Federated Insurance Employee Reviews

Found 16 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was okay experience
Computer Operator (Former Employee) –  Shawnee, KSDecember 11, 2016
I was working there as a Computer operator; it was a small office.
I learned how to write reports with Crystal Reports; also I learned how to manage a database of customers.
Pros
lunches and flexibility of schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Upside, Low Downside
Marketing Representative (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MONovember 2, 2016
Can make pretty good money as a Marketing Rep, though you have to play the game that Federated wants you to play. Good entry level position into the insurance field, though watch out for people in this industry, very few are trustworthy.
Pros
Money
Cons
Micromanaged, Reports, Playing the life insurance game
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stuffy Work Environment with out of touch management
Insurance Alliances - Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Owatonna, MNNovember 1, 2016
Managers were completely disconnected from employees - felt like they were completely indifferent to you unless you made a mistake. Made me dread going to work - the only thing that kept me going were my immediate co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To work for a company that values customers and employees.
Team leader (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMarch 21, 2016
I am a hard worker and very willing to learn. I enjoy people and learning new things. Do my job daily to the best of my knowledge for a positive out come. Thank you for your time and consideration.
Cons
Health insurance, vacation time and flexiblity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Marketing Representative (Current Employee) –  Owatonna, MNSeptember 18, 2014
Lots of cold calling and cultivation. Great pay if goal oriented. Lots of emphasis on life insurance sales.
Pros
Make your own shedule, work out of house
Cons
Slow to adapt to changing insurance environment
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small office with close knit staff
Service Assistant and General Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNJune 9, 2014
Small local office for national insurance company. The reason I left was because the local office closed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot of work but well worth it
Marketing Representative (Former Employee) –  northern ohioMay 28, 2014
very solid career, great money as long as you follow the plan
Pros
great money
Cons
need a good manager
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Federated Insurance
Marketing Representative (Current Employee) –  York, PennsylvaniaApril 7, 2014
Federated Insurance is a tremendous organization. My desire to find a new opportunity is not based on any negative feelings towards Federated but I am interested in relocating to a more metropolitan area or back home to Philadelphia and the surrounding areas.

Federated expects consistent work ethic and in exchange offers flexibility and compensation.

I received incredible training from Federated at their expense.

Again, a tremendous organization that I am proud to say I worked for.
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
insurance.
DATA ENTRY SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Owatonna, MNAugust 7, 2013
busy, file, data entry logs. learned a lot of data processing.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Representative
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Owatonna, MNJune 18, 2013
Worked for a direct writer selling business insurance to 12 high premium types of businesses
Passed Delaware State Liscensure Exams
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunities
Commercial Health Underwriting Intern (Former Employee) –  Owatonna, MNMay 22, 2013
There are so many opportunities here to grow and strengthen your skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace company
Health Benefits Specialists (H.B.S) - Part-time (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 20, 2013
Audited claims, investigated health statements, did pre-existing investigations, answered questions, customer service, audited health benefit specialists that were assigned to me.
Pros
auditing
Cons
back-stabbing
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Insurance
Marketing Representative (Current Employee) –  scJanuary 9, 2013
If you don't sell $44k in Life a year, stick a fork in you because you will be done.
Pros
training and salary
Cons
pricing
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
office manager supporting all aspects of the security check points
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 8, 2012
review notes from the prior shifts.

learned how to grow up and be responsible. Rewarding working with peope all over the world.

good partnership for coworkers, but as time [oes on they move on to to other positions.

Hardest part is the shift work.
Pros
excellent oral and writted documents. work alone with out suprvision.
Cons
shift work, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keep looking
Underwriter (Former Employee) –  AtlantaMay 14, 2012
LOTS of favoritism, low salaries, not much value of education
Pros
10 am coffee break
Was this review helpful?Yes10No7Report

See more Federated Insurance reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Federated Insurance. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9