Find companies:
FIRESTONE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
139 reviews

FIRESTONE Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job!
Licensed New York State Inspector (Former Employee), Tonawanda, NYSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: discounts on tires
Cons: benefits, pay
Firestone was a very poor place to work. They had managers that had no clue on how to work on cars or anything about them. What Ive learned from there was the latest in front end alignment equipment. Ive learned alot from my other co workers about the different ways on repairing cars and trucks and I had allot to offer them as well. a typical day was – more... Tires and major car repairs. the hardest part of the job was making hours meaning flat rate hours. That is how they paid you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so much
General Service Technician (Current Employee), Katy, TXSeptember 3, 2014
You do not have room to grow. Their is no work life balance. They continue to take cars with no regard for family life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD SHORT TERM
Manager (Former Employee), bay areaAugust 24, 2014
Pros: decent pay for managers
Cons: culture is unsustainable suspicious activities occur, management is under extreme pressure, creates a lot of stress
Learned a lot from the company, but its not good for long term employment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Auto Technician (Current Employee), NJAugust 22, 2014
I was an Auto tech and worked on cars. it payed well for that part of my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work done right
technician (Former Employee), Elmira, NYAugust 13, 2014
Pros: professional people
Cons: southside elmira
I liked working here and the management was decent, work was hard but not overly so
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Service Advisor (Current Employee), Coral Springs, FLAugust 10, 2014
Pros: you get sick days first year
Cons: gotta wait a long time to get a raise
good company,learn a lot about customer service and safety. Presently working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company but pay is not enough for skills necessary.
Installer Technician (Former Employee), Aurora, ILAugust 2, 2014
Lots of challenges with the ability to determine how much you make.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay misrepresented, Illegal workplace conduct, hostile work atmosphere, and more
Manager in Training (Former Employee), U.S.A.July 31, 2014
Pros: the job paid money.
Cons: pay misrepresented, not paid for overtime worked, retaliation for reporting illegal conduct, hostile work atmosphere, working off of the clock at several locations
Commonly interview for locations close to home and upon background check and hire, the company makes a habit to put you in a different location further and less convenient. Was hired for one position and put into the system as a much lesser position without explanation for two months. This bait and switch tactic happened with numerous other hires. Was – more... not paid accurately for overtime worked. Was not given access to system to verify hours worked for two months. Worked at several locations and at each people were forced to work off of the clock by management due to under-staffing or direct instruction. Hostile work atmosphere and discrimination were allowed for over a decade at one location as were several wrongful terminations that culminated in at least one very successful large lawsuit -- yet manager was kept in place. Favoritism. You will be lied to about spiff, bonus and overtime structure and pay during interview -- in my experience I was being paid 2k less than what I was told to expect per month. H.R. intentionally avoided complaints and didn't resolve matters. Several people made reports and H.R. didn't even speak with these employees before closing the complaint and said employees were wrongfully terminated shortly after. Retaliation both at corporate and store level for reporting any illegal or inappropriate workplace conduct. Extremely litigious environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I did
Customer Experience Manager (Former Employee), Reynoldsburg, OHJuly 25, 2014
Greet customers and ascertain what each customer wants or needs.

•Recommend, select, and help locate or obtain merchandise based on customer needs and desires.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hostile, fend-for-your-self
B-Tech / Front End Salesman (Former Employee), Aurora, COJuly 23, 2014
5-10 hr work days
advanced training from venders
management is non-existant unless their is a problem
not a cohesive unit
diagnosing a problem and fixing it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough place to work
AUTOMOTIVE TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), albuquerque, nm and phoenix, azJuly 20, 2014
Highly competitive environment that breeds animosity among the technicians. Lack of proper communication channels between techs and sales people also create hostile work environments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice environment
Automotive Technician (Current Employee), nashville tnJuly 12, 2014
a typical day at work would be active and fast pace in a good working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good place to work but pay started to decrease drastically.
Technician (Former Employee), Wylie texasJuly 8, 2014
Pros: being able to work.
Cons: not having any work to do.
I liked working for Firestone. But in the automotive industry I was paid flag rate. So that means I would be at work for 50+ hours a week and if there wasn't any cars coming in I wouldn't get paid. The company was not bringing in enough cars for all employees to make a decent paycheck.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work lots of hours but pay is not that good. Training is excellent.
Auto (Current Employee), Memphis, TennesseeJune 25, 2014
I was hired at a certain rate however, after working the required hours my hourly rate is not good. I have enjoyed the extra training they provide. I am looking to better my circumstances.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Manager of Service (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLJune 22, 2014
Pros: free lunch sometimes
Cons: health care and benefits
The hardest part was when you don't sale . Sales is apart of the business culture to have bonuses and other benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great automotive repair company
Automotive Technician (Former Employee), Corona, CAJune 21, 2014
great oportunity to learn, and excell in the automotive industry
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy, competitive environment
Store Manager (Current Employee), Cedar Park, TXJune 19, 2014
Daily routine includes all aspects of running a retail location. Sales, financing, people management, logistics, stocking, cleaning
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
tech (Former Employee), O'Fallon, MOJune 15, 2014
steady work, stay up with new vehicle technology, fair management, a more individually oriented work environment, lots of overtime, a chance to learn new things
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A+
Automotive Lead Technician (Current Employee), Raynham, MAMay 28, 2014
A wonderful place to work
learn something new every day
management is great to work with
co-workers are great and fun to be around
hardest part of the job is the job it self
i enjoy doing a good job at work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy and always learning something new.
Service Manager (Current Employee), Aurora, COMay 27, 2014
Pros: awsome employee discounts
Cons: missed out on lot of family time.
Great place company to work for. They will train you to be the best.
And the best part of my day when i sell lots of product. And hardest part of the job is staying late.

1 2 3 4 5