Find companies:
Fastenal
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
465 reviews

Fastenal Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Outside Sales (Former Employee), CaliforniaApril 9, 2014
Worked at least 7:00-5:30 so 10 hours or so at least.
Lots of cold calling, not quite my thing
Loved the relationships I developed with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fastenal is a good starting place if you want a career in sales.
General Manager (Current Employee), Orange, TXApril 9, 2014
Pros: good support system
Cons: pay
I would recommend Fastenal to anyone who wants a career in sales and they don't know where to start.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits
Outside Sales Representative (Current Employee), Greensburg, INApril 9, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: limited job advancement
Great company to work for but would like the opportunity to move up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Sterling, ILApril 6, 2014
Pros: paid very well good insurance
Cons: to much coprate managment politics
very busy work day learned alot about management running a industrial supply store was in management upper management to much corprate politcs.good to work withwor 6 diffrent hatsbest part of thejob was givng customer great sevice and product the they needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible management
General Warehouse|Shipping (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTApril 4, 2014
Pros: good excersize
Cons: bad managers
I really think tat they work there employees to the bone for little compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Resume' builder
General Manager (Former Employee), NCApril 3, 2014
Pros: training, room to advance
Cons: micro management. can't see the forest for all the trees.
If you enjoy being forced to work 50 hours, then this is the place for you. If you enjoy screwing people on margin, this is the place for you. If you enjoy hitting ALL your goals and still being forced to work on a weekend for free just to clean, Jackpot, this is the job for you. The company is strong and stable, but the management will drive you to – more... find another job. If you want to build a resume', work here. They will train you and teach you what to look for in your next job. They seem to be only hire a specific person. If you are white, 22, and a male, you will probably be hired. Good luck otherwise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Job
General Manager (Current Employee), laApril 3, 2014
Its an Ok job, good stepping stone for young grads to build up there resume and then leave to work for someone who wants to pay them a decent salary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok workplace with excellent co-workers and poor management
Picker (Former Employee), High Point, NCApril 2, 2014
Pros: occasional free lunch, awesome co-workers
Cons: poor management
a typical day at work consists of clocking in and going to your assigned locker to retrieve your work supplies. ( scanner, hip printer, tape gun etc..) and going to set up your cart with ( bags, boxes, extra labels and tape). After you're all set up you login in to your scanner you go to the RF picking menu scan your hip printer and type in the beginning – more... and end locations for the section you are working in. Then you proceed to the location it gives you and scan the part and control number of that particular part and proceed to pick/package it. I learned how to work well within a team oriented environment and it enhanced my communication skills as well. i also learned to operate several machines such as forklifts, scissor lifts and electronic pallet jacks. The management there was alright and while the communication between me and my coworkers was fluid, I cant say the same about management. They were also very bad about doing employee reviews. They consistently seemed to be behind in their paperwork, which caused them to spend more time in the office rather than on the floor supervising.This caused a resentment between the bottom or entry level guys and management because when they were on the floor they would be obviously frustrated about some other aspect of their work yet it would come out in a negative way when interacting with us.This was probably the hardest aspect of my job. not necessarily the job itself but the more often than not negative interaction with management. My coworkers for the most part were excellent. I always had a good working relationship with most of my coworkers and that was probably the most enjoyable part of my job. Being able to interact with individuals who were intelligent and hard working is probably the biggest reason i worked there for the amount of time i did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours
Outside Salesperson (Former Employee), IndianaApril 2, 2014
Pros: experience
Cons: long hours.
Working for this company was not to bad. I gain a good amount of experience but the hours way to long for the base pay. The new rules for commission pay take more away then it gives back. Expect to work 50+ hours a week in a big store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PLACE FOR PART TIME EMPLOYMENT
Quality Control Inspector (Current Employee), High Point, NCMarch 28, 2014
THERE ARE VARIETIES OF DUTIES PERFORMED, MAKING IT AN INTERESTING JOB AND ALWAYS SOMETHING TO LEARN
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Support (Former Employee), Gillette, WYMarch 25, 2014
Only problem that I found with this company is the ability to find help and keep them. Benefits, pay, etc could be improved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging yet rewarding
SALES MANAGER (Former Employee), Watford City, NDMarch 22, 2014
On any given day I would be placing sales orders for oil rig companies, delivering product to the companies waiting for them, taking new orders, and opening new accounts. My job was to sell product to oil rigs and I was in charge of up to 50 different accounts most of which I opened personally. The biggest challenge was staying organized. With so many – more... things to keep track of at once it proved challenging to keep it prioritized. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, deadline driven envirionment
National Accounts Sourcing Specialist (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INMarch 19, 2014
Pros: listen to music while you work, fun co-workers, complexity of the business/department
Cons: confined to cubicle, short breaks, so-so compensation
A typical day at work involved heavy use of a Microsoft Excel spreadsheet and other company software applications. Much of my time was spent in a cubicle with most of my human interaction being done via email or telephone. Unless I was involved with a colleague on a project or a customer/vendor was in the office, I could pretty much just keep to myself. – more... I learned several complexities of business during my time there. In distribution, there are several components that go into turning a profit for the company. Some of these components include the P.O.S. (point of sale) cost, effective and ethical markups, lead times for manufacturing and delivery, the Industrial supplies industry itself, and the human element that inevitably ties all areas of business together. The culture of the company was nice. My co-workers were easy to get along with and I never had any professional or personal problems with any of them. The management of the company was mediocre at best. Of course, as in most organizations, you have good managers and not so good managers. My direct supervisor was excellent in the way he went about managing my department, but the company was less than impressive when it came to effective communication and getting the necessary information to the right people in a timely manner. The hardest part of the job was being confined to a cubicle for up to 10 hours a day. The most enjoyable aspect of the job was learning the vast and complex industry and all the products involved, as well as the process of getting those products to the customer. I also enjoyed being able to listen to my music via headphones while I worked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for a career
General Manager (Former Employee), Summersville, WVMarch 18, 2014
My time with Fastenal was short but I loved working there. You get the opportunity to go out and talk to customers face to face and there is never a dull moment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
?
Outside Sales Rep (Former Employee), Wichita, KSMarch 17, 2014
they really need to look at their compensation structure. the main reason why I left there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Inside Sales Associate (Former Employee), Seaford, DEMarch 16, 2014
Fun place to work. I often miss this job. We had fun everyday while keeping our customers happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place
data entry (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INMarch 13, 2014
customer service
there is no hard part
the most enjoyable is team work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great Learning experience for me.
General Manager (Former Employee), Bend ORMarch 13, 2014
Pros: great prices on power tools and fasteners.
Cons: lots of travel.
I worked my way from warehouse manager to general manager in just 3 years. I learned how to manage A warehouse and inventory control to maximize profits. I had great coworkers and sales people during my tenure. The most enjoyable part of this job was the customers weather inside or outside sales. The hardest part of the job was the travel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great flexibility
Account Specialist (Current Employee), Stillwater, OKMarch 12, 2014
Make own schedule
Create relationships
Can determine your commission by how motivated you are at selling
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice if you like to be out and about each day.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Hayward, CAMarch 11, 2014
Pros: drive company truck, meeting with lots of great customers.
Cons: products doesn't always show up in a timely fashion to satisfy our customers.
This is a great job for being out in front of your customers on a daily basis. It's great to get to know the in's and out's of some large companies that everyone if familiar with.
Keeping customers happy through service is their motto.
Heavy lifting is involved as you delivery products to customers.

About Fastenal

Some might say it has a screw loose, but things are¬†really pretty snug at Fastenal. The company operates¬†about 2,600 stores in – Read more