Farmers State Bank Employee Reviews

Showing all 36 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful place to work
Head Teller (Former Employee) –  Bolivar, MOJune 12, 2017
i was not happy working here and i would not recommend it to any of my friends or anyone that asks
It was a very cutthroat place that went through more employees than any place ive ever worked
Pros
benefits started out good till they started making us pay for them
Cons
no breaks, older generation of employers with old ideas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Markesan, WIMay 25, 2017
Work environment is stressful, but rewarding. Customer base is extremely friendly furthering the rewarding working experience. There is plenty of room to grow in this business, if you have the patience and dedication.
Pros
401k, benefits
Cons
staffing shortages, poor communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Century old company with strong community influence
Loan Department Secretary (Current Employee) –  Cameron, MOMarch 16, 2017
I appreciate the opportunity I've had to work with such a company and all of the knowledge and experience I have gained. I like that FSB is so involved in the community and that the staff works hard to know all of their customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunities for advancement, close knit work community
Accounts Payable Manager (Former Employee) –  Lincolnton, GAJanuary 31, 2017
I was able to gain great experience at this bank. This bank is currently growing and it is a wonderful place to start a career with great opportunities for advancement..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Teller and account opener (Former Employee) –  Lagrange, INJanuary 29, 2017
Great place to work with upbeat environment. Very family friendly place to work. Job is easily learned with thorough training and certifications. Overall great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A relaxing place to work
PERSONAL BANKER / TELLER (Former Employee) –  Youngsville, LASeptember 22, 2016
Working for Farmers State Bank was a great part time job. It was flexible and worked around my school schedule when needed. My co-workers and manager created a friendly environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Bank
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Mexia, TXJuly 12, 2016
This is a great home town family bank that is loved by all customers and employees. I would've never left there if I hadn't moved as they truly care about customers and employees. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Pros
Bank Hours
Cons
Worked Saturdays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work and such a great place to gain experience.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Ashland, OHMarch 16, 2016
On a day to day work schedule you would successfully complete transactions with your customers and maintain a professional relationship. Keep accurate balances in your drawer and make sure your work is 100% correct with the computer work. All of the customers are great and very patient with me while I was learning all of the procedures.
Pros
Great customers, friendly coworkers, and I see advancement possibilites.
Cons
Not in the right town that I would like to live in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment bearable with co-workers
Teller (Current Employee) –  Warsaw, INFebruary 20, 2016
Being a teller is not the most exciting job in the world, but I appreciate all of the relationships I've been able to make with many different people. The work is usually the same every day, and with the same people as well. The bank has done a great job in retaining its customers. The hardest part of my job is trying to manage a transaction that I am not aware of. The most enjoyable part of my job is getting to see familiar faces when I handle transactions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, all local employees and customers so knew everyone
Bank Vice President/branch manager (Former Employee) –  Eustis, NEJanuary 27, 2016
Farmers State Bank was purchased in 2004 by First Bank and Trust in Cozad, NE.

Good place to work, very community oriented.

Small bank so had opportunity to do most banking related activities as well as Ag Loan officer.
Pros
Small community
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace.
TEMP. HELP/ BANK TELLER (Former Employee) –  Dublin, GADecember 1, 2015
I really enjoyed working at my bank, my co workers were so easy to get along with and they accepted me as their own from the beginning and I really loved that. I didn't have much problem learning the job and if I did have a question I knew they wouldn't mind helping me.
Pros
Customer Service.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good bank with hardworking co workers and a generous owner.
Loan Officer (Current Employee) –  Marion, IL 62959August 2, 2015
Help loan customers in the bank and over the phone. This is a very busy community bank with an good reputation for helping customers. As a result, I have gained a lot of experience with a wide range of loans. Assist other loan officers with loan write ups including financial analysis and recommendation. Collect past due loans when time permits. The hardest part is trying to balance all job duties.
Pros
Excellent pay and benefits.
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Teller (Current Employee) –  Canton South DakotaJuly 9, 2015
Farmers State Bank is a great place to work, I just don't have any opportunities for advancement at the moment. Everyone is very friendly and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small community bank that hasnt sold it's soul
Teller (Former Employee) –  Branch LocationMay 1, 2015
FSB is a wonderful company to work for. They are very community minded and passionate about customer service. Most managers are wonderful to work for and will do whatever they can to help you succeed. Loan Processing is a tough department because it is very clique driven but other than that it's a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is fun and satisfying place to work.
Courier (Current Employee) –  Victor, MTApril 21, 2015
I am always greeted when I arrive at work by happy smiling employees.
After gathering paper work to be transferred to other branches,
and calling contacts to see if a stop would be necessitated, I prep the car for the route.
This company has a great management team that is always available
for assistance.
The co-workers are great and work well together. We are trusted to
contact each other to fill in if someone needs time off. Once arrangements are made we notify our supervisor.
This job is not hard, just fun because it's challenging.
The employees make this job fun as well as the challenge.
Pros
The travel between branches and the reward of being helpful.
Cons
Can't think of any. I look forward to every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a loan processor
Loan Processor/Loan Disbursement Clerk (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, INFebruary 23, 2015
I typed all consumer and commercial loans for the bank. I also disbursed all consumer, commercial, and mortgage loans. I paid any and all bills associated with the loan. I filed UCCs, mortgages, made sure we had proper collateral.
Pros
nice place to work, nice people, very flexible with my hours
Cons
The drive was too far when they moved my department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Teller (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, TXFebruary 17, 2015
I started at this job & was welcomed with open arms. The positive out of this place was that they taught you everything that you needed to know.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
I can't really recall any cons, sorry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Manual Tester (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 1, 2014
Good place to work.
Good learning enviornment.
Excellent coworkers.
Pros
Regular trainings
Cons
Tight work schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Workday
Bank Teller (Current Employee) –  Warsaw, INJune 10, 2014
Duties consist of:
* I open and close facilities
* Deposit cash and checks for personal and commercial clients.
* Keep my money drawer balanced while interacting with customers.
* Open new business and personal checking accounts.
* Deal with complex transactions such as: cashiers checks, wire transfers, bond redemption's, IRA distributions, issuing of CD's.
* Interact with 50+ customers a day.
* Help customers identify which services they are in need of.

The most difficult part of my job is completing all transactions, customer service and balancing my drawer under strict time limits.

The most enjoyable part of my job is interacting and getting to know clientele and being able to successfully help them in finding what service the bank offers that fills their banking needs.
Pros
401K, Healthcare, one hour lunchbreaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a decent place to work
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Adams, MNJanuary 22, 2014
I was a bank teller. I waited on customers and did what they asked, deposit pay loans or withdrawal. I did filing, copying, and faxing. I looked up accounts and transferred calls. I believe that is where i learned my phone skills, and office skills. My coworkers were fine to work with. The management was fair. The hardest part of the job was counting my till at the end of the day. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the customers. It was a small town bank so you were able to be more personal.
Pros
It was a Monday through Friday job
Cons
If you were not family you really did not fit in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Farmers State Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 36 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.9
Culture
4.0

Farmers State Bank Reviews by Location