Find companies:
First Baptist Church
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
145 reviews

First Baptist Church Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nursery Teacher
Teacher, Nursery (Former Employee), Huffman, TXMarch 8, 2013
I maintained a safe environment for the children also created many fun activities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family type of work atmosphere, genuinely nice people to work with.
Custodian (Former Employee), Sioux Falls, SDMarch 7, 2013
Pros: short commute, great co-workers
Cons: sometimes a little too physically demanding.
unlocking of business, typical custodial tasks. I learned more about the business side, of how a church functions/operates; and also learned more about public relations - in terms of dealing with such a wide variety of people. Management was always understanding and helpful. Co-workers were all very pleasant and friendly to work with. The hardest part – more... of this job was at times, physically demanding. The most enjoyable part of this job was, interaction with my co-workers and church members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love what I do
Secretary (Current Employee), Bethlehem, PAMarch 6, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Cons: constantly recreating the wheel, lack of communication/respect
I collect information, create publications, and maintain electronic files. I like being responsible for maintaining the office equipment like the copiers, phones, and computers. I had the opportunity to learn some more computer skills, ie the electronic sign, publisher, and powerpoint. The most difficult part of the job is lack of communication and – more... following the system that is already in place when others continually want to operate outside that system. I have a lot of flexiblity and pretty much work without supervision. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talking and meeting people
Maintenance Coordinator (Current Employee), Burlington, NCMarch 4, 2013
Pros: able to work without any supervision
My day starts at 7:00am .With a complete walk through. Check to see if all doors are secure. I also order supplies, run aarons and keep up the grounds. The biggest responsible is keeping all 3 floors clean and annex building.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love helping others and it's a quiet place to work
Secretary/Receptionist (Current Employee), Cedaredge, COFebruary 12, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule, friendly people, vacation time
Cons: no health insurance
My work day starts with answering phone messages, mail pick up and distribution. Responding to emails, paying bills, recording donations, banking and working on articles for the newsletter & weekly bulletin. The most enjoyable part of my job is interacting with various members of the congregation that stop in the office needing information or dropping – more... off articles to print in the bulletin. I have a big heart for the elderly members of the church and find that I have patience and understanding that not many people have with the elderly. I have strong organizational skills and enjoy multitasking. I am very dependable and committed to getting tasks completed. The hardest part of my job is having a lot of "free time", I like to stay busy and be productive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment containing outstanding people, willing to serve the Lord and others each day.
Volunteer (Former Employee), Cleburne, TXJanuary 26, 2013
Pros: meeting new people, sharing the gospel, showing the love of jesus.
-Serving coffee to collect mission funds for the Lottie Moon offering every Sunday morning, handling money, and socializing with people.

-People can change for the better, or for the worse.

-Dedicated to preaching, and spreading the Gospel each day.

-"co-workers" (volunteers) are devoted to people.

-Everything was enjoyable, nothing was hard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company-Less than Good Hours
Interim Minister of Music (Former Employee), Teague, TXJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: quality product
Cons: poor leadership on a local level
Enjoyed the photography but was not successful at sales. Was told that I could pursue other work on Sundays. Then began to ask me to work on Sundays. Low pay (commission) and little mileage reimbursement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People didn't get along well.
Organist, Pianist, Accompanist (Former Employee), Three Rivers, MIJanuary 11, 2013
Pros: liked the duties there.
Cons: many conflicts within.
The facilities moved several times during my stay there. Many people discontinued attending there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging
Executive Administrator (Current Employee), NCJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: personal development and satisfaction
Cons: voluntary position
A typical day includes data entry, sorting mail, scheduling ministry meetings, handling incoming calls. Facilitating meetings, verify leaders on task to meet any pending timelines when necessary.
The church is in a renovated state, therefore my learning has been patience, consistence and perseverance.
The hardest part of the job is doing much with so – more... little.
The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing and seeing the manifestation of my hard work make a difference in the lives I come in contact with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stable company to work for
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Current Employee), Brunswick, GAJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: small town
The most enjoyable part of my job is working with my co-workers, who feel like family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Church in Canyon Lake
Nursery Attendant (Former Employee), Canyon Lake, TXDecember 5, 2012
I am not only a previous employee, but a previous member as well. I love all the staff because they have have all become close family to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of people
Lead a congregation to grow in their faith (Former Employee), Cookville, TXNovember 26, 2012
It was a great honor for me to serve these wonderful people. This was some of the best years of my life working here. I worked with great staff members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere working with the kids.
Daycare (Former Employee), Brandon, MSNovember 26, 2012
Working at a daycare is very fun. I love being around kids. I get along with all of my co-workers. I have great time management and i'm never late.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time
Security Officer (Former Employee), Hammond, INNovember 23, 2012
The management was great to work for, they loved their employees and looked out for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and friendly place to work
Senior Pastor (Current Employee), Bastrop, LAOctober 25, 2012
Pros: the people and relationships
Cons: declining community
I enjoy the ministry and the people that I work with and serve in this rural community church. I have been here for almost eleven years and feel that the time to move is now. I would like to locate in the Houston, Texas area to be near family and continue serving in the ministry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pre school teacher
Pre-school teacher/ Nursery worker (Former Employee), Frisco, TXOctober 25, 2012
Pros: working with children and parents
Cons: no benefits, or advancment
Loved working with children and watching them advance in their education
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work! :)
Co-Pastor (Current Employee), Martinsburg, WVOctober 11, 2012
Pros: i love helping people!
Cons: 24 hour a day job!
My days mostly consists of me managing, answering questions, problem solving, and adminstrating the Office, Staff and anyone else that comes in, plus any counseling that needs to be done. My job is about people and helping people. :)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers
Personal assistant (Former Employee), Hammond, INOctober 11, 2012
Outstanding values learned at FBC that I will carry for the rest of my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with people and their relationships
Pastors Wife (Former Employee), Hardinsburg, KYOctober 11, 2012
Pros: challenging people
Cons: challenging people
working side by side with my husband as a pastors wife allowing people to explore and discover themselves and their relationships
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Child Care
Nursery Worker (Current Employee), McAlester, OKSeptember 26, 2012
Pros: very flexabile, respected work environment
Cons: very loud, no hours
Turn over is high and they assume you won't be there long so they are always adding new employee's which will cut down your hours greatly, and in turn make you want to quit...I'm still here though 5 years strong!