Farmers Insurance Group Employee Reviews

Found 2,139 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get Management and training
Agency Contract Management Representative (Current Employee) –  Independence, OHMarch 26, 2017
The management staff is great. During my time with Farmers I have gone through several training classes. I love how the training is split out for different procedures and not crammed all together.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Having to clock in and out even if you have to use the rest room
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Liability field claims representative (Former Employee) –  Tigard, ORMarch 24, 2017
You have accessed a private computer system. Unauthorized access, use, connection, or entry is not permitted and constitutes a crime punishable by law. We reserve the right to fully pursue criminal and civil legal penalties. All individuals using this computer system with or without proper authority are subject to having all their activities monitored and recorded. Anyone using this system implicitly consents to this monitoring. Any evidence of suspected criminal activity revealed by such monitoring may be provided to law enforcement officials.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not s good fit
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  New MexicoMarch 24, 2017
There was a major difference in culture in this office. I did not fit in. It was an overall nice office, but it became uncomfortable when I could not understand the language.
Pros
Nice Office
Cons
Language Barriers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
CSR (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, IN 46227March 23, 2017
Best boss you could ask for, fun loving guy really wanted to see me do a good job, also help to give advice in personal crisis. Made work fun and enjoyable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
Acct Exec-Guidewire ClaimCenter Program Director (Current Employee) –  Woodland Hills, CAMarch 23, 2017
By far is the people. Everyone on our team are dedicated and willing to put in the extra mile to accomplish our deliverables. We take time to celebrate success as well.
Pros
leadership support
Cons
work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CAMarch 22, 2017
Answering phones and supporting the needs of the clients. Giving quotes when needed. Reviewing premiums for clients. I have learned the insurance business as well as the commercial too.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
not enough work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to start
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KSMarch 21, 2017
Good place to work, just took claims all day.
Learned customer service skills and how insurance operates.
Management was fine, lots of performance evaluations; almost too many.
Hardest part of the job was knowing what you were able to tell customers and what you were not. (Insurance coverage differed person to person.)
The most enjoyable part of the job was the benefits and holiday pay.
Pros
Coworkers were great, Pay Raises
Cons
Very micromanaged
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on your position
Insurance Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 20, 2017
Most of the time doing customer service work, answering about 50-100 phone calls a day.

Talking with insurance adjusters and customers for a long period of time.
Pros
can pay well as long as you can sell
Cons
long hours, always answering the phone outside of work, not a lot of free time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company to work for
Agent/Owner (Former Employee) –  Princeton, ILMarch 20, 2017
You can learn so much and do so well with this company.

The people that train you are great and they want you to succeed, so they will help you any way they can.
If you work hard it will pay off in the long run.
There are a lot of awards you can get if you stay focused and concentrate on your goals.

You are not overly stressed that you go crazy.
Steady work day, and you put in as many hours as you see fit.
The harder you work the better you will do.
Pros
Great trainers to help you learn and succeed, friendly
Cons
Once in a while there will be a price increase on the products
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and room to grow
Receptionist/Secretary (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXMarch 20, 2017
Farmers insurance was a great company to work for. I was sadden when the owner retired and closed the doors. I made great friends and learned a new skill working in the insurance field.
Pros
Learning experence
Cons
Closed doors in location
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not truthful
Tier 2 Office Claims Representative (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 20, 2017
The typical work day is hectic and chaotic. I learned the insurance industry from top to bottom. Management made promises that they fail to deliver on. Work culture was extremely poor. The entire job was more difficult than it had to be. The people that I worked with.
Pros
Compensation
Cons
Time off, unrealistic expectations, poor work environment and lack of on the job training.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet, friendly work place
Producer in Training/Marketing - Lancaster (Current Employee) –  Lancaster, PAMarch 20, 2017
Most of my time working at Farmers, I was offered paid studying time in order to get my license. We do group studying from time to time, but mostly alone in our office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my duty
Agent/Producer (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJMarch 18, 2017
doing sales only working out of sales center.
attend the training class , reply on all require work,discusing all material need to be discussed .review sales with my manger ,try to find new ways to better sales .
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good job
Record Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mercer Island, WAMarch 16, 2017
I loved working in policy records dept
Filing numerical system
Working with microfilm jackets
Filming mail on huge cameras
Inserting microfilm jackets on
Inserter machines filing jackets into powerfile
Machines worked on computer daily
Inputting file numbers daily
Coworkers were fun work place was very good.
Pros
VERY GOOD
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMarch 16, 2017
The company started out as a good company to work for. Great concept of family, working to make sure the employee has a great experience. As I got into the job it was harder to make the job work to be a good balance between home and work life. As well as the moving to a new department being harder to attain also.
Pros
family concept, music in the bathroom
Cons
the ability to change to a different position, hours and pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Chino, CAMarch 15, 2017
Working with farmers was a great company to work for. I learn that even though you pay a lot of money they will cover you. Also you meet a lot of intersting people. The hardest part was making people happy.
Pros
Great boss
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to start a career
MVS Systems Programmer & Data Security Specialist (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 15, 2017
Great CEO, fast growing in insurance industry, OK management and huge support in keeping up with technology. Company provided benefits did not meet industry expectation.
Pros
Can't think of anything solid
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place for years, many changes, not for the better
claims (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORMarch 14, 2017
I have really enjoyed working for Farmers in the past. Unfortunately, the last 2 years have gone downhill. I like all the people I work with, unfortunately I feel the companies upper management has an unrealistic idea of what our job entails and the work that we actually do.
Pros
Somewhat flexible
Cons
work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Licensed Customer Service Representative/Producer (Former Employee) –  Spiro, OKMarch 14, 2017
I worked for a local Farmers Agent in a very small town. The work was good and the customers were your neighbors. The hours were great and the location even better.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For someone who loves talking to new people
Marketing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Norton, OHMarch 13, 2017
As a marketing assistant I basically just sent out mailers, dealt with both of our agent's customers and their needs. I enjoyed the people I worked with a lot and our location was very friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Farmers Insurance Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 2,167 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5