Find companies:
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
50 reviews

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work for.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Washington, DCDecember 9, 2012
Pros: benefits
I have been there for 20 years so this tells you that this is a good place to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Senior Attorney (CG-14) (Current Employee), Dallas, TXNovember 27, 2012
No comment, as none is necessary. I worked in Closed Bank Legal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Rewarding work environment
Resolutions and Receiverships Technician (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILNovember 6, 2012
The great thing about working at the FDIC is that the work was interesting and challenging. My role as a resoution and receiverships technician allowed me to work in a variety of functional areas within the FDIC and working on closings of failed financial institutions. I also interacted with my fellow FDIC co-workers, representatives of financial institutions, – more... and the general public. The best thing about working at the FDIC is knowing that you are helping consumers by providing them with insurance of their deposit accounts and ensuring stability in the nation's financial system. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Job working for the Federal Government
Supervisor (Former Employee), Kansas City MissouriNovember 5, 2012
Pros: excellent benefits and job variety
Cons: traveling 30 weeks a year
FDIC was an excellent job.

My main duties were to oversee the closing of a State or Federal Bank. Then determine which Accounts Receiveable accounts would be transfered to the FDIC and which accounts would be place with the new purchasing bank

The hardest part of the job were the liong hours and travel involved in getting from one bank to another

