Find companies:
FEMA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
140 reviews

FEMA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was fun place to work, travel, met many interesting people
Disaster Assistance Employee (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 2, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: only work when there is a disaster
My day was mainly helping people in need a place to live or financial help in rebuilding . People I worked with were dedicated to helping disaster victims. The best part of this job was the look on someones face when they realized we could really help
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Logistics Specialist-Help Desk Specialist (Current Employee), Washington DCNovember 25, 2013
Pros: co-workers and managerment
Cons: temporary work
All walks of life co-workers from all around the world. Nice teamplayer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helped Disaster Victims
Hurricane Disaster Specialist (Former Employee), Worked while in Massachusetts for 6 monthsNovember 24, 2013
Pros: new experience in direct emergency situations
Cons: income not enough for long term expectations
Reviewed the ways FEMA and the Red Cross could help individuals in the affected parts of the country handling an emergency situation. In addition gathered individual information on each situation for government database utilization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exiting
Cadet (Former Employee), Deploy to disaster areaNovember 21, 2013
Pros: fema support to deploy employees.
Cons: many moths away from family
Been on call 24/7, under pressure, one on one contact with disaster survivors, providing the best customer services to people in need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience working on this project during a time of devastation in New York.
Crisis Counselor (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYNovember 14, 2013
Pros: free metro cards, compensation was good.
This was a field work position where I was required to adminster counseling services in different settings of people who were impacted by Hurricane Sandy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization
Logistical Support (Former Employee), Altadena, CAOctober 31, 2013
I love helping people, and working at FEMA, it have me to do what I like to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Data entry (Former Employee), PROctober 23, 2013
Was a temporary. I enjoyed to help people. It was very flexible one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Network Manager
Network Manager (Former Employee), Miami, FloridaOctober 20, 2013
Primary Responsibilities:
• Provide Technical Support on Issues with Connectivity
• Installation & Up gradation of Operating system.
• Handling all Network Printers, Laptops and Desktop related problems.
• Troubleshooting all Hardware and Network problems
• Support remote users over phone or by taking remote control of the system
• Establishing new – more... designing the networks
• Resolving Errors with Graphic User Interface
• Conducting inspection of problems of pre-treatment and rendering technical support to the departments.
• Providing immediate service support to the client systems for resolving their issues and complaints in compliance with the preset guidelines and rules.
• Ensuring high level quality of maintenance service for increasing the management Satisfaction Index.
• Well versed with server configurations like DNS, DHCP, Web Server, SAMBA, Proxy Server and File Sharing, also efficient in System & Network Administration tasks and Trouble Shooting.
• Strive to always promote high quality, results-driven, prompt, and professional customer service and support.
• Assist customers with hardware and software problems, troubleshooting and resolving a wide variety of performance problems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall review
SECURITY SPECIALIST (Current Employee), Winchester, VAOctober 16, 2013
Pros: benefits are good
Cons: not having a good feeling of support from management
My overall review of my section within FEMA is somewhat favorable however job security isn't very strong and neither is advancment potential.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding position working with Disaster Victims
Data Processing Specialist/Manager (Current Employee), Denton, TXOctober 9, 2013
Pros: seeing parts of the united states that i would not have the opportunity to do otherwise.
Cons: being away from my home for extended periods of time.
A typical day at work starts at between 7:00-7:30 a.m. and during start up will last for 12 hrs. 7 days a week. I have learned that you must have compassion and patience and love working with people of all types. My co-workers are from different parts of the United States and Virgin Islands and we all have the opportunity to make new friends. The hardest – more... part of the job is saying goodby and the most enjoyable part of the job is to see the smile and receive hugs from those I am able to help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time job
Property Inspector (Former Employee), All across the US.October 9, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: lot's of travel
great experience to work with FEMA and assist families across the country who were in need of assistance.

Would work for them again anytime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FEMA is a great place to work.
Help Line (Former Employee), Denton, TXOctober 7, 2013
Pros: pleasant atmosphere with professional people.
Cons: work is seasonal and temporary.
It is rewarding to help people who call needing help after disasters.
The hardest part of the job is that it is seasonal.
The most enjoyable part of the job is helping recover what they lost during floods, hurricanes or earthquakes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Job
Emmitsburg MD (Former Employee), Emmitsburg, MDOctober 2, 2013
Pros: great pay and lots of exposure
Cons: some survivors of previous disasters want to let you have it.
If you like helping people after a disaster, then FEMA is the place to work for. People see fliers after a disaster and try to register and some register improperly. To help survivors appeal decisions about eligibility and strive for them to receive the help they need. Whether through FEMA or another agency.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and fun place to work
Program Analyst (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LASeptember 25, 2013
Cons: great place to work good money
This job was one of the best, The federal Government is wonderful for training it employees to do multiply jobs and the pay is great. There is room for advancement and no one holds you back from being the best that you can be
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FEMA
Accountabilty Property Specialist (Current Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 23, 2013
Pros: great people
Cons: no overtime
a typical day at fema: very busy i come in and log on to the system, make sure all work is completed from yesterday, start making phone calls.

Costume Service.
Management: Equal Opportunity
Co-workers: Team Players
Hardest part of the job: Not being able to answer a question from the costumer
Enjoyable part of the day: Costume Service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean
Human Resources Assistant (Former Employee), Orlando, FLSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: being able to help
Cons: hearing the horror stories of katrina
The days were not easy due to the effects of Katrina, because of the clients stories. I learned that life is very valuable and we do not know what to expect day after day and to always appreciate what we have. and I learned that the government can put you on hold and still here your conversation caught a lot of cons. my co-workers were all hard working – more... individuals who cared. the hardest part was to here a mother who was planing on killing herself and her children, but the blessen thing was I was able to talk her out of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Investment of Career Time
Pre-Closing Housing Manager (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LASeptember 12, 2013
Great experience in disaster recovery and the knowledge on policy is impeccable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Telephone Representative/ Helpline (Former Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 12, 2013
Answer routine inquiries from victims of Hurricane Katrina, accurately record, process all information. Enter information into an administration system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Denton, TXSeptember 8, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
Loved working here, great job. People were frequently nice, very clean area to work in. Co-workers know how to be good team members to benefit the employer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Superstorm Sandy Relief Efforts...
IT Specialist - Local Hire (Former Employee), Woodbury, NYSeptember 2, 2013
Pros: everything.
Cons: it ended too soon.
One of the most positive work experiences of my life. Great people work at FEMA from top to bottom. I met hundreds of people from all over the country. Working in IT support for FEMA was the best job to have during the Sandy disaster recovery efforts. "They can talk about us but they can't talk without us." We had fun and worked our tails off...all – more... good. – less