Find companies:
Ferrellgas
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
52 reviews

Ferrellgas Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours in the fun house
Material Handler (Former Employee), RIFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: some down time here and there
Cons: co workers dont work as hard or dont seem to care.
long hours working breaking your back. you earn your pay. Don't pick up your co-workers slack they wont pick yours up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productice Workplace
Logistics Supervisor (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: long hours
I am a former Logistics Manger for the Southeast United States. responsibilities included but not limited to controlling DOT hours, Managing Drivers, Safety Manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is a joke company they dont care about anyone
Driver (Former Employee), Atlanta, ILJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: you work outside
Cons: they work you over 40 hours a week but wont pay you for it
this company is a joke they treat you like junk and then throw you away. The job is great and I loved doing the work just not for ferrellgas. The reason I was let go is because the os didn't like me so he lied to the upper management and I got let go because I used my key loop wrong (which I didn't ) & he would have known that if he would have done – more... his job correct. They also expect you to work 40+ hours per week but don't pay you for it they say they will and then they don't if you tuen it in on your time card they erase it and pay you for 40 basically this company is a joke like I said – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negaunee is a terrible place to work.
Customer (Former Employee), Negaunee, MiJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: home everyday
Cons: no breaks, poor employer-employee relationship
Definitely no job security. If you want to work for a place that treats you like a dog then this would be the place to work. Management is there for 1 reason, for their own satisfaction. They need a complete turnover of management. One that treats their employees fairly and with respect. Enough said.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor company to work for
Service Technician (Current Employee), Bay City, TXDecember 30, 2013
Pros: fair benefits
Cons: poor equipment, high prices, no set lunch time if any, poor management, must schedule all of your vacation for the year in january
Every day is very stress full. Orders are not correct ,charge customers to much for there product. Management is very poor and under trained. NO or very small raises. No set lunch time if you get to take a lunch. They do not promote form with in the company . They think you should be available for them 24/7/365 days a year .The guys I work with are – more... great . The hardest part of the job is not knowing any thing they think they are the CIA. The most enjoyable part of the job is you meet a lot of good people – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ferrellgas was a great employer for many years. However, the past year,upper management changed philosophies and did not support employees fully.
Propane Bulk Truck Driver (Former Employee), Liberty, MODecember 20, 2013
Pros: had a great direct manager (duke rankin), but he was also very limited in what he could accomplish due to upper management as well.
Cons: upper management past year.
Ferrellgas for many years was supportive and pro-employee and customers. The philosophy was to put the customers first, and the working climate was great. Typically we would begin with our routes being sent, and we could use our experience and knowledge of our areas to run our route. This changed this past year. Bay City management sent routes that – more... were inefficient and back tracking to run and and we were tasked with following them exactly or get scored poorly. Many of us became "seasonal employees" who would be worked only during "busy" months, and benefits were dropped to seasonals.

My co-workers and direct managers were wonderful, and we all worked as a team, attempting to assist one another whenever possible.

Hardest part of the job was winter elements and finding new customers (this past year) without directions/proper addresses.

Ferrellgas upper management would not support drivers in the field (Bay City office). If you had a question and would call them for assistance in respect to performing your daily route, their usual answer was "they didn't have time to help you. Figure it out yourself".

