Federal Signal Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Support/Inside Sales (Former Employee) –  University Park, ILApril 9, 2016
The HR department was very pro employee. The company cares about the employees and their work environment. Large company that keeps employees active and busy
Pros
Great Benefit Package
Cons
Pay scale
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits and Great Coworkers
Implementation and Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Southern Pines, NCMarch 23, 2016
I worked remotely and absolutely enjoyed working for Federal Signal. During my time with them, I learned a lot about self accountability. I was responsible for taking care of my customer base as well as keeping my coworkers updated on my day-to-day issues. The toughest part of the job was keeping up with previous calls and emails when I was out of the office. I enjoyed my freedom to come and go as I pleased as long as I was available and able to assist any customer at any time throughout the work day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something new
SR. SHIPPING CHECKER (Former Employee) –  University Park, ILNovember 4, 2015
I was the floater, the go to guy that had special projects doled out. I never really knew what I was going to do each day, sometimes I'd be picking or packing, others I would have a multimillion dollar order to double check.

The hardest part of my job was the commute, living 50 miles away was a doozy!
Pros
Night shift had good companionship
Cons
20 minute lunch was my only break
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job. Was an intern for the summer.
Sound and Signal Tester/Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Blue Island, ILSeptember 28, 2015
A typical day at work was assembling and testing emergency sirens.

Since this was my first job I learned how to follow orders and get along with my co-workers. The hardest part of my job was at the beginning of the summer when I had a difficult time assembling products.

The most enjoyable part of the job was earning a paycheck. Being a teenager that was all I thought about.
Pros
Learning what a real job was like.
Cons
It was only an internship
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decently good place to work
Work Cell Assembler (Former Employee) –  University Park, ILJuly 29, 2015
the lights and sirens were easy to learn and build. the coworkers there were helpful and friendly. the breaks were of adequate time. the pay was good. overall it was a good place. competitors kept job security low.
Pros
great atmosphere and easy learning of job
Cons
potential for layoffs high
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work with competitive wages
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  University Park, ILMay 22, 2015
without a doubt it can be a fun place to work and is. the co workers seem to be like a family and want to know every thing about you but other than that i made a good wage for good work.
Pros
benefits
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Products, but offten reorganisation within the company make your job insecure
Systems Engineer (Current Employee) –  University Park, ILFebruary 8, 2015
Great Products you learn a lot. Often reorganizations within the company make you wonder how long you will be working there
Pros
great products
Cons
offten layoffs
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Federal Signal review
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CANovember 21, 2014
Small company. Unique business with toll roads. Company was sold to 3m.

Pretty much by myself. I was given an assignment and I completed Maintenance document for the off road operator by interviewing and asking a lot of questions. I also spent a lot of time on Google searching for equipment so I could document what the equipment did.

New nothing about the business but learned a lot through self teaching and researching.

I created a Safety Manual also.

Performed several QA test plans.

Created many excel spreadsheets for misc assignments.

Utilized Visio almost daily, creating workflows and business flows.

I enjoy writing so the daily tasks were satisfying.
Pros
small company and close to home
Cons
some of the people were unfriendly
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, industry leader, but difficult to manage constant territory change
Regional Manager - Environmental Services Group (Current Employee) –  DenverSeptember 10, 2014
Working from home in this position is great for a self motivated person, but difficult to integrate into the culture as a new hire.
Learned a lot about the hydrovac market and products as well as selling process.
Well thought out market attack plan that differentiated the products.
Peers are top notch sales professionals.
Hardest part of job is dealing with constant, major changes in territory and customer base. Four major changes in two years makes is difficult to build relationships in a sales position.
Most enjoyable part is all that is involved with working for an industry leader.
Pros
compensation
Cons
constant change
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment & Great workplace
Manufacturing Engineer/ Shipping/Packing (Former Employee) –  University Park, ILJuly 31, 2014
My most favorite job that I have worked I have to say. I am a "hands on" type of worker.
Pros
learned years worth of manufacturing experience
Cons
short term- "summer college work"
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervised eight maintenance techs for break downs
Maintenance Planner (Former Employee) –  University Park, ILFebruary 6, 2014
I was purchasing agent for the maintenance dept. and supervised all work orders for all repairs and conducted follow up investigations
Pros
enjoyed working with many different people.
Cons
was laid off due to out sourcing.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NO chance for advancement. Upper management makes the job undesireable.
Management (Former Employee) –  University Park, ILAugust 4, 2013
Set standards & monitor production.
Keep production records & post metrics.
Maintain inventory levels to keep production running.
Keep harmony among the employees in a union environment.
Hold monthly meetings with subordinates to discuss safety.
Hire & discipline employees as necessary.
Pros
co-workers & subordinates were usually easy to work with. decent pay & (for me) close to home.
Cons
non-air conditioned environment was uncomfortable most of the time. lousy, upper management set unobtainable goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PrimeCo was a progressive company with great visionary management.
Marketing Specialist (Former Employee) –  illinoisApril 28, 2012
PrimeCo no longer exists. However, my experience there was both educational and extremely enjoyable. The company was progressive and visionary.
Pros
great pay, benefits and people
Cons
the company no longer exists
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall friendly work environment
Manufacturing (Former Employee) –  University Park, ILMarch 5, 2012
Good place to learn about the business and manufacturing. Great people to work with.
Pros
relaxed work environment
Cons
low in the job growth department, none really.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.7
Culture
3.6