Find companies:
First Baptist Church
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
184 reviews

First Baptist Church Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable place to work, only left because of moving
Janitor (Former Employee), Kennett, MODecember 30, 2013
Pros: good hours, provided insurance, friendly work environment
Cons: being on call every other weekend
At this job I would start every morning cleaning the general office area. It is a very big church so each day I would clean different parts of the church. My responsibilities were cleaning the bathrooms, nursery's, kitchen, fellowship hall, sanctuary, library, hallways, and life center. The church has over 200 rooms and a life center which is a separate – more... building. The members would come in and out a lot needing help with upcoming events so I had to be flexible with the cleaning schedule because the things they needed help with always came first. On Wednesdays and Sundays I had to come back after working hours and turn on lights and unlock doors and on Sundays I had to prepare coffee and water and clean up after morning service to prepare for their night service. I developed a personal relationship with a lot of the members there so they felt comfortable asking for help with anything they needed. The most enjoyable part of my job was the fact it was flexible and in a positive environment. The hardest part was working on Sundays and being on call every other weekend. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Youth Ministry
Jr. High, Sr. High and College (Former Employee), Oxnard, CADecember 29, 2013
Assumed leadership of the Youth Ministry at a regional Baptist Church. We saw much growth and lives changed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant work environment
Music Coordinator/Piano Accompanist (Current Employee), Jeffersonville, INDecember 16, 2013
Great place to work!
Flexible work hours!
Nice Benefit package!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive group of dedicated individuals
Adult Bible Studies Director, Volunteer (Current Employee), Bettendorf, IADecember 14, 2013
Wonderful opportunity to work with dedicated individuals. The support offered within the council of directors is amazing and offered an opportunity for me to learn more and apply what I have learned to the position I was assigned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Youth Counselor, Secretary (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCDecember 9, 2013
Providing counseling services to children and teenagers. Help each student to improve his or her academic performance. Guide older students towards a career suitable for them. Guide and educate parents on the issues faced by the child. Design a diet and exercise regimen for the child to improve their health. Give the child some mentally stimulating – more... exercises to help improve their memory or any other problem they might have. Maintain a proper report on every child given in their care. Spot troubled kids and work closely with child and the parents before the problem gets out of hand. Prepare and manage correspondence, reports and documents. Organize and coordinate meetings, conferences, travel arrangements. Implement and maintain office systems. Maintain schedules and calendars, arrange and confirm appointments. Organize internal and external events; handle incoming mail and other material. Set up and maintain filing systems, maintain databases. Communicate verbally and in writing to answer inquiries and provide information. Liaison with internal and external contacts, coordinate the flow of information both internally and externally. Operate office equipment and manage office supplies – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Office Manager/Administrative Assistant to Pastor (Current Employee), Cordova, ILDecember 3, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Cons: not enough hours
Prepared weekly bulletins for Sunday service. Created
Powerpoint presentations and monthly newsletter. Full range
of receptionist/administrative duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, good atmosphere
Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee), Warsaw, MONovember 13, 2013
Pros: loved the job, loved the people!
Cons: no insurance, or benifits
Working at the Church was a rewarding and enjoyable experience that will be with me for the rest of my life. We lost a son in a car accident, I learned to live everyday to the fullest and make everything count. Don't ever take any thing for granted!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It felt good to see young people get off the streets.
Youth Pastor (Former Employee), East Chicago, INNovember 8, 2013
Spoke to pre-teens and teens about healthy relationships, self-esteem, sexual abstinence, sexual abuse, and decision-making skills. Was in charge of setting up abstinence clubs in the public school system,. Established a youth Choir, Sunbeams. Headed up the Youth vacation bible School.

Began a gang intervention ministry by going out to various parks – more... street corners and other public venues where we witness a tremendous turn-around and got kids off the street and in the church. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVE this place
Nursery Worker (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXOctober 30, 2013
Pros: environment, people, kids, boss
Cons: hours
I absolutely love the ladies at First Baptist
The kids are amazing, and if you are looking for a place to put your kids I would recommend this
Only problem: not enough hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work along side friendly people who are there with you to help.
Builder (Former Employee), Pass Christian, MSOctober 28, 2013
Pros: working for a good cause
Cons: hot weather
A typical work day involves many angles of remodeling. I learned how use several power tools and how to work as a team to build something together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVE!
Nursery Worker (Former Employee), Stinnett, TXOctober 21, 2013
LOVED EVERY MINUTE OF IT. Great job, fun kids, overall great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traditional work environment
Pastor of Education and Students (Former Employee), Scotland Neck, NCOctober 21, 2013
Providing clarity, alignment, focus and movement to the mission and vision
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Our Youth
Teacher (Former Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 15, 2013
Pros: working with kids
Cons: kids moving to another class
I love kids and I love the Lord so what better place to work than a church daycare.All the parents were very nice and the kids were great to be around. The one thing I did not like about the job was my kids going to another class when they got to old for me. Didn't want to see them go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Children's Intern (Former Employee), Belton, TXOctober 14, 2013
They gave me my first opportunity for a good solid job. I was given any tasks you can imagine and grew because of it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Secretary (Current Employee), Greenville, MSOctober 2, 2013
Get a feel of something new, getting to know what the real world of work is like
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling employment with purpose
Maintenance Specialist (Current Employee), Park Forest, ILSeptember 28, 2013
Pros: fulfilling work
Cons: inconsistent work schedule
I have learned to extend myself far beyond my own expectations for the purpose of helping others more than ever in this position
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Baptist Church
Child Development Assistant (CDA) (Former Employee), Magnolia, ARSeptember 25, 2013
This was a church nursery. I handled toddlers to infants. It was a good experience that taught me a lot of patience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace. Well balanced schedule and positive environment
Set Up Crew Supervisor (Former Employee), Garland, TXSeptember 20, 2013
Pros: frequent breaks, free lunches
Cons: pay rate
Review set ups that need done for the day. Gather furniture items needed for set ups on to dollies. Make sure rooms are clean and organized for set ups. Go back and check set ups. We get two 15 minute breaks and a 30 minute lunch. I learned to work SMART not hard because of the job being so physical... meaning learning how to manuever heavy items without – more... putting strain on my body. My boss was very caring and always made sure we put school first and was very considerate of our families. My co-workers were young but hardworking. They adapted very quickly and we got along well. The hardest part of the job was the physical labor. The most enjoyable part was being able to have fun and make the best of our job while still working and getting things done in a timely manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Baptist Church
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Goldsboro, NCSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: wonderful people to work with
Cons: not enough pay
,My typical day was general cleaning, Bathrooms, Offices, etc
I loved my manager and all the people I worked with , the hardest part of the job was learning how to strip and wax floors,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a volunteer for this church
Volunteer (Former Employee), North Highlands, CASeptember 13, 2013
It was enjoyable workplace being able to help out whenever I could or when they needed me was nice