The – more... best part of the job was the diversity of duties that had to be pefromed – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A constantly changing work environment
Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 3, 2012
Every day was something new and entertaining. I never knew what to expect going into work. I learned a lot about loan servicing and general operations in various banks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable with good benefits
Financial Institution Examiner (Risk Management) (Current Employee), Denver, COSeptember 21, 2012
Pros: good benefits, decent pay, and job security
Cons: overnight travel can get old and you are stuck waiting on promotions until you hit time in grade
A typical day at work generally invovles financial analysis and writing. An examiner's job is to convey the findings of a bank examination in well-written findings. The pace at the FDIC can be very slow and at times very fast depending on the assignment and what is going on at the time. Most of my co-workers are intelligent and good people to work with. – more... Overall, the hardest part of the job is sometimes dealing with subjectivity and the sheer boredom that can occur when there are no real assignments to accomplish. The most enjoyable part of the job is working in collaborative teams and having fun with co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Challenging place to work
Resolution and Receivership Specialist (Former Employee), Irvine, CASeptember 20, 2012
Excellent place to work, very professional, Great benefits. Management was outstanding. I worked with some very skillful and educated co-workers. The hardest part of the job was working up to 12 hours on the weekend when needed. The most enjoyable part of the job was traveling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the Best 10 Places to Work in the Federal Government
Investigative Specialist (Former Employee), IllinoisAugust 27, 2012
Pros: quality professionals
Cons: managerial changeover
One of the Best 10 places to work in the Federal Government. It is a top notch Corporation.
I would recommend this organization. It is however highly selective in whom they hire. Our mission is to stablize the banking industry through guanteeing accounts up to a certain limits, examining the financials of a bank to know whether or not it is solvent – more... and if it fails to find a buyer or take in over. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with important regulatory and deposit insurance missions and good benefits.
Senior Regional Attorney (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 26, 2012
My position with FDIC involves two of FDIC's most important missions: to supervise state chartered non-Federal Reserve member banks and to insure almost all of the bank deposits in the U.S. My typical day is spent in the office analyzing, documenting and prosecuting enforcement actions and analyzing and providing legal advice for a wide variety of bank – more... applications. I have become more proficient in administrative litigation eforcement proceedings and broadened my knowledge and expertise in federal banking law. My coworkers, for the most part, are smart, hard-working and dedicated to the FDIC mission. The most enjoyable parts of my job are the analytical, problem-solving, organizational and case preparation and prosecution required to bring a successful enforcement action. The hardest part of the job is navigating bureacratic and political issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with important regulatory and deposit insurance missions and good benefits.
Senior Regional Attorney (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 26, 2012
My position with FDIC involves two of FDIC's most important missions: to supervise state chartered non-Federal Reserve member banks and to insure almost all of the bank deposits in the U.S. My typical day is spent in the office analyzing, documenting and prosecuting enforcement actions and analyzing and providing legal advice for a wide variety of bank – more... applications. I have become more proficient in administrative litigation eforcement proceedings and broadened my knowledge and expertise in federal banking law. My coworkers, for the most part, are smart, hard-working and dedicated to the FDIC mission. The most enjoyable parts of my job are the analytical, problem-solving, organizational and case preparation and prosecution required to bring a successful enforcement action. The hardest part of the job is navigating bureacratic and political issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with important regulatory and deposit insurance missions and good benefits.
Senior Regional Attorney (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 26, 2012
My position with FDIC involves two of FDIC's most important missions: to supervise state chartered non-Federal Reserve member banks and to insure almost all of the bank deposits in the U.S. My typical day is spent in the office analyzing, documenting and prosecuting enforcement actions and analyzing and providing legal advice for a wide variety of bank – more... applications. I have become more proficient in administrative litigation eforcement proceedings and broadened my knowledge and expertise in federal banking law. My coworkers, for the most part, are smart, hard-working and dedicated to the FDIC mission. The most enjoyable parts of my job are the analytical, problem-solving, organizational and case preparation and prosecution required to bring a successful enforcement action. The hardest part of the job is navigating bureacratic and political issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet, clean, and a very proffesional workplace
Security Officer (Current Employee), Schaumburg, ILAugust 23, 2012
Pros: we as the security team are on our own, away from other departments.
Cons: no organization from higher management
This is deffinately a great job with great pay. With needed security 24/7 the hours are flexible and great if you are still in school. Everybody gets along great, I have never worked in such a friendly enviroment. This job deffinately tought me how to pay more attention to detail, how to read X-rays of the incoming mail, what to look for out on patrol, – more... how to handle a firearm (even though I have acquired that skill in the military already), and most importantly it tought me better customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rated as the #1 Federal agency to work for
Resolutions and Receiverships Specialist (Current Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 16, 2012
Pros: best management and working environment
Cons: unfortunantely, workload is declining.
Excellent place to work. People are friendly and managnement is top notch. Benefits are amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work life balance, interesting work
Senior Attorney, Asset Management Section (Former Employee), Irvine, CAAugust 15, 2012
The position provides many opportunities for travel and provides extensive training. Work is interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clerk Typist for 5 account account officers
Clerk Typist (Former Employee), Irvine, CAAugust 10, 2012
Pros: one hour lunches and free lunches with all staff meetings
Cons: 15 breaks, being able to leave the property on lunch time. close places to eat lunches
Normal 9 to 5 work day and sometimes overtime, the people there were pleasent. I learned quite a bit for the time I worked there and the management was very goof and pleasant to work for. The hardest part of my job, since I worked for 5 account officers was trying to read 5 differerent account hand writings in order to do the job but other then that – more... it was a very enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Examiner
Compliance Examiner (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 9, 2012
Pros: benefits, income. and experience
Conducted, supervised, and directed bank examinations, investigations and other activities relating to consumer protection, fair lending and civil rights laws and regulations. By determining an insured depository institutions' compliance with governing laws and regulations; ascertaining bank management's methods for identifying, measuring, monitoring – more... and controlling risk; reviewing and analyzing the quality of bank assets; evaluating the level and trend of earnings, the liquidity position, and sensitivity to market risk, and evaluating the board of director's policies and bank management's practices. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great entry level to executive career opportunities
Bank Examiner (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 17, 2012
Pros: travel, large organization, career advancement, effective training, stable
Cons: travel can be excessive
Best place ever worked. Entry level to commissioned examiner, to supervisory examiner, to executive positions. With a little hard work you can have a very successful career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goal-oriented workplace
Intern (Current Employee), Washington, DCJune 11, 2012
Pros: friendly, community-like atmosphere; stability; ability to learn and grow
Cons: inconsistancy with regards to the work tasks: periods of lulls in work activity, and then periods of intense work activity
A typical day at work consists of working with various managers and senior staff on projects such as events planning for conferences, both international and domestic; analyzing and reporting economic and financial systems data; and assisting with foreign visitors. My co-workers are very easy-going and we are able to work as a team. Management operates – more... with a kind but firm grasp. The hardest part of the job is to stay on top of global economic and financial issues. The most enjoyable part is working with international representatives on a one-on-one basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intelligent, dedicated collegues
SENIOR OMBUDSMAN SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJune 4, 2012
On bank closings I was the public face of the FDIC, guiding people through the closing process by interacting with and assisting the assuming institution, failed bank customer and employees, and the media. When not on bank closings, acted as an informal mediator to find solutions for bank customers and whistle blowers who had problems with a bank, and – more... with bankers who had issues with regulators. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work; diverse; productive; a learning experience
Legal Assistant (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 30, 2012
Pros: lasting friendships
A typical day was productive and sometimes challenging. The learning experience was invaluable and my co-workers were a diverse group which was an enhancement personally. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with such a diverse group of people as co-workers and those outside of the office setting.