Feeding America Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 22 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok work
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIFebruary 26, 2016
working and a warehouse very cold and labeling boxes, frozen, cans , meats, snacks like chips, soda, etc it was very nice people there and warehouse work is great
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but productive slow paced
Operations & Compliance Manager (Current Employee) –  Riverside, CAJanuary 29, 2016
Oversee the daily warehouse operations, create training SOPs, power points, train, coach, team. Write Company policies.
Pros
Monday through Friday early hours, Work life family balance
Cons
Low rate of compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get What You Give
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJune 2, 2015
This was volunteer work so compensation/benefits and advancement did not factor in, though the task of working was not without satisfaction. The people you'll find will be there because they care about the cause of feeding the under-privileged and are a pleasure to have at your side.
Pros
Variety of work, air-conditioned break room, mannered employees
Cons
the occasional batch of rotten meat/spoiled fruits & vegetables
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very humbling & rewarding
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALMarch 23, 2015
Working for feeding America through my church was one of the greatest privileges I've had. it was very rewarding to put food and smiles on peoples faces.
Pros
daily smiles
Cons
seeing people at their lowest
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace based on ethnic values
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 5, 2015
Feeding America operates on the values below:
- Respect
- Stewardship and accountability
- Collaborations
- Urgency
- Service
- Integrity
- Diversity
Pros
supporting the ones in need
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Feeding Less Fortunate People
Volunteer worker (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WINovember 14, 2014
Serving the less fortunate meals &setting Up tables and chairs and cleaning back up.
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJune 13, 2014
Its a place where there very helpful and responsible people.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WareHouse
Packer and Sorter (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIApril 30, 2014
I sorted Through Foods, Checked the expiration Dates. I got rid of the bad foods and packed the good foods according to the type of food it was. I enjoyed working there it was pretty much very easy going. It Was also volunteer work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help out with battered women
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  milwaukee,WIMarch 21, 2014
Daystar is a shelter to battered women. I actually was volunteering there , I didn't ask for any pay. I was a housekeeper but I also took the time out to hear the women problems and tried to help as much as I can. That was a great experience.
Pros
gained experience
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping people help the needy while I gain some work experience.
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIDecember 20, 2013
I volunteer at Feeding America a typical day at the job would be for me to make some friendly conversation with the other workers to make time go by while we completed a task.I learned that it doesn't matter what my task is at hand i will get the job done.The hardest part of the job was when the big containers were getting low and either me or one of my coworkers would have to hope in to retrieve the remaining items from the containers.The most enjoyable part of my day was when it was break time,because I got a chance to meet all different kinds of people trying to help their communities.
Pros
work experience
Cons
dust and insects.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to volunteer with the usual easy going day,
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Land O' Lakes, FLDecember 18, 2013
A usual day consists of going in and getting right down to it, sorting food and making sure everything is perfect! This is a nice place to volunteer and possibly work if you don't have the energy for a high paced kind of work environment.
Pros
fun environment
Cons
not super clean.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work for.
Logistics Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 10, 2013
Data entry of product and other administrative duties. I learned how the food banks operate and how they help the people in need. Learned different computer programs. Management was great! Kept everyone updated on our progress and got compensated for it. My co-workers were great to work with still friends with most of them. Nothing hard about the job until we were laid off. The most enjoyable was learning new things everyday for moving up.
Pros
great company all around. management, activities.
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and calm work place. Things get done along with lots of laughter.
Data entry clerk (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIOctober 25, 2013
My typical day at work resolved around getting things done in a timely matter as well as sticking to what I had to do also taking on additional responsibilities when need be. I've learned to work fast and be precise about what I had to do because sometimes the time limit was short but I got it done. My co-workers were the best at keeping the mood up and alive. Never a dull moment with them. If have to say the hardest part was sitting all day. Other than that it was a breeze. The .most enjoyable part was coming in everyday knowing I had a nice work load and got right to it with no problem at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my life
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIOctober 3, 2013
my typical day at work was to come and do different thin gs and make sure i was always on time and
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
volunteer
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJuly 23, 2013
I was a volunteer there for a while. The people there was nice, great, and helpfull to all that walked in therer building. I've learned that giving to people is a good feeling n that every one in the Milwaukee area needs a little help at times. The hardest part about the job well there wasn't really nothing hard about it i loved it there even tho I was just a volunteer. I enjoyed every momment of working there for free because I knew I was doing somthing great for thoses wjo needed the most and didn't have much to give.
Pros
free food for thoese in need
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping people
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Kutztown, PADecember 13, 2012
Feeding America is a non-profit organization that donates food to families in need and to homeless people. Last year my fraternity
Brothers and I raised 287 pounds of can food to donate to Feeding America.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, MIJune 7, 2012
The job was very diverified.
It was a fun job.
The workers are good people.
Pros
ok pay
Cons
part time work
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern
Outreach & Marketing Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 7, 2012
I loved working at this organization. The staff is very warm and inviting and are passionate about the work that they do.
Pros
welcoming staff
Cons
can't think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission focused Non-Profit Hunger Relief Organization
Logistics (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 23, 2012
Feeding America is involved in the fight against hunger in the United States. Every job at FA supports this mission. This is a great organization to support. The people are dedicated to the mission and are all hard working.
Pros
great benefits, flexible work schedules.
Cons
funding is based on donations, which can be an issue.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Feeding America
Packager (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIMarch 16, 2012
This is a descent company to work for. I am participating through TANF(W-2) so it is currently volunteer work. I am comfortable with working at this company. I would like to be employed by the company though.
Pros
free snacks, clean eating environment, respectful employees
Cons
mice, inconvenient entrance into the building, no personal lock for items; 1 key for all lockers
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture