Find companies:
Farmers Insurance Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,018 reviews

Farmers Insurance Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well reputed international insurance conglomerate
In-house Insurance Defense Trial Attorney (Current Employee), San Bernardino, CAJuly 28, 2014
I am passionate about the law and enjoy being a lawyer. This company remains profitable and continues to grow which places a heavy burden on the lawyers to act in the capacity as an administrator. Consequently, this takes away from my ability to practice law. The cases are interesting and my colleagues are fantastic. I am exposed to and responsible – more... for all aspects of litigation including trial work which is my favorite part about being a lawyer but is unfortunately where I spend the least amount of my time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced job
CSR (Current Employee), Grand Forks, NDJuly 28, 2014
Pros: never have to work weekends, fast paced environment
Cons: no benefits
I absolutely love working for Farmers Union Insurance. I wish there was a Farmers Union office in Tucson for when I move down there in August! I really enjoy keeping busy and multitasking, so this was the perfect job for me. Working here really made me realize how much I love working and interacting with customers while helping them to the best of my – more... abilities. I now have a goal to become an insurance agent myself some day because of the positive experience I've had here! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start.
Insurance Sales Representative (Former Employee), Jacinto City, TexasJuly 28, 2014
Pros: great hours, long lunches
Cons: no benefits.
Lots of filing, answering phones, and data entry. I learned a great deal of customer service. Management was OK, could have been better organized at this particular office. The hardest part of the job was learning the system and finding out the best option for the customer. The most enjoyable part of the job was satisfying the customer by finding them – more... the best deals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal Environment for Sales and Marketing
Insurance Sales Agent (Current Employee), Los AngelesJuly 28, 2014
The Dana Wynkoop Insurance Agency represents all lines of personal and commercial insurance products.

Our agency has the resources to align the most beneficial insurance products to client’s specific and unique needs; by customizing comprehensive insurance packages to insure the best coverage at the best price.

We offer our clients the best personal – more... service in every area including premium rates, service and claims.

We want our clients to be 100% confident that they have chosen the right agency for all their insurance needs insuring our reputation as being best in both products and customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for
Claims Coverage Specialty Team (Current Employee), Olathe, KsJuly 26, 2014
Pros: catered in lunch, open door policy
Cons: the company is restructuring their systems, and it is a hectic work enviroment, with limited options for advancement
Starting in the call center, you must prove yourself able to take on any other role in the company. There is room for advancement, but mostly as a casualty adjuster in the auto side if you don't have any previous experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive company, a lot of perks for the managment teams
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Riverside, CAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: posititive place
Cons: work life balance not very good
I was able to take a few classes that the company offered. I enjoyed the people and customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Claims Associate (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 21, 2014
Pros: fun atmosphere
Confer with customers by telephone or in person in order to provide information about products and services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Senior Agent Advocate (Former Employee), Lenexa, KSJuly 21, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: micro managed
Working at Farmers was a great experience. I was able to jump start my secondary education and build on my continuous education professionally. Farmers maintained an interest in its employees work life balance and there was roof for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment with great colleagues and excellent experience
Agency Producer/Owner (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZJuly 20, 2014
Pros: flexible work hours. you pretty much keep your own hours. work with nice people.
Cons: not going to make much the first year or two. and, you are only as good as what you sell. need to meet quota each quarter, so may require a great deal of time and effort to achieve that.
Great job. Management was great and very friendly. Everybody worked with you and most people were very helpful. Typical day included lots of cold-calling, communicating via internet with potential clients, and networking. Hardest part of the job was being able to meet your quota each quarter. Most enjoyable part of the job was working with lots of different – more... people and learning a great deal about the insurance and financial services industry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Customer Service (Former Employee), Smokey Point BlvdJuly 20, 2014
filling paperwork, answering phones. customer service was a big part of the job, making sure you helped each customer the best I could. most enjoyable part of my job was putting a smile on there faces and doing my best to help with all there needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inbound call center
Licensed Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Lake Mary, FLJuly 17, 2014
Pros: great co workers
Cons: healthcare and benefits are reasonable
• Service incoming calls for personal lines automobile insurance policies, including but not limited researching policy information
• Cancellations
• Reinstatements
• Amendments
• explanation of billing
• Processing payments
• Constant communication with supervisors and team leads if needed.

