First Baptist Church Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
atmosphere
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Crisfield, MDSeptember 15, 2017
I learned many programs and enjoyed the getting to know the people. I just wished I could have still been there but knew it was at an end. I was able to take my baby at the time to work with me so I still had the chance to be with my son.
Pros
met people of the community
Cons
part time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy work
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, WASeptember 6, 2017
Management is all over the place.
The work place is a little juvenile at times.
The work I did was very busy work that did not require much thought.
It was only for a month.
Pros
easy work
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pastor of a small church
Pastor (Former Employee) –  Osage, IASeptember 6, 2017
First Baptist Church of Osage is a small rural community. The church struggles with in many areas. The pay was extremely low, the congregation was fickle at best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My cup runneth over
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Farwell, TXSeptember 5, 2017
In my experience at FBC, I was able to grow spiritually. I enjoyed being able to provide for my community through support, and prayer. I learned to fully rely on God in difficult times... for certain.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at if you love children and to teach them about Jesus no child if left behind every child is loved equally
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Lebanon, TNAugust 31, 2017
As a Christian this program is wonderful to help children learn about Jesus and the children will definitely learn a lot but they also have a lot of fun
Pros
Wonderful staff
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun and productive place to work but no room to advance
Teachers Assitant (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKAugust 30, 2017
Curriculum never changed in over 10 years.
Staff was friendly and easy to work with. I had to leave to stay home and take care of my children.
Hard to get others to help or get substitutions
Pros
Free lunhes
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is always a blessing to work in a church, and in general it was a very good environment to work in.
Secretary and Church Trustee (Former Employee) –  Huntington Park, CAAugust 30, 2017
A typical day at work was to do what an administration work requires, plus ministerial work that needed to be done according to the church activities.

I learn so much about office work, organization, critical thinking, active listening, tolerance, empathy, communication and discretion.

Management was excellent, and the environment was respectful and cooperative between all members.

The hardest part of the job was to have to leave because I have to move out of state.

The most enjoyable part was to be helpful in every way I could.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People were friendly.
Child Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Wylie, TexasAugust 28, 2017
Availability for part time hours was great. Parents and children were a joy to work with. School program had to shut down for a year because of construction and liabilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work enviornment
Counselor (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 15, 2017
First Baptist was a very helping and loving environment. They taught you how to deal with others when their going through though times. Leaning towards the spirit of help, helped me to understand the patients and which way to take their relationship with themselves and others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful workplace with lack of help and lack or raises
Daycare Teacher (Former Employee) –  Huntersville, NCAugust 11, 2017
The work place is extremely stressful. I was working there for years without a raise. Sick policy is not enforced for kids so they come back the next day (not 24 hours). Boss is not strict enough so people are constantly missing work which makes everything more stressful since you may have to take on more kids. Coworkers constantly talking badly about each other.
Pros
You can miss many days without being fired
Cons
No raises, hostile work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Community of Faith
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Greensboro, NCAugust 9, 2017
Community of believers who come together to contribute to the betterment of our society. We open the door to all with open arms and know that God's will shall be done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being on staff is about ministry, not money
Youth Ministry Assistant (Former Employee) –  Redwater, TXAugust 8, 2017
Being on staff at FBC Redwater is more about being in ministry everyday. You do not work here because of the money. Your work here because you are called. If you work (serve) with that in mind, every day will be an adventure in the Kingdom.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eye opener
Kids supervisor (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, GAAugust 7, 2017
A typical day includes greeting the child, speaking with the parents about how the day with the child has been. Provide them with medicine and careful attention as they play
Pros
good parent skills
Cons
sad to witness sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant place to work.
Custodian (Current Employee) –  Freeport, FLAugust 5, 2017
First Baptist Church of Freeport is a down to earth, home church. They have graciously allowed me to work for them for many years and it is greatly appreciated.
Pros
Wonderful people
Cons
Open door policy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
volunteer (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORAugust 3, 2017
Friendly and loving, but as a church you don't really advance. I don't think You really think of advancing though when your there. The congregations is sweet, and its always a great place to stop by.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed, reliable
Custodian/Janitor (Former Employee) –  Newport,ArAugust 2, 2017
It was a great environment, stress free, flexible, room to advance, weekends off, extra hours if needed. Great people to work for. Clean environment
Pros
Weekly pay
Cons
Could have paid more
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Without a Senior Pastor there is little continuity
Executive Pastor (Former Employee) –  Mansfield, TXAugust 2, 2017
We have been without a Senior Pastor for 18 months. Normally there are 12 full and part-time employees. I served (in the absence of a pastor) as the CEO.
Pros
People are easy to work with.
Cons
The people are located in 2 separate buildings making it hard to communicate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old school.
Director (Current Employee) –  Woodstock, GAAugust 2, 2017
Wonderful people on staff. Sincere in their faith. Lots of grace when you make a mistake. Culture is old school in many ways. Several staff members have been here over fifteen years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice quiet office
SECRETARY (Former Employee) –  Marlow, OKAugust 1, 2017
nice place to work with great people. The office was nice and quiet and no drama. The people were the best part, everyone happy and no conflicts. Great place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very difficult to lead obstinate people
Pastor (Former Employee) –  Eagle Pass, TXAugust 1, 2017
Tried for several years to minister to the entire community. Those with the money and authority squelched much of what I attempted and rendered our work futile. Many times, it seemed that the real opposition were to reaching people of different ethnicities.
Pros
A few families were faithful to serve God there
Cons
Many are opposed to any kind of change
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at First Baptist Church. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 492 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.8
Culture
4.2