First Citizens Bank Employee Reviews

Found 291 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and grow
Operations Services Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNJune 19, 2017
Great company to start entry level and grow leaps and bounds quickly in knowledge and compensation. Team atmosphere and accountability is highly regarded there.
Pros
compensation and great HR
Cons
schedule flexibility at times can be difficult in banking in general
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
opportunitiy for growth
Customer Service representative (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJune 11, 2017
First Citizen is an overall great place to work. There are opportunities for growth and career advancement. In addition there are multiple opportunities for raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall environment in every aspect
Bank Teller/Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  NCJune 11, 2017
This company makes you feel like family, and they do care about their employees. It has been a great experience and the knowledge I have gained I will carry on with me throughout my career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job but very hard to advance
SSR II (Current Employee) –  Craven County, NCJune 8, 2017
Overall, the work environment is relatively good. But when it comes to advancement, it is difficult to move up if you do not know the right people. I have seen the system manipulated several times so the people they want are put in supervisory roles. It does not seem to matter if others are qualified and have worked hard to earn desired positions.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my branch.
Sales and Service Representative III (Former Employee) –  Augusta, GAJune 6, 2017
The customers and coworkers were amazing. I learned so much about banking and how to go out of my comfort zone to help customers. The hours were great too.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Business Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJune 5, 2017
As a business banker I would look at our current portfolio to ensure great customer service was being given. We would also go door knocking to businesses to try and get them to open up accounts.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
BRANCH MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Yelm, WAJune 2, 2017
First Citizens respects its employees and maintains a high employee retention rate. The benefits are tops and the culture they embrace is a good work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical 9-5 job
Operations Services Lead (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCMay 29, 2017
Average bank experience. Many pleasant customers. Ok co-workers and tolerable managers. Flexible PTO days and will try to work to accommodate your schedule.
Pros
Customers
Cons
Workload
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary position
CIS Integrity Specialist I (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMay 29, 2017
On a typical day you received your share of work. Typing was the main duty and it was very fast pace. The people in your surroundings made it a pleasant environment to work in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Sales and Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Newton, NCMay 18, 2017
I got on board with FCB as a float teller and has been there for 5 years. I've learned a lot and changed to different roles throughout the company but still at the branch level. The team I worked with was very understanding and flexible. We helped each other out a lot and i do not have anything to complain. The area I worked for was much more strict compare to other areas in the state. What i mean is this area is a lot harder on their employees to meet sale goals and will discipline when needed.
Pros
great vacation time, pay raise every year
Cons
have to work time off around your branch, have to request off a year ahead
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
VP, Business Banker II (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMay 14, 2017
Able to work and develop strong relationships with business clients. Increase experience with cash flow analysis and provided loan recommendations and pricing structure.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful branches, Colleagues & management very friendly.
Financial Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Newport Beach, CAMay 11, 2017
Operations:

Daily cash drawer- to cover line during lunches and overflow.
Assisted operations manager with daily reports and tasks.
Ordered all branch supplies.
Processed accounts payable for our branch expenses.
Reviewed analysis statements monthly.

Sales:

Opened and maintained new accounts.
Went on sales prospect appointments
Pros
Enjoyable place to work.
Cons
limited branches- limited advance positions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Consumer Loan Officer (Former Employee) –  Billings, MTMay 10, 2017
A typical day at work:

Build loan portfolio, great customers and make them feel welcome
Excellent customer service is a must in any organization.

Typed loan papers, maintain loan portfolio, recruit new customers

Hardest part of the job was past due loans.

The most enjoyable was building relationships with customers and offering exceptional customer service
Pros
Good Place to work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, energetic
Teller/ Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Piedmont, SCApril 27, 2017
FCB was a fun and energetic place to work. I formed many friendships working here. The customers were all so friendly and nice to talk with. I loved the hometown banking atmosphere of FCB. I would recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trust
Trust Officer (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 16, 2017
The Trust Department used to be a great place to work. I don't know if it is the new management and organizational structure or problems that are still around since the SC merger; either way it really went downhill fast! Infighting, confusion and non stop stress became the norm. I had to leave before it got worse!
Pros
Benefits and compensation package
Cons
Stress, pressure and too much change in a short amount of time
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away from the Wealth Management Group
Trust (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCApril 14, 2017
Awful. Just awful. Management team is out of touch of what is really going on and is so sales focused that they cannot see anything else. People are working crazy hours and are under intense pressure but are not given any tools or support to achieve success. They burn through them fast here!
Pros
You will be exposed to a lot of projects.
Cons
You will burn out.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bank Teller
Teller (Former Employee) –  Polson, MTApril 13, 2017
I enjoyed working in the bank and getting to know the customers that came in on a daily basis on a personal level. This was my first bank job and I realized how much I enjoying the banking world.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they care about their customers
Sales and Service Representative III (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 3, 2017
best part is the customers, they are really nice and they enjoy seeing the same face year after year. the building is also very clean and attractive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales and Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCApril 1, 2017
A very strong bank to work for, First Citizens is a true traditional bank. Client service is top priority and it sets us apart from the competition. In each area employees feel like family.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Financial Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 31, 2017
Teller transactions
Vault Teller
open mortgage account
open visa credit card
Update customers information
waive overdraft fees
Suggest overdraft protection
Pros
nice staff
Cons
bad location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at First Citizens Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 294 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

81%
80 ratings
Add your rating