition by agency; however, clients liked me. They kept me coming back.
Social Worker (Former Employee), Nassau CountyMarch 22, 2013
Pros: some nice co-workers; good vacation/ benefits package; love the clients
Cons: low salaries, weak managers, lack of communication, no resolution of problems, little supervisory support.
This agency has poor supervision of its workers. You practically have to lead yourself. Management does not respond to your complaints or support your work. They just want it done.

Workers are overwhelmed, angry and frustrated, as their is little leadership and low salaries, compared to other agencies in NY. One of the reviewers stated not to go to – more... HR. They are right. Nothing is resolved.

There is tremendous staff turn-over, and the talented people leave because their ideas are ignored.

Managers stay for 20-30 years and new ideas are not introduced. Old ways of managing are crippling the agency. Modern ways to do things need to be added.

I loved working with the clients, as I felt that i made a difference. iIfelt the most warmth and respect there.

They have a really nice Employee Luncheon every year for everyone. The food is great! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agency itself is good...programs need to be re-evaluated
Social Worker (Former Employee), Mineola, NYFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: location, "trying" to make a change, agency benefits
Cons: upper management has no respect for staff, salary, inconsistency, high employee turn over
The agency has several good programs and great intentions. BUT if you have problems with upper management in a program do not bother going to HR because nothing changes. The problems continue and at times gets worse. Employee handbook is "edited" when needed. If you are called for an interview, ask youself... Is this the person I want to work for? Is – more... this who I want to deal with everyday? Everything changes once you are hired! Although the job market is rough and money might be tight...keep looking.

Hardest Part of the Job: Aside from dealing with program director and assistant director, home visits, high number of cases, unrealistic expectiatoins, and lack of office space.

Most enjoyable part of job: working with the families, seeing changes within the family, and co-workers

Not all program directors are the same. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advantageous
Community and school liaison (Former Employee), Nassau CountyDecember 4, 2012
Pros: different venues in which clients could be reached; staff
Cons: con was when employment ended due to cost.
I have learned a lot in whichever position I have held. Family and Children's assisted my development of myriad skills.
Meeting the clients, letting them know they were not going to be judged, but helped, was the best part of each I had while at Family and Children's Association.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable youth client population
Counselor (Former Employee), Mineola, NYAugust 21, 2012
Pros: kids warmed my heart, i made a difference, very satisfying
Cons: coworkers underqualified, pay horrible
enjoyable youth client population, really felt that I was making an impact
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with many committed employees
Individualized Care Coordinator (Current Employee), Hempstead, New YorkFebruary 20, 2012
Pros: flexible work schedule at times
Cons: expensive health care, and heavy work load, with no overtime benefits
Very pleasant working environment with a committed approach to families from a strength based perspective. I have enjoyed having the ability to truly help my families through empowering versus enabling, allowing a level of self sufficiency, However additional areas of advancement would be greatly advised for dedicated employees.