FINRA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Studio overview
Live Streaming Eng (Current Employee) –  Washington County, DCOctober 14, 2017
too many projects not enough support. get to acquire equipment but need personnel to train and operate. Corp env not commercial
not very creative. too many politics.
Pros
none
Cons
losing money & people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, try to have a balanced work life for employee
LAN Administrator II (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PASeptember 20, 2017
There is not a lot of opportunity for advancement. Decent place to work. Most managers are great but as with any job there are those that are not. Can sometimes be a stressful place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved it
Legal Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 25, 2017
It was awesome experience working at FINRA. My colleges and manages were amazing people which made work environment even better and more relaxed. everyone are very helpful and friendly. for the time I ha been there, I considered them as my family. I wish I didn't have to leave NYC otherwise I would never stopped working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative experience but lacking for high achievers
Principal Regulatory Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 8, 2017
Offers direct and detailed knowledge of broker dealer operations and applicable regulations. Most meetings can be characterized as unnecessary. Upper Mgmt has no desire to vacate seats creating serious lack of career advancement opportunities.
Pros
Flex work life balance
Cons
Promotion opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Trading Analyst, Market Regulations Group (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 31, 2017
good hours. Nice people. Room for growth, but power and politics plays a role in advancement. Not generally open to new ideas, change, or doing a more effective job in the market. Happy to do business as usual.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for college grads
SENIOR COMPLIANCE EXAMINER (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJuly 24, 2017
Overall good industry experience but the culture lacked diversity. There is not much room for career advancement as managers there have been in the position for over 10 years and do not leave.
Pros
Job Security
Cons
No room for adancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place
Senior Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDJuly 11, 2017
OK place. Depends on which group you are in.

Some groups are more laid back, and have less politics than others.

Pay is OK. Base salary is low, but has good bonus and 401K matching.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work at
Senior Multimedia Designer (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDJune 1, 2017
Not every company offers a full cafe that imports food from all over the world. I loved being able to stay at work and get the energy I needed. The facilities were also very relaxing. Not high anxiety workplace.
Pros
Amazing Cafe, Friendly coworkers in and outside of departments, fair compensation
Cons
low retention rate due to contractors being high demand instead of full timers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Senior Technical Program Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 10, 2017
Great! Enjoyed my stay at FINRA. Learnt alot and progressed as well. Would like to to recommend it to anyone interested in shaping his/her career. One of the best companies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Successor agency to NASD
Member Securities Broker-Dealer (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAMay 1, 2017
FINRA is the successor entity to the National Association of Securities Dealers (NASD). Regional offices provide staff, regulatory and operating support to member firms in addition to national offices.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company if you can get hired.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 21, 2017
In some departments it can be hard to get hired. If you like being a contractor with limited benefits or no, it's not a bad place to be. There is some great leadership within the company, people who are really trying to get things done.
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
Limited employee support
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Meeting Planner III (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 4, 2017
Finra prides itself on work life balance. They are very flexible and always ask for feedback as to how they are doing from employees. They are overall a good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment
Devops Engineer (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDMarch 10, 2017
Cannot write a fear review since I only worked there for a time
Staff are very friendly and helpful. You will face new challenges often which will keep your mind refreshed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adequate resources to do your job.
Option Regulation Analyst/Consultant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 24, 2017
The day begins with a numbered of look back reviews that are assigned to you for you to investigate to see if they false positives or if it is nefarious behavior by a broker, firm or individual on staff. I learned a lot about organization and investigation. Management was very helpful with mentorship and advice. It was a very comfortable workplace culture to work in. Sometimes the worst part of the job is getting everything done in a timely fashion. The most enjoyable part of the job is the people who always willing to help you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very organized company.
Receptionist - Temporary (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDFebruary 23, 2017
Cannot write a fear review since I only worked there for a few weeks but from I saw they look after their staff and security is the utmost importance because of the nature of their business.
Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Pros
Caring and very high security safety.
Cons
Not easily promoted
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A little shaky lately
LAN Administrator (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 21, 2017
When I first start FINRA back in 2007 right when they just became FINRA from NASD the working culture was better. As time progressed and the leadership changed, FINRA hasn't been able to retain talent. Upper management isn't in tune with what is done on the local level. I'm uncertain of FINRA's future.
Pros
Good work/life balance. Fairly competitive salary
Cons
Opportunities for advancement increasingly shrinking. Cliquish. Benefits aren't as great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Will do later
Senior Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDJanuary 27, 2017
Need to provide. I will get to this in the near future. Thanks for your patience. I'm not able to do that at this point in time. I am just trying to establish and account for the moment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be at
Technology Intern (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDJanuary 20, 2017
Usually 9-5 job, but managers are flexible, as long as you get in 8 hours each day you are fine. There are also a wide variety of departments and teams to be a part of. The workplace I was in was open space, allowing for people to communicate and discuss projects freely.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to grow your career
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDJanuary 4, 2017
The tech they are using is sooo out of date.
The management there is too political to focus on work itself.
I do not recommend if you have better choice.
Pros
Known company in financial industry
Cons
Not help in your career path
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really loved my boss, and his boss
Market Management (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 10, 2016
Lots and lots of work (good), and you are allowed to schedule your own day. Good balance of phone calls and emails. A few IMs.
Pros
Work load, lots of variety of cases, wonderful co-workers.
Cons
Upper management meetings with no agenda, upper management not valuing any variance of opinion, really still in a 1990's finance industry mode.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at FINRA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 60 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5