Find companies:
FEMA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
116 reviews

FEMA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working envrerment
Applicant Service Program Specialist DR (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAAugust 9, 2013
Pros: they took care of their employees
Lots of support from supervisors.....lots of teamwork .....encouraged to advance myself with free online schooling
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is not your Daddy's workshop
National Disaster Reservist (Current Employee), Washington, DCAugust 6, 2013
Pros: long days
Cons: extremely limited acknowlegement by fema management of the value of reservist
A typical day with FEMA can be one of the most rewarding days filled with wonderous moments of meeting people who have lost everything they own and being able to help them start on their way to recovery. Co-workers all seek the same thing: helping the disaster survivor gain a pathway to recover what they lost.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this job. No complaints
Reports Specialist (Former Employee), Montgomery, ALJuly 25, 2013
Pros: love everything about it
Cons: wish there were more for me to do.
We as workers were treated as special individuals. I love to help those in need. I think that this is my passion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Activities
Task Force Leader (Former Employee), Mandan, North DakotaJuly 9, 2013
Pros: assisting in recovery efforts
Cons: benefits
Managing and delivering Public Assistance to disaster areas at a moments notice. Excellent work however, not guaranteed in longevity since we had an organiztional change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disaster Relief
Project Manager (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAJuly 8, 2013
Worked 80 hours per week.
Helped a lot of people.
Slept in fields and ate MRE's from military.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable interaction with customers
Temporary Contractor (Former Employee), Fort Pierce, FLJune 29, 2013
I enjoyed meeting new people every day, my co-worked were great guys but the economy caused a drop in sales for all of us.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Customer Service (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALJune 28, 2013
Pros: helping a lot of people
Cons: moved back home after hurrcaine katrina
Taking over a 100 calls a day taking people information and enter it into the computer so they could get help from the government
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent organization to worh for.
Contract Specialist (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJune 18, 2013
Pros: acquire extenxive work experience.
Cons: excessive travel
FEMA and Homeland Security one and the same. Great experience being to provide goods and services to so many that have been hurt so much i.e., providing food, shelter, health care and all that is needed to sustain American citizens at their lowest point.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping others around
Laborer/Operator (Former Employee), DeKalb, ALJune 15, 2013
Pros: big pay check
Cons: job ended too soon
Clearing all that the tornadoes that happened in April 2011 tore down in it's path. I learned how to run equipment and safety rules. My Co-workers were awesome!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Federal salary
Human Services Specialist (HSS) (Former Employee), Trujillo Alto, PRJune 13, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: no longer in pr
A wonderful work place a fully bilingual call center. As a HSS we can provide assistance to disaster affected persons. A fulfillment sensation to assist and provide solutions and award to people. In Hurricane season to work load is high and you can work more than twelve hours for 20 days consecutively. Awesome benefits great trainings and good possibilities – more... to achieve a career in the Home land security with great opportunities of professional growing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
Customer service (Former Employee), Winchester, VAJune 13, 2013
Pros: good time on breaks, people are nice
Cons: only a temp job
it was not a bad place to work at all, just answered calls an answered peoples questions with the victims from the storms. learned how take steps differently and help people. hardest part of the job was probably nothing because i learn quick. i love every step of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short term work
Disaster Inspector (Former Employee), Winchester, VAJune 13, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: no benefits and short term
This work was done as an Independent Contractor working through Parr Inspections. This is strictly seasonal work when a disaster occurs, work is available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Logistics Manager/ Procurement / COTR (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 6, 2013
Pros: co-workers
Cons: management
If you can get over the government involvement, this is one of the most rewarding jobs that you will ever find.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all i enjoyed working with this company
Debris Monitor (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNMay 16, 2013
Pros: peaceful being outside
Cons: paying for my own gas
I enjoyed working with this company. I learned to monitor the trucks picking up the debris from the tornado in April of 2011. The people I worked with were great and interesting. I enjoy meeting new people. There was no hard part to the job and I also learned a lot of new places to see. The management was great they knew what they were doing the whole – more... time. A typical day at work was following behind the trucks and watching them work on cleaning up the area. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well structured
Logistics Support Director (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOApril 25, 2013
DHS is very well structured to meet the demands of any emergency.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very political job with much time away from family
Stafford Act Employee - DAE (Former Employee), Denton, TXApril 23, 2013
Archaic management with military personnel which still think you have to ask high when they say.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Desktop Support (Former Employee), Washington, DCApril 23, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: na
Fema was a wonderful place to work. The management team provided multiple training sessions and advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Debris Specialist Supervisor (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLApril 2, 2013
Meet alot of good people from across the country. i also learned alot aboout a good work ethic
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government work
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAApril 1, 2013
Pros: helped a lot of people
Cons: temporary job
Great pay, safety oriented and caring. although it was a temporary position I learned a lot and was able to help a lot of people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a call center during a disataer.
Claims Agent (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAMarch 27, 2013
Pros: to be able to help.
Cons: being restricted to help.
Sad event working in the call center and taking calls from misplaced familys that are in need of assistance.
Compation !
Where helpful to the team but very tuff situation.
Were supportive.
taking calls with people distressed and in need and you can't do any more that listien to the experience that they have been through.
Being able to help someone in – more... need. – less