• Processing all personal time management, mid and end year – more... reviews including:
• Meeting expectation in:
o Efficiency, quality, calls per hour, after call work, call duration, surveys and cross selling.
o Multi-tasking with 12 individual computer programs.
o General office practices. 2044 insurance designation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very busy place to work!
Resident Insurance Producer & CSR (Former Employee), Rancho Cucamonga & San Bernardino, CA.July 17, 2014
Pros: we could bring our kids to work, ample flexibilty in our schedules, we were not micro-managed, we had a ample autonomy, our supervisor trusted us implicitly
Cons: supervisors regularly absent, no receptionist, difficult to give the most prompt/efficient service
My supervisor's book of business was very large. We had numerous phone calls to attend to daily. The phone rang most of the time at regular intervals of 2-3 minutes throughout the day and often until after closing as well. We assisted many walk-in clients that were both in our book of business and many of whom belonged to other agents as well. They – more... either had policy questions, needed to make a payment or desired to make changes to an existing policy. We also regularly serviced prospective clients needing quotes and shopping for renter's, homeowner's, auto, motorcycle, mobile home, RV, and boat polices. I also assisted clients in many ways such as securing bonds or with DMV issues that were outside of our normal scope of business.
I learned how to write professional letters on company head with detailed information to inform clients about upcoming changes to their policies and many other forms of correspondence with clients. These were used as a template for both the supervisor and my co-workers. In addition, I wrote letters for my supervisor when he needed to communicate something in a professional and polished manner. I also learned how to balance and break up the day which included processing paperwork and resolving various issues for policy holders.
The office staff was mostly self-managed. However, for any questions outside of our knowledge or authority we sought out the supervisor to assist us. As a three person staff with several other people available we usually resolved the issues by assisting each other with the information we had readily available to us from both personal experience to bulletins/information provided by the company. We also had an excellent corporate staff available to us by phone during working hours to answer many of the questions that we were unable to resolve in-house.
My co-workers assisted in answering policy questions and in offering solutions to difficult policy issues. We worked together to resolve many issues and to provide the best service possible to our clients.
The most difficult part of the job was answering a high volume of phone calls and at the same time having to resolve each issue in a timely manner. Whereas some policy issues could be resolved in a few minutes, some took hours, days or even weeks. It was common to get behind and back-logged with many assignments needing attention simultaneously.
The most enjoyable part of the job was establishing trust, friendship and camaraderie with our clients. After satisfying their policy needs and questions there were often many opportunities to develop a relationship with them simply beyond business. That was very satisfying to both them and to me. I was grateful to make policy holders feel like more than just clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good experience
Sales Agent (Former Employee), Vacaville, CAJuly 16, 2014
Management struggles and poor office moral. Lack of leadership by owners and unprofessional staff members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job that turned into a career
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Tempe, AZJuly 16, 2014
I have been with Farmers for 8 years, at first it was just a job but as time went on I found that I love the insurance industry. I work with 2 others in my office. My boss has definitely helped me grow and achieve more than I thought I could. The only hard part of the job is beating rates, other than that it is great and easy. I enjoy talking with clients – more... and helping them understand the insurance process and how things work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a stable agent
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZJuly 15, 2014
The agent I worked for was not financially stable, Farmers is a good company though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great office
Claims Associate (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJuly 15, 2014
Good office to work at but limited opportunities. Was excellent experience and fun to work despite poor office management and recognition of accomplishments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awsome place to work was for Farmers Insurance
Secretary (Former Employee), Visalia, CAJuly 15, 2014
At Farmers I interacted with the customers a lot. They would come in and pay there payments on there insurance. I learned a lot about insurance with cars and homes with Farmers my boss showed me a lot when I worked for him. I had no co workers it was only me and the Agent. I loved my job working for Farmers Insurance it was the interaction with the – more... customers that I enjoyed. The hardest part about this job is that the Agent retired and he shut down his office. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Customer Service via phone
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Olathe, KSJuly 13, 2014
Pros: excellent experience gained offering customer service over the phone
Cons: very sedentary job, the entire shift was spent at a desk on the phone.
At Farmers, a typical day involved fielding first response calls for our insureds when they had an auto accident or some other sort of property damage. I and my co-workers were often their first point of contact following a traumatic event where they often felt at a loss as to what to do next. We would put them at ease, walk them through the claim filing – more... process and give them peace of mind by explaining what would happen next. In extremer cases of property damage, we would link our insureds to our emergency response teams to assist them within the hour, providing them with a place to stay if their home was unlivable, getting them into a rental vehicle, and arranging for tow service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work hours.
Sr. Workforce Management / Forecasting Analyst (Current Employee), Wilmington, DEJuly 11, 2014
Pros: time off
Cons: no opportunities
Wonderful company, good hours, good stability. Very little room to advance your career here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close Knit working environment
Property Claims Supervisor (Current Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 10, 2014
Helping people recover after their home suffers damages is the most enjoyable part of the job.

1 2 3 4 5

About Farmers Insurance Group

Farmers Insurance is one of the country's largest insurers of vehicles, homes and small businesses and provides a wide range of – Read more

Farmers Insurance Group Photos