Find companies:
FEMA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
132 reviews

FEMA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable interaction with customers
Temporary Contractor (Former Employee), Fort Pierce, FLJune 29, 2013
I enjoyed meeting new people every day, my co-worked were great guys but the economy caused a drop in sales for all of us.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Customer Service (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALJune 28, 2013
Pros: helping a lot of people
Cons: moved back home after hurrcaine katrina
Taking over a 100 calls a day taking people information and enter it into the computer so they could get help from the government
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent organization to worh for.
Contract Specialist (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJune 18, 2013
Pros: acquire extenxive work experience.
Cons: excessive travel
FEMA and Homeland Security one and the same. Great experience being to provide goods and services to so many that have been hurt so much i.e., providing food, shelter, health care and all that is needed to sustain American citizens at their lowest point.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping others around
Laborer/Operator (Former Employee), DeKalb, ALJune 15, 2013
Pros: big pay check
Cons: job ended too soon
Clearing all that the tornadoes that happened in April 2011 tore down in it's path. I learned how to run equipment and safety rules. My Co-workers were awesome!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Federal salary
Human Services Specialist (HSS) (Former Employee), Trujillo Alto, PRJune 13, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: no longer in pr
A wonderful work place a fully bilingual call center. As a HSS we can provide assistance to disaster affected persons. A fulfillment sensation to assist and provide solutions and award to people. In Hurricane season to work load is high and you can work more than twelve hours for 20 days consecutively. Awesome benefits great trainings and good possibilities – more... to achieve a career in the Home land security with great opportunities of professional growing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
Customer service (Former Employee), Winchester, VAJune 13, 2013
Pros: good time on breaks, people are nice
Cons: only a temp job
it was not a bad place to work at all, just answered calls an answered peoples questions with the victims from the storms. learned how take steps differently and help people. hardest part of the job was probably nothing because i learn quick. i love every step of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short term work
Disaster Inspector (Former Employee), Winchester, VAJune 13, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: no benefits and short term
This work was done as an Independent Contractor working through Parr Inspections. This is strictly seasonal work when a disaster occurs, work is available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Logistics Manager/ Procurement / COTR (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 6, 2013
Pros: co-workers
Cons: management
If you can get over the government involvement, this is one of the most rewarding jobs that you will ever find.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all i enjoyed working with this company
Debris Monitor (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNMay 16, 2013
Pros: peaceful being outside
Cons: paying for my own gas
I enjoyed working with this company. I learned to monitor the trucks picking up the debris from the tornado in April of 2011. The people I worked with were great and interesting. I enjoy meeting new people. There was no hard part to the job and I also learned a lot of new places to see. The management was great they knew what they were doing the whole – more... time. A typical day at work was following behind the trucks and watching them work on cleaning up the area. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well structured
Logistics Support Director (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOApril 25, 2013
DHS is very well structured to meet the demands of any emergency.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very political job with much time away from family
Stafford Act Employee - DAE (Former Employee), Denton, TXApril 23, 2013
Archaic management with military personnel which still think you have to ask high when they say.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Desktop Support (Former Employee), Washington, DCApril 23, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: na
Fema was a wonderful place to work. The management team provided multiple training sessions and advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Debris Specialist Supervisor (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLApril 2, 2013
Meet alot of good people from across the country. i also learned alot aboout a good work ethic
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government work
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAApril 1, 2013
Pros: helped a lot of people
Cons: temporary job
Great pay, safety oriented and caring. although it was a temporary position I learned a lot and was able to help a lot of people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a call center during a disataer.
Claims Agent (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAMarch 27, 2013
Pros: to be able to help.
Cons: being restricted to help.
Sad event working in the call center and taking calls from misplaced familys that are in need of assistance.
Compation !
Where helpful to the team but very tuff situation.
Were supportive.
taking calls with people distressed and in need and you can't do any more that listien to the experience that they have been through.
Being able to help someone in – more... need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brief summary of Direct Response Representative
Direct Response Representative (Former Employee), Denton, TXMarch 20, 2013
As a Direct Response Representative, I conduct scripted telephone interviews with applicants according to established policies & procedures. I gather and compile information from a complex database in order to register applicants for disaster assistance. I determine applicant needs according to the Robert T. Stafford Act, and provide standardized referrals – more... to appropriate disaster programs, community resources, and/or other Federal, State and local agencies. I also provide in dept information and explanations of Housing Assistance, Other Needs Assistance, and other programs to applicants which allow processing for financial assistance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to help people in need
human services specialist (Former Employee), Hyattsville, MDMarch 4, 2013
Opportunity to help people that are in dire financial and survival needs. Co-workers also were there to help the disaster victims and fellow co-workers. The most difficult part of the job was adapting to the change in shift hours. Received very positive feedback brom supervisors and disaster victims.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 4, 2013
The company provided a great experience in handling high call volumne.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides me to learn new skills everytime I am deployed to work.
Applicant Service Project Specialist (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: the pay is good.
Cons: time away from home and family.
Everyday is a new day and can bring new skills to learn and the opportunity to grow as an employee.

Management handles the office as directed by Washington.

This job as allowed me to meet many different people from all walks of life.

The hardest part of the job is being away from home for months on end.

The most enjoyable part of this job is traveling – more... to other parts of the country that I have never been. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working with my own little crew
Worker (Former Employee), Kidder, MOFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: worked on our own time.
Cons: no benefits
I ran a crew for the massive ice storm we had. we cleaned up the town of kidder Mo, From fallin trees branches...debris.. hardest part of the job would of been trying to not slip with chainsaws in the hands. Funnest part was working with friends and getting things done.