Find companies:
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
58 reviews

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Clerk Typist/Timekeeper (Former Employee), Windsor, CTJuly 3, 2013
Pros: health center
I learned the many aspects of asset management. Supervisors and co-workers excellent to work with I give them a five stars.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Senior Regional Attorney (Current Employee), Dallas, TXJune 20, 2013
The only drawback is job security, but overall, it's a good place to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
FINANCIAL INSTITUTION EXAMINER (Former Employee), Austin, TXJune 19, 2013
Pros: amazing people
Cons: hard to get hired
Great work environment where your co-workers feel like family which is incredibly necessary given the 75% travel requirement. Compared to market you are paid slightly less than average, but the benefits are wonderful. Amazing on the job training program for new hires.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Government Job
Divisions of Resolutions and Receivership (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLMay 28, 2013
Temporary job started to resolve failed banks. Coworkers have been great to work with and very experienced. Hardest part of the job is dealing with govt politics. Most enjoyable part of the job is the traveling and great benefits associated with the traveling. Management is hit or miss but in my department they have all been great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and friendly work environment
Contractor/Inventory (Former Employee), Alrington, VAMay 8, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: high lunch prices
I loved the job. It was a nice location to work. The employees were friendly and everyone knew everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent agency to work in- difficult to get into
Resolution and Receivership Technician (Current Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 5, 2013
I was fortunate to observe the operations of a government oversight banking ageny. The hard work that goes into restoring faith and confidence in the nations financial system is very challenging, but rewarding as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Contractor/Sr. Credit Officer (Former Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 3, 2013
Pros: lots of dedicated people
Cons: lots of travel
Great Culture, great enviornment to learn finance and investments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and serious company
Part Time - H/S Technician (Former Employee), VAJanuary 3, 2013
A typical day started with backup of user data done by network engineers.Once user data is verified.The process of removing old hardware and installation of new units begins. I learn from few engineer's the process of Master Batch Files and the difference of Quality Assurance batch file. It didn't depend on who Group Team lead was.All of my co-workers – more... may the day go with ease,light mood, Get to talk with user and solving their problem was the best part of the day – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work for.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Washington, DCDecember 9, 2012
Pros: benefits
I have been there for 20 years so this tells you that this is a good place to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Senior Attorney (CG-14) (Current Employee), Dallas, TXNovember 27, 2012
No comment, as none is necessary. I worked in Closed Bank Legal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Rewarding work environment
Resolutions and Receiverships Technician (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILNovember 6, 2012
The great thing about working at the FDIC is that the work was interesting and challenging. My role as a resoution and receiverships technician allowed me to work in a variety of functional areas within the FDIC and working on closings of failed financial institutions. I also interacted with my fellow FDIC co-workers, representatives of financial institutions, – more... and the general public. The best thing about working at the FDIC is knowing that you are helping consumers by providing them with insurance of their deposit accounts and ensuring stability in the nation's financial system. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Job working for the Federal Government
Supervisor (Former Employee), Kansas City MissouriNovember 5, 2012
Pros: excellent benefits and job variety
Cons: traveling 30 weeks a year
FDIC was an excellent job.

My main duties were to oversee the closing of a State or Federal Bank. Then determine which Accounts Receiveable accounts would be transfered to the FDIC and which accounts would be place with the new purchasing bank

The hardest part of the job were the liong hours and travel involved in getting from one bank to another

