First Communications

First Communications Employee Reviews

Found 15 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Field service tech
Field service technician (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJune 2, 2015
Repaired mobile communications equipment
Learned electronics and computer networking
Management advanced workers from withing workforce
Coworkers were somewhat cooperative
Enjoyed working in the field.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
COMPANY HAS NO VISION
SENIOR SALES EXECUTIVE (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 24, 2015
NOT SURE HOW THIS COMPANY WILL REMAIN OPEN MUCH LONGER. PEOPLE WORK IN SILOS IN HOPE THAT NOBODY DISCOVERS WHAT THEY ACTUALLY DO FOR THE COMPPANY.
Pros
GOOD WORK LIFE BALANCE
Cons
DOING POINTLESS WORK AND EVERYONE
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enegry/ Family Enivronment
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Thomasville, GAMarch 6, 2015
I opened and closed the business Mon-Fri. I usually ran the office due to the fact everyone was always out on a customer service call or marketing/sales. I made sure all incoming messages was delivered or calls returned. I made work orders via email and/or 2 way and also handled shipping and handling. Before the end of each month I made sure that all accounts were in the positive via Billing/Collections. I learned that a good environment promotes happier employees.
Pros
a lot of responsibility to keep the office functional
Cons
it was a temporary position
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed Atmosphere
Marketing Assistant /Sales Support (Former Employee) –  Akron, OhioFebruary 10, 2015
The sales support position was a good learning experience to understand more about what happens "behind the scenes" of the sales team, but overall no growth or commission opportunities were available to help your career advance.
Pros
laid back work atmosphere, great boss, good coworkers
Cons
low pay for amount of work, no advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great CEO
Vice President, Business Development (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHNovember 4, 2014
First Communications provided good benefits and compensation. Their CEO was an excellent leader, with great interpersonal skills. The employees were eager to learn and tackle new challenges. Since I managed a subsidiary business unit (SBU) that was separate from the core company, my only corporate direction was P&L responsibility.
Pros
allowed to manage in my own style.
Cons
lack of job security.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management party
Director/General Manager, Convergent Technlgs Div. (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHAugust 4, 2014
Started out as a great company, but then investor group got starz in their eyes about going public, then the train went off the rails Company lost focus on customers, just focused on the "next deal" to get money. Screwed the employees that built the company.
Pros
pd the bills
Cons
loss of focus on customers and employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They need some work....
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHMay 12, 2014
No little to no training provided, little supervisor agent interaction, no coaching and feedback. Pay increases are about $.25 per year. (yeah you read it correctly) and no room for advancement.
Pros
flexible work schedule
Cons
no advancement opportunities, raises are pretty much non existent
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Senior Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHSeptember 6, 2013
I iniated new business through teleprospecting, cold calling, networking, and referrals. I quailfied and sold the company on a better solution.
Pros
good job to work for. great respect, good money, great atmosphere.
Cons
hitting a quota every month and starting at zero every month.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great Stepping Stone for my Business Management Degree
Customer Service Team Lead/Acting Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Fairlawn, OhioJune 23, 2013
A good place to learn a lot of information, I believe it is a good stepping stone to grow your career. I am currently working on my business management degree and First Communications is a good place to start.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long term Employee
Director, NOC and Customer Care Departments (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHJune 5, 2013
I have worked in management though multiple departments and gained lots of knowledge, I have been with the company for over 17 years and I believe it is the time to move on
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLDecember 10, 2012
I learned phone skills for the most part. I called major places such as Hospitals and fire stations to speak to their person in charge of purchasing and I sold two way radios for their security.
Pros
flexible work hours
Cons
no health care
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company to work for
Credit & Collections Manager (Former Employee) –  Akron, ohioJuly 22, 2012
Good company to work for with ever evolving product base that changes based on market needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to learn the "ropes" of telecom.
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OhJuly 11, 2012
I had two different managers during my time there and both were outstanding teachers and mentors.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and friendly work environment
Voice Technician (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 13, 2012
Loved the work and the people. Worked in Network Operations working trouble tickets to fix voice and data problems for small to mid size companies in Illinois.
Pros
great work environment. great management that gave you tools to succeed.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

See more First Communications reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture