FARM BUREAU Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Field Claims Rep (Former Employee) –  IowaNovember 30, 2017
Overall I had a very good experience at Farm Bureau. The biggest complaint was a lack of incentive for a raise. It seemed like even on a good year; one was going to get a cost of living raise.

Other than pay increases, they treated employee's very well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Moville, IANovember 21, 2017
Do not feel comfortable commenting as this company has made many changes since I have been employed with them. Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just not my type of work
Secretary/Admin (Former Employee) –  Batesville, AROctober 25, 2017
Im sure this would have been a better company to work for if I had had some kind of training instead of just being "thrown in there". The people were friendly but also "better than you". .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of compassion
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSOctober 11, 2017
At least under the agent I worked for they did not care about me as a person or about helping me to advance my career with Farm Bureau. I never have regretted leaving this position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commission is always hard
Financial Agent (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, SDOctober 9, 2017
I love the company, but it's not for everyone. Working for commission is always tough, and it can be stressful. Sometimes you have to look at the people and not the amount of money you will make off of them.
Pros
High commission, schedule, management
Cons
No PTO, no paid benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job!
Accounts/Payroll Manager (Former Employee) –  DeRidder, LAOctober 5, 2017
Small office group was enjoyable and rewarding. Learned how auto insurance worked. Not a fan of doing auto insurance, but it was interesting. Management was very professional.
Pros
Small group of office crew
Cons
Pay was very low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment. Good people
Info-Sec Security Specialist (Current Employee) –  West Des Moines, IAAugust 28, 2017
Farm Bureau is a great company. It's hard to get hired full time, but if you work hard there is always a chance that you'll get in. If you do, the company takes very goodcare of its employees.
Pros
Nice work environment
Cons
Hard to get hired full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Ashland, MSJuly 24, 2017
I have loved working at Farm Bureau Benton County. I have learned new things and new people and this is a great place to work, and working with the staff here is wonderful
Pros
hour lunchers
Cons
no insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Identity and Access Management Analyst (Former Employee) –  West Des Moines, IA 50266July 5, 2017
Fun place to work. People are generally nice, ready and willing to help each other out. the work was a little tedious but that is normal for insurance companies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Monroe, LAJuly 3, 2017
Training was difficult. I had to teach myself or go to people and beg them to train me. Once I got enough information to perform my job, it was a great experience.
Pros
family oriented
Cons
training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Manager Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chilhowie, VAJune 19, 2017
Enjoyed being with this company, it was a great experience. the work place was nice and relaxed. I would work here again. thanks for the chance to b part
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice palce to work
Clerk, Bookkeeper (Current Employee) –  Chilhowie, VA 24319May 26, 2017
Farm Bureau is a nice place to work. Although if you want to move up and ever get a raise in your job career it's not going to happen. Going to Virginia Highlands Community College and getting my Executive Administrative Assistant degree in 2015 I would love to find something in my career field.
Pros
Full Time
Cons
No Retirement, health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
private office
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Altoona, IAMarch 29, 2017
I worked under an agent. I was paid once a month with no benefits. Commission only. A lot of freedom but also working extra hard to make your paycheck.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
contractor
Information Security Analyst (short contract) (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAMarch 23, 2017
I have no comment about Farm Bureau or the position that I had at this company. I was there for such a short time I have no opinion at this time. Sorry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didnt get to learn much
IT Contractor (Former Employee) –  West Des Moines, IAFebruary 21, 2017
I was a contractor and my assignment was not very long but when there, the people were great, the environment was a lot of fun and the pace was fast and changed a lot throughout a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work
Temp (Former Employee) –  Collins, MSJanuary 25, 2017
I really enjoyed working at Farm Bureau. I just wished it could have been a full-time position. I really enjoyed working with the other staff members and meeting new people. I really, really enjoyed the customer service part of the job because I like to help people. I also enjoy learning new things
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 17, 2017
Answer and forward calls to specific agents. Schedule appointments and enter certain data asked by the agents. Most enjoyable is interacting with the multiple people you see a day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
adjust claims
Field Property Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Topeka, KSDecember 19, 2016
determine coverage , inspect and prepare estimate of damages. Issue payment.
Too much micro-management
good training and equipment/tools to preform work
being out in the bad weather 9 extreme heat or cold)
Pros
pay
Cons
troo many people looking over your shoulder
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Part time Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Franklin, TNOctober 14, 2016
Excellent work environment and management. Great Locations and good Insurance. Customers are friendly and positive place to work.
Pros
Locations and People
Cons
No Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company but lacked in training new employees. I enjoy working with people on a professional level, this wasn't a good fit for me.
Reservation Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Mason City, IAAugust 29, 2016
Good company but lacked in training new employees. I enjoy working with people on a professional level, this wasn't a good fit for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at FARM BUREAU. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 47 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.6
Culture
3.5