The – more... best part of the job was the diversity of duties that had to be pefromed – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A constantly changing work environment
Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 3, 2012
Every day was something new and entertaining. I never knew what to expect going into work. I learned a lot about loan servicing and general operations in various banks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable with good benefits
Financial Institution Examiner (Risk Management) (Current Employee), Denver, COSeptember 21, 2012
Pros: good benefits, decent pay, and job security
Cons: overnight travel can get old and you are stuck waiting on promotions until you hit time in grade
A typical day at work generally invovles financial analysis and writing. An examiner's job is to convey the findings of a bank examination in well-written findings. The pace at the FDIC can be very slow and at times very fast depending on the assignment and what is going on at the time. Most of my co-workers are intelligent and good people to work with. – more... Overall, the hardest part of the job is sometimes dealing with subjectivity and the sheer boredom that can occur when there are no real assignments to accomplish. The most enjoyable part of the job is working in collaborative teams and having fun with co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Challenging place to work
Resolution and Receivership Specialist (Former Employee), Irvine, CASeptember 20, 2012
Excellent place to work, very professional, Great benefits. Management was outstanding. I worked with some very skillful and educated co-workers. The hardest part of the job was working up to 12 hours on the weekend when needed. The most enjoyable part of the job was traveling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the Best 10 Places to Work in the Federal Government
Investigative Specialist (Former Employee), IllinoisAugust 27, 2012
Pros: quality professionals
Cons: managerial changeover
One of the Best 10 places to work in the Federal Government. It is a top notch Corporation.
I would recommend this organization. It is however highly selective in whom they hire. Our mission is to stablize the banking industry through guanteeing accounts up to a certain limits, examining the financials of a bank to know whether or not it is solvent – more... and if it fails to find a buyer or take in over. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with important regulatory and deposit insurance missions and good benefits.
Senior Regional Attorney (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 26, 2012
My position with FDIC involves two of FDIC's most important missions: to supervise state chartered non-Federal Reserve member banks and to insure almost all of the bank deposits in the U.S. My typical day is spent in the office analyzing, documenting and prosecuting enforcement actions and analyzing and providing legal advice for a wide variety of bank – more... applications. I have become more proficient in administrative litigation eforcement proceedings and broadened my knowledge and expertise in federal banking law. My coworkers, for the most part, are smart, hard-working and dedicated to the FDIC mission. The most enjoyable parts of my job are the analytical, problem-solving, organizational and case preparation and prosecution required to bring a successful enforcement action. The hardest part of the job is navigating bureacratic and political issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with important regulatory and deposit insurance missions and good benefits.
Senior Regional Attorney (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 26, 2012
My position with FDIC involves two of FDIC's most important missions: to supervise state chartered non-Federal Reserve member banks and to insure almost all of the bank deposits in the U.S. My typical day is spent in the office analyzing, documenting and prosecuting enforcement actions and analyzing and providing legal advice for a wide variety of bank – more... applications. I have become more proficient in administrative litigation eforcement proceedings and broadened my knowledge and expertise in federal banking law. My coworkers, for the most part, are smart, hard-working and dedicated to the FDIC mission. The most enjoyable parts of my job are the analytical, problem-solving, organizational and case preparation and prosecution required to bring a successful enforcement action. The hardest part of the job is navigating bureacratic and political issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with important regulatory and deposit insurance missions and good benefits.
Senior Regional Attorney (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 26, 2012
My position with FDIC involves two of FDIC's most important missions: to supervise state chartered non-Federal Reserve member banks and to insure almost all of the bank deposits in the U.S. My typical day is spent in the office analyzing, documenting and prosecuting enforcement actions and analyzing and providing legal advice for a wide variety of bank – more... applications. I have become more proficient in administrative litigation eforcement proceedings and broadened my knowledge and expertise in federal banking law. My coworkers, for the most part, are smart, hard-working and dedicated to the FDIC mission. The most enjoyable parts of my job are the analytical, problem-solving, organizational and case preparation and prosecution required to bring a successful enforcement action. The hardest part of the job is navigating bureacratic and political issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet, clean, and a very proffesional workplace
Security Officer (Current Employee), Schaumburg, ILAugust 23, 2012
Pros: we as the security team are on our own, away from other departments.
Cons: no organization from higher management
This is deffinately a great job with great pay. With needed security 24/7 the hours are flexible and great if you are still in school. Everybody gets along great, I have never worked in such a friendly enviroment. This job deffinately tought me how to pay more attention to detail, how to read X-rays of the incoming mail, what to look for out on patrol, – more... how to handle a firearm (even though I have acquired that skill in the military already), and most importantly it tought me better customer service. – less