Firehouse Subs Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I ahted my job
MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Palm Coast, FLJanuary 6, 2018
I worked at firehouse subs for almost a year, they had poor management, the owner of the franchize only cared if he was losing money, I was just an all-around bad experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad, but can make better money elsewhere
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Deer Park, TXJanuary 5, 2018
This was my very first job when I was 17, so not much to say here. At first I was working 4-5 days a week, and then for some reason I was switched to just Saturday and Sunday. Also found out I was being paid less than a new kid who had worked there for 2 weeks even though I had worked there since opening day. So I quit and got a job as a server, made over than double the money working less time.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Can get overwhelming when busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing people
Shift leader (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, COJanuary 4, 2018
LOVE this place just needed to up the pay the work day is busy you must stay on your toes and be doing something at all times Management is awesome some of the pest people you will ever meet
Pros
communtity
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Oakridge, TNJanuary 4, 2018
The manager is down to earth but she also does her job. She gets her job done, and she also tells you if you are doing something wrong and she will work with your hours.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  LaGrange, GAJanuary 3, 2018
I hated working at firehouse subs, The management wasn't good at all didn't know how to run the store an also lied a lot.The owner wouldn't even listen to the people who was trying to tell the truth.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everthing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hated this job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJanuary 3, 2018
Pay was horrible especially for the tasks at hand. very high turnover of employees meant that employees did not have enough time to be properly trained so one has to constantly pick up someone else's slack
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difference of Opinion
Cashier/ShiftLeader/General Manager (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCJanuary 2, 2018
Great place to work if it is ran well
Proper Management and a Good Franchisee

Laid Back fun to work

Long hours and paid poorly

Not a lot of opportunity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work place with good food
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  St. Charles, MOJanuary 1, 2018
I learned how to work with all different kids of people. I also learned how to run a shift or manage a shift. I really enjoyed making sandwiches. The hardest part of this job was learning how to work fast under pressure.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot of laughs
Crew member (Former Employee) –  Denver, CO 80222January 1, 2018
working at firehouse subs was good just stressful at times, i enjoyed working there for the most part, they are clean and respectful of the customers. the management was amazing to me and everyone that walked in the work place. need to work on communication with others that work with them.
Pros
being treated well
Cons
not communicating with me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Owings Mills, MDJanuary 1, 2018
Regular fast food duties.
Tight management.
Fast paste and constantly moving.
Flexible hrs.
High turnover rate.
Long labor.
Pay does not match labor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Firehouse Subs?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but...
Slicer/crew person (Former Employee) –  High Point, NCDecember 30, 2017
Firehouse Subs, it was fun to work there. Worked with my son as my supervisor and daughter as Co-worker. Great atmosphere. These stores owned and operated by franchisees so it one of the few places encouraging family to work together.
Pros
Reduced food costs, fun environment
Cons
Slow for raises, slow advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  st. louisDecember 30, 2017
I helped open a new establishment and once the ball started rolling in never stopped. It was a constant adrenaline rush, especially during rush hour. very fast-paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Member
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Warren, MIDecember 30, 2017
Handling money
Satisfying customers
prepping foods
stocking back of house & lobby
Cleaning dining room
Stock Coca-Cola machine
Clean bathrooms
Making subs
Pros
Discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, nice middle job
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GADecember 28, 2017
For the most part the job was enjoyable. There was a lot of younger, inexperienced workers and a lot of unnecessary gossip between the entire crew. The store owner was absolutely amazing and so sweet but this just depends on who the franchise owner is.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Too much gossip, no advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job to have while attending school
Employee (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZDecember 28, 2017
Great staff and flexible hours were exactly what any student needs while working, and this company provided just that. Managers are friendly, understanding and hard working which made for a positive atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best work experience possible in fast food
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Cranberry, PADecember 28, 2017
A day at work included preparing for opening by cutting and portioning out ingredients, preparing drinks and chips, and general customer service. Occasionally the day necessitated assuming an unofficial managerial role or providing technical support.
I learned how to provide effective customer service and to work effectively in a fast-paced environment. Firehouse Subs provided the best management I have ever experienced. The franchise owner was a smart and kind man who worked hard to provide as best as he could for his employees. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the high volume of customers. The location had a very busy and stressful lunch rush that took time to acclimate to.
Pros
Positive work environment, incredible management
Cons
Stressful working conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Firehouse Sandwiches
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Maumelle, ARDecember 27, 2017
you had to be quick on your feet working at firehouse. Be fast paced was an understatement. You Had to have sandwiches out within 5 minutes. my supervisor was not the best. I did more management duties than she did.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a nice first job!
Sandwitch Artist (Current Employee) –  Fort Walton Beach, FLDecember 26, 2017
It’s a great first job but I’m definitely looking for somthing with more hours more pay and advancement. Loved the team the people I worked with are great they help me a lot and I couldn’t ask for a better support system.
Pros
Free subs and fun people
Cons
Not a lot of hours, very slow, always cleaning
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cook, cashier and prep food
Clerk, Cook (Former Employee) –  Warner Robins, GADecember 25, 2017
Stayed working and standing cleaned work area. Cook food prior customers coming in. Worked with store manager he gives great advise. Greeted every customer walked though the door with a smile and positive attitude.
Pros
Free lunch, great hours.
Cons
None love the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so great.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Marianna, FLDecember 24, 2017
I would have quit anyway,she was yelled at for not ordering vegetables and talking about people all the time. It hit a head when she called me "slow". I an no disabled patient in Sunland. Just not good at fast food.
Pros
washing dishes
Cons
Pretty much everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Firehouse Subs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,194 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
2.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6