Find companies:
FEMA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
116 reviews

FEMA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good employer
Logistics Specialist (Former Employee), Neptune, NJOctober 16, 2012
I enjoyed my experience with FEMA. As a Logistics Specialist I supported field offices and the main office providing service to victims of the storm Irene. There were mandatory courses to learn the processes FEMA employs and also time to learn new skills.

The FEMA management and co-workers made the experience enjoyable and encouraged learning and independence – more... in achieving a successful end result.

In managing documents there were issues of privacy and proper, accurate documentation; I was responsible for receiving forwarding paperwork and the retention and destruction of documents. The most difficult part of the job was continuing change. As different functions of mitigation were completed functions and staff changed. That's were the learning and independence came in to play. Documents arrived and were retrieved as needed, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Pace Job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Chiacgo,ILOctober 12, 2012
It was a easy paced call center job. Taking inbound calls, Making outbound calls. Data Entry so there really wasn't any stress to the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very intellegent work force
PROJECT SPECIALIST (Former Employee), NY Cap districtSeptember 25, 2012
Pros: pay
Cons: travel
great work too bad it is dependent on others miserys
60 - 72 hour weeks
meeting lots of people though out NY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close to home and great working schedule
Translator and Guide (Former Employee), Pago Pago, ASSeptember 21, 2012
Pros: get to visit every places on island
Cons: contract was too short...
I learned how to deal with people with all kinds of attitudes, And how important to help out others...Love to fill out paper works and assist my own people with any needs they had...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering with FEMA has been awesome.
Volunteer, Emergency Services Coordinator (Former Employee), Tacoma, WA.August 30, 2012
Pros: learning about others.
Cons: can consume you if you are not prepared to deal with other peoples circumstances.
Lots to learn regarding disaster response and relief efforts from behind the scenes. Lots of classes to take and lots of work to do, always.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and rewarding place to work
Applicant Services Representative (Former Employee), Baton Rouge LA 70802August 28, 2012
Pros: to learn and do all you can for your fellow man in any type of disaster situation.
Cons: stress levels have run high.
Not much to add other than.....

You work with all types of people from all around the world. This is the a great job to assist applicants and work with a great bunch of people.

It is stressfull, but in the long run very rewarding.

I have had 5 different positions since October 2005. I have worked with many people. I have worked directly with the – more... Applicants. It is a job of give and take.

I have enjoyed and have grown with each and every position that I have had with FEMA. I enjoy helping people and this position gives me this satisfaction of helping all in need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Fema Security Manager (Current Employee), Washington, DCAugust 19, 2012
Pros: get to travel all over the country.
Cons: away from home a lot.
I have learn overall management skill and training. I have worked for Fema for the last seven years and really enjoy the work get to meet a lot of interesting people and get to help people as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Travel benefits and helping otherd
INSPECTION SERVICES COORDINATOR, (Former Employee), Hyattsville, MDAugust 16, 2012
Pros: good insurance benefites and if you enjoy traveling it a plus
Cons: being away from home long periods at a time.
My experience with FEMA was outstanding. I was able to help with disaster releaf inspections and process those inspections when in the office.
A great job helping in disaster areas and meeting people that have been devistated by Mother Nature.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel Job, Reservist
GIS Specialist (Current Employee), Across the MidwestAugust 15, 2012
Pros: traveling
Cons: long hours
Helping disaster victims is fulfilling most people are easy to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the work I did but mangment was no good
Inventory specialist counting and taking documents (Former Employee), Fort worth,txAugust 13, 2012
Mgm was no good was laid off once work ran out,they talk to any kind kind of way was trated fairly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Example: Productive and fun workplace with ping pong table
Emergency Management Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Example: New York, NYAugust 6, 2012
Pros: work at home program
Cons: short break, week management, no team players.
Working in this company is not something that i am looking for. Needs a lot of work in Management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed helping the hurricane victims
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALAugust 2, 2012
Pros: i got the chance to help the hurricane victims.
Cons: the position was only temporary
It was very touching to work for FEMA and help the hurricane victims. Their stories were tear jerking. I enjoyed the work I did and the time I spent here. The compensation was excellent!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and fun place to work
Information Management Reports Analyst (Former Employee), Albany, NYJuly 30, 2012
With this job you have to be very flexibe, willing to learn and adapt to change easily. Our main focus are our clients and to be able to forth superior customer satisfaction. I have learned so much on this job, from working out in the field with applicants to working cases inside. The most enjoyable part of this job is knowing that I have helped at – more... least one individual to move forward in their life. The hardest part of this job is that it's only an internittent job, so detaching yourself from your co-workers and newly found friends can be difficult. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent pay low hours hard work
FEMA flood cleanup project (Current Employee), Gallipolis, OHJuly 30, 2012
Pros: decent pay, long breaks as needed
Cons: temporary, low hours a week
I clear brush and cut trees down into fire wood to clean up the creek banks/creek

I have learned how to properly use a chainsaw

work with decent personalitied co workers

cutting trees clearing brush

break time some of the people I work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best Job That I Ever Had
Pre Placement Interviewer (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJuly 18, 2012
Pros: you pay your bills bilind
Cons: you worked 7 days a week for 12 hrs, no time off.
I loved working for FEMA helping the disaster victims in America. The hours was very long, but the pay was very good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a pleasant place to work.
Disaster Survivor Services (Former Employee), Winchester, VAJuly 15, 2012
FEMA was not what I thought it would be. The FEMA employees were not very friendly and did not want "TEMPS" invading their space. I found it very intimidating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Homeland Security
Acting County Liaison Lead GS/ (Former Employee), Biloxi, MSJuly 12, 2012
The job as a whole is very productive and enjoyable .
Everything there is to know about disasters
Management was always there to assist
We always had team work
Was the devistation in the peoples faces when we had a one on one with them.
The enjoyable part was the ending results after we assisted them..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people I worked with were great
Information Technology Specialist (Former Employee), Baton Rouge LAJuly 3, 2012
I worked during Hurricane katrina recovery so thing were very unorganized; but we were able to work through any problems that came up everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Attention to detail was of high importance.
Map Specialist (LOMA Analyst) (Former Employee), MarylandJuly 2, 2012
Pros: helping customers
Cons: short assignment
A typical day at work was answering all flood calls and mapping the location. What I have learned was patience in identifying the floodplain areas in which they are outlined in details. My managers were great in teaching me on how to evaluate and come about with solutions with the mapping of various areas. My co-workers were just amazing we worked great – more... together and gave each other advice on flood mapping. The hardest part of the job was meeting the daily quota of mapping the flood zone, but the quotas were met daily. The most enjoyable part of the job was satisfying the customers and giving encouragement about their property. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Job Duties- Forklift driver for warehouse (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJune 29, 2012
Pros: great work environment
Cons: temporary job
I liked this job but it was temporary- I enjoyed the work environment- good management- but no room for advancement and no health insurance due to it being a temp job