Firebirds Wood Fired Grill Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best run organization
Line Cook/Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCDecember 3, 2017
Over the 14 years working in the culinary business, Firebirds has shown itself to have the best culture and management team as a whole. I really have enjoyed my year tenure so far with them and the advancement opportunities are endless. Great place to work
Pros
management, teamwork hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Peoria, AZDecember 1, 2017
Fun fast-paced environment. The employees are always nice and helpful. Management and shift leaders are always pushing you to work faster and harder in a positive way
Pros
Good people to work with
Cons
Not enough hours to go around and no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Dishwasher/Food Prep (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNNovember 29, 2017
Safe and clean environment great teamwork... Fun place to work at and wonderful people to work with... Decent pay and great Managers and Supervisors... I recommend anyone to go work with Firebirds Woodfired Grill
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promised a lot but ended up not so much
Server (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLNovember 27, 2017
Management demoted for not smiling, brand new restaurant. Demoted/fired for one customer not greeted fast enough. Staff is a little under trained and not experienced enough but management was not helpful in that. No discounts unless you are working that day m-f. Lots of servers on the floor at once and small sections.
Pros
Good food, nice place, friendly staff
Cons
No discounts, little shifts, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Server/Bartender (Current Employee) –  Collierville, TNNovember 25, 2017
gives you all the tools you need as long as you use them a bit over staffed and still undergoing lots of renovations to the managerial staff but have brought on some good people to work out the kinks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management sucks
Lead Hostess (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, VANovember 20, 2017
The managers are rude don’t take care about their employees and corp sucks as well only caring about money. And there’s no way to grow in the company.
Cons
No job security, no growth, favoritism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  St. Charles, MONovember 15, 2017
I really enjoyed working for Firebirds. It was a fast paced, but fair and friendly work environment. I was always treated with respect and felt as though my contributions were valued by my management staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Firebirds was a joke
Server (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VANovember 12, 2017
Firebirds was the second restaurant I had worked for and honestly I regret every moment sent there, the hours, although flexible, where no more than 5 hr shifts. The money was terrible, you would only get 3 table sections. The GM was the most stressful part of the job. He could not handle to pressure of working in a fast paced environment. If you worked a double, or even if you didn't, you did not receive any type of discount on your meal, yet outside food was prohibited. My specific store I was not allowed to clock in until I received my first table, but I was expected to work while not getting paid.
Pros
none
Cons
no meal discounts, 3 table sections, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working here
Server (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NENovember 8, 2017
I was a server at a 5 star restaurant. I came into an set up for the lunch shift or dinner shift. I learned that a dish should always look nice before you bring it out to a guest. I love to have fun in the work. I also like to joke around with guest too. The hardest part of my job was when it got really busy.
Pros
Half off meals
Cons
That there was no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
opening bartender with major responsibilities
Lead Bartender (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCNovember 1, 2017
I would open the bar and work through four O'clock with having to maintain fresh quality ingredients.
Fun relaxed environment while maintaining a level of professionalism that they called for.
The employees and management were some of the best I've experienced for that style of service
Pros
Discounted lunches
Cons
strict rules and requirements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upscale restaurant
Bar Manager (Former Employee) –  Overland Park, KSOctober 27, 2017
Firebirds is a casual/upscale restaurant the makes its food from scratch and use quality products, the service is second to none, It has a comfortable atmosphere to dine in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an okay place to work, temporarily.
Guest Assistant (Busser) (Current Employee) –  Chandler, AZ 85226October 23, 2017
I, personally, don't really enjoy working at Firebirds because the managers are tough on you, sometimes. If they hire new people, your hours get cut down a lot. I was working 4 or 5 days a week and now I only work 1 day, 2 days if I'm lucky. Overall, though, the money is pretty good and the staff is really fun and easy to get along with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Front of House Manager (Current Employee) –  Morrisville, NCOctober 18, 2017
Not a bad place, but management can be very dramatic towards one another. Work is easy, good clientele. A lot of money to be made during the holidays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of caring
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Leesburg, VAOctober 16, 2017
Nobody ever too the time out of their day to listen to time off requests; since nobody cared. Silly corporate statutes such as no drinking water on the line and silly things like that. Worst management I've ever seen in a restaurant
Pros
None
Cons
All
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crew was amazing
Server, Bartender, Sales (Former Employee) –  Alpharetta, GAOctober 12, 2017
Met a lot of great people in there, from FOH to BOH! Unfortunately management seemed a little backwards.,....,........................................
Pros
Fun staff
Cons
Not much money or room to move up
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZOctober 10, 2017
Restaurant was fast paced and all of the managers and staff were always positive and enthusiastic. Typical work day included reviewing the reservations and cleaning the front desk, bathroom, and greeting and seating customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Server (Former Employee) –  Mason, OHOctober 4, 2017
At Firebirds, I was taught the menu and learned fast. Coworkers were very helpful and management gave incentives for overachieving. I would definitely work here again.
Pros
Tips
Cons
Finding someone to cover a shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work pace
Server/Bartender (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, VASeptember 13, 2017
Awesome place to work, if you are quick on your feet, you have to have the ability to talk to people so your job and the money you make will always always depend on you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Server (Former Employee) –  Alpharetta, GASeptember 10, 2017
Rude and obnoxious managers. Schedules were never consistent, drama,trash talking and stressful.
Horrible turnover rate due to management. Staff trained by Uncertified trainers
Pros
Employee meal discount, money
Cons
Horrible management, inconsistent, stressful and too demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and productive
WAITRESS / SERVER (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, VASeptember 7, 2017
i just love the people i work with and the guest the come to enjoy our food. Management could use some help but i have learned a lot about the pro and cons to this restaurant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Firebirds Wood Fired Grill. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 87 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6