Find companies:
Fannie Mae
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
138 reviews

Fannie Mae Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Clearance and Settlements Specialist (Current Employee), Washington DCJuly 4, 2014
Productive place to work, salary and benefits are good
Too political
Too heavy on top with upper management and executive leadership
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR makes it almost impossible to become full time
IT Analyst (Former Employee), Northern, VAJune 29, 2014
Pros: ability to work remotely, flexible work hours
Cons: nepotism, very limited advancement opportunities, hiring policies
Good place to work if you are a contractor with flexible work hours and arrangements. Good luck trying to become a full time employee no matter how good your job performance is, unless you know the right people or have family working at the company. After your 2 years of contractor hour limits are up, they do not tell you if they will keep you and keep – more... extending your contract by a month until they either covert you to Term status or let you go. This is very stressful. If you get converted to Term, the same thing happens again when your 2 to 3 years are up. This would be a good company to work for permanently if if wasn't for their ridiculous hiring rules and nepotism. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fannie Mae exists to expand affordable housing and bring global capital to local communities in order to serve the U.S. housing market. In today’s wor
Data Warehouse/Informatica Developer (Former Employee), Mae, WAJune 27, 2014
 Loading new data into the Web-Force system.
 Developed Informatica mappings and also tuned them for better performance.
 Implemented Aggregate, Filter, Join, Expression, Lookup and Update Strategy, Normalizer,Sequence generator transformations
 Used the latest features in Informatica power centre 9.1 like workflow manager, monitor, repository server – more... etc
 Used the Workflow manager to create workflows and tasks, and also created worklets.
 Used the Workflow monitor to monitor the job submission and progress.
 Developed reusable Mapplets and Transformations to use them in different mappings.
 Assign Machine Nodes for all the field users so that they can communicate to the host with their devices and pick up their new databases.
 Develop shell scripts, which include AWK to execute the SQL file to generate various reports based on the client requirements.
 Responsible for querying data from different database tables as per the requirement.
 Used to create folders and giving privileges to the new users.
 Generate complex reports using SQL Reports.
 Involved in extensive data validation using PL/SQL queries and back end testing.
 Load Sales and Ratings related data periodically and send the new data to the field force.
 Track and Fix any kind of errors that occur when the users communicate to the database, and also the various issues that originate on the representatives devises and provide a error free data maintenance to the client both on the backend and front-end.
 Merged Prescribers using Scrub Process.
 Also participated in the Roll Out (visit client site for support when our databases are initially installed on the representatives devises) and received appreciation for successfully completing it.
Environment: Informatica PowerCenter 9.1 (Source Analyzer, Data warehousing designer, Mapping Designer, Mapplet, Transformations, Workflow Manager, Workflow Monitor), Unix Shell Scripting, MS Access 2000, Oracle 11g/12i, PL/SQL, Windows NT , SQL Loader, SQL Reports. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work and learn.
Desktop support. (Former Employee), Reston, VAJune 19, 2014
Pros: subsidized breakfast and lunch.
Cons: the contractors have short time to work, 6 months only.
This is a good place to work and learn a lot of tasks and info. One needs to work with more hours to get the work done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work!
Loan Operations Specialist II - Multifamily (Current Employee), Herndon,VAJune 17, 2014
We are in a busy office but have a lot of fun!
management is always there to help and see you move up
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Government Relations Associate (Current Employee), Washington DCJune 5, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: job uncertainty
The most enjoyable part of the job is working with interesting people on difficult, but interesting projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional Eviroment
MI CLAIMS SPECIALIST II (Current Employee), Dallas TxJune 3, 2014
Pros: my management team;co-workers; being able to multi-task
Cons: need more income and a permanent position
Consist of Reconciling MI CLAIMS; reviewing loan status for presales and option claims. Create billing curtailments.

I enjoy being a team player with my co-workers. I absolutely enjoy coming to work and meeting deadlines and challenges on daily basis.

There's nothing hard about my job, it's just requires you to focus on each MI CLAIM and Fannie Mae – more... guidelines.