Examples:
Would drive to work location only to be told they "forgot" to send me to the correct location 45 miles away.
No driving directions to new customers. They would only use "Google Earth", which was many times was highly inaccurate.
Unable to purchase necessary equipment (headlights, batteries, etc.)
unless paid out of pocket, and then would not be reimbursed.
Received new mobile devices with only a few hours training and told to "figure out how to use them ourselves", as management told us they didn't know how to use them either. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not somewhere for the long term
Delivery Driver and Sales (Current Employee), USANovember 16, 2013
Pros: lots of hours in the winter
Cons: managers, pay, on call no pay, new company strategies every few years
This company has lots of potential, but ruins year after year with new, and "better" strategies. Management plays favorites a lot, and do not listen to employees. They have you compete with other districts and if your district wins you never get the supposed company dinner for winning. You have to get the sales guy leads for him to make HIS commision, – more... and you get nothing for it. No raises for over three years, and then very small ones. You are on call on a rotational basis, an do not get paid unless you have to go on a call, but you have to carry a phone and not able to leave town. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good ole boy regime running the show. Upset the wrong person at corporate and your career is over with.
Garbage collector (Former Employee), Liberty, MissouriOctober 31, 2013
Pros: great hours and decent salary ranges
Cons: weather driven and no job security
Great place to work for a new person out of school or semi retired. Not for the person middle of the road in his career path. Very poor internal controls on cash.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Lead Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Augusta, GAOctober 4, 2013
Pros: not micromanaged, people
Cons: sometimes the customers could get really nasty
The management where I was was incredibly helpful and gave me tons of freedom to get the work done as I saw fit and not micromanaged. The people that I worked with were top notch and It was definitely a hard decision to leave there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always happy being busy
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Janesville, WIOctober 2, 2013
Pros: great company with great bennifits
Very energetic days, Managemet always teaching co-workers about the business and sendng us to work related classes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A dangerous working enviorment
Truck Driver, Cylinder Delivery (Former Employee), fontanaSeptember 30, 2013
A typical day you will be working with unsafe equipment,driving a older badly maintained unsafe truck,trying to get dispatch to route you which could take hrs. Management will not help you with any problems you will have.This job was by far the worst place i have ever worked and i would not recommend anyone to work there. This job is extremely dangerous – more... and poorly managed – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked with good guys
Transport Driver (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: the best equipment
Cons: long hours in the winter, stressful haulin flammables
safely hauled propane with tractor trailer to 60-70 locations in 3 states,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job with good benefits
Delivery Truck Driver (Former Employee), Olive Branch, MSSeptember 9, 2013
i enjoyed my day to day job at ferrellgas'i liked my job very much
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No raises have been given out for years
Admin (Former Employee), Liberty, MOAugust 28, 2013
Heard this was a good company to work for, then got a job and found unorganized, bad management and no raises in years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad place to work
Route Driver (Current Employee), Santa Ana, CAAugust 16, 2013
Pros: can't think of any
Cons: poor equipment, very bad management, bad facilities, frustrated customers
Would be a great job if there was any leadership. Terrible work environement, zero respect for employees. Lots of backstabbing. They are always hiring because of high turnover rate. Older drivers skip stops or short deliveries then newer guys get those stops added to their route.If you are a solid worker who wants to be treated right this is not the – more... place for you. You will be sorry like I am. That's why I am on this site looking for a new job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ferrellgas is a quality employer
Director of Accounting (Former Employee), Liberty, MOAugust 15, 2013
I managed 3 departments totaling 33 employees. The Financial Analysis and Budgeting department developed budgets and internal operating reports for 700 retail locations. The Fixed Asset Department managed over 1 million assets throughout the country. The Accounts Payable Department processed over 1000 invoices a day including a corporate purchase card – more... program for all employees thoughout the country.

I handled requests from upper management for data analysis and special projects.

The best part of this position was that I worked on a wide variety of assignments and got a broad exposure to every aspect of accounting and operations.

I feel confident I can help in any role for any size company in the Kansas city area. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressfull
Bulk Delivery Driver/ Propane service tech (Current Employee), Johnstown, NYAugust 1, 2013
Pros: great local managers
Cons: you never now what each day will bring or where you are going.
good people to work with in are division.Pretty much on your own,just get your job done and go home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working company involving one product, very tight margins, with many hands in the pot.
Dispatcher-Customer Service Specialist-Driver (Former Employee), Grand Prairie, TXJuly 31, 2013
Pros: benefits, pay level, family environment, good core values.
Cons: constantly changing management approach, job security, lack of performance reviews yeilds more 'reward favorites'.
A very challenging industry with many different variables to over come constantly each day. A great group of dedicated, hard working co workers getting the job done. Constantly changing management structure to try and find 'Better way' which lessens moral and productivity. It is very enjoyable accomplishing each day and satisfying each and every customer, – more... some days being very long accomplishing that mission. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NO SALES MANAGEMENT....RAN BY OPERATIONS/BEAN COUNTERS
SALES (Current Employee), USAJuly 22, 2013
Pros: what small sales team is there is all good
Cons: getting ready to loose a lot of customers by deliveries being screwed up with "new direction"
HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT STRUCTURE. THEY DO EVERYTHING THEY CAN TO NOT PAY COMMISSION. OPERATIONS HAS BEEN PUT ON CHARGE OF SALES AND IT IS NOT GOOD
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented challenging Employer.
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJuly 13, 2013
Pros: high state of professionalism.
Provides the latitude to multi-task across a wide area of geographical locations.
Provide training and lead thirty direct reports in the day to day delivery of propane both residential , Industrial and retail.

1 2 3

About Ferrellgas

You don't have to travel far to see a Blue Rhino -- the cerulean rhinoceros with a flaming snout is displayed across all 50 states – Read more