I enjoy interacting with my peers, learning new assignments from different team leads and being able to meet deadlines. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
internship
Finance/Sourcing Intern (Contractor) (Former Employee), Herndon, VAJune 1, 2014
great internship, learn alot on the job. Fun place to work and start out in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
With Fannie Mae it was a contract position only
Contractor (Former Employee), Dallas. TexasMay 29, 2014
I love the enviorment of being employed there as a contract worker, was looker for permenant employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very complacent atmosphere filled with nepotism
Sr. Business Data Analyst (Current Employee), Herndon, VAMay 29, 2014
Pros: beats unemployment
Cons: nepotism
The culture in the last four years at Fannie Mae has been changed to that of hiring practices based on nepotism and cultural identity. Mostly, if you're SE Asian; from India or Pakistan, you're almost certainly guaranteed a job there. If you're not and happen to get in on your own merit, look out. Your position is volatile and will be scrutinized that – more... much more because you're not a "member of the club". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start
Analyst (Current Employee), Washington, DCMay 28, 2014
Management is very involved and candidly cares about career development. Always exposing and pushing for new skills to be used and developed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture & diversity
Loan Operation Specialist II (Current Employee), Herndon, VAMay 22, 2014
Pros: work from home options. great pay & diversity
Cons: poor management, unethical management style for certain depts
I would be very meticulous regarding your solicited position management style and competency to lead effectively.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Bankruptcy/Foreclosure Analyst (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 19, 2014
Pros: family friendly
Cons: contractors are not treated with the best of regards.
A very interesting place to work. My overall experience was pretty good. My department was a specialty group, the fit was unique, the work culture was very empowering.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
SQL Server DBA (Current Employee), Reston, VAMay 7, 2014
Learned new things and the co-workers are so cool and helpful. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting new projects and teamwork processes, and performance outcomes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to find growth opportunities.
Vendor Performance Manager (Current Employee), Dallas, TXMay 4, 2014
Managing vendor and their responsibilities.
Multi-tasking and all the issues associated with vendor management.
Management helpful but not clear on the direction as to where are we heading.
Good people around to be working.
Being able to manage all the meetings and daily work expectations.
Working with different teams and learning their role in our – more... world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Project Manager II (Current Employee), Herndon, VAApril 19, 2014
Pros: training
Cons: difficult to get promoted within your organization.
Overall Fannie Mae is a good place to work with. Benefits are good, they're big on training. If you're a full time employee, it will be hard for you get laid off, except in special circumstances where you are a poor performer and don't improve even after training and coaching. I gave management only 3 stars because not all managers are made equal. Some – more... of them are too political and think only of their own advancement. Executive leadership is a different story -- they have a vision and takes the whole company towards it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
scam
system admin (Former Employee), herndonApril 18, 2014
restatement project was a scam, they hire fulltime employees then fires you to make an example out of you to justify they don't need fulltime employees as managers/directors get kickbacks from contracting

'technical' consultants pose as 'technical' by being a master at excel macros? what a joke!

at least managers/directors were very 'crafty' at sending – more... emails, every word is a double-edged sword. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
Contractor (Former Employee), Addison TxApril 7, 2014
Pros: free snacks and food
Cons: long contracts
-I learned a lot about property preservation and working HOA's

-co-workers are very helpful and fun

-Management were fair for the most part

-The food is awesome
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Auditor
Auditor (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 21, 2014
I had to review financial document. I tested risk and controls. I provided a matrix tracking office productivity to management. The work required accuracy which I enjoyed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees
Review Specialist, Junior Housing Counselor (Former Employee), Greenbelt, MDMarch 19, 2014
Pros: growth, helped community
Cons: there was not enough time in the day
The company helped several homeowners.
A typical day included processing applications and providing solutions between homeowners and mortgage companies.
I learned there is more work to do with the foreclosure crisis.
My management was okay and assisted us in growing within the company.
The hardest part of the job was seeing homeowners in unpleasant – more... circumstances and sometimes lose their homes.
The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the difference we made on a daily basis. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Fannie Mae

We are looking for employees who are intent on helping us achieve something remarkable. Since 2009, we have made tremendous progress – Read more