Find companies:
First Community Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

First Community Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-Workers, pleasant and fun enviorment
Customer service (Current Employee), Campbell, MOApril 14, 2014
Pros: they take care of their employees
Cons: having to give customers bad news
I've learned to open up to people and not be shy. i love working in a customer service job. i love meeting new people and helping them with their banking needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
unappreciated (Former Employee), Richardson, TXMarch 7, 2014
Pros: nothing that i can think of
Cons: again, run - run as fast as you can.
nothing good to say about first community bank. run, run fast if ever applying.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and Customer Service Driven
Bank Teller (Current Employee), Holden Beach NCFebruary 11, 2014
This job gave me great experience with customer service and customer satisfaction. It also taught me a great deal about the world of finances and referrals.
The most difficult part of this job was learning how to say no to those I had come to know as family.
The best part of the job was helping someone and guiding them on the right financial path for – more... them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning atmosphere with co-workers
Financial Associate (Former Employee), Emporia VAJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: great hours, wonderful co-workers
Cons: management's weakness is found in correcting trainees rudely in public
Workers and head teller, easy to work with and great trainers. Family atmosphere, respectful, and caring. Job was enjoyable, and hours were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Lending Executive Administration/Banking Officer (Current Employee), Richardson, TXJanuary 2, 2014
employer sought recovery at any means including employee long hours with no compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love what I do!
Purchasing/Facilities Management (Current Employee), Houston, TXNovember 7, 2013
First Community Bank has been a great company to work for the past 5 1/2 years. Im currently looking for a new company to start Feb 1, 2014.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
'Community' taken out of the equation
Item Processing Clerk (Former Employee), Bluefield, VANovember 1, 2013
Pros: benefits, company seminars/awards
Cons: no family values, too many layoffs
Excellent company to work for if you are 100% dedicated to work and have no family/community that may interfere. Company is slowing moving towards NC as far as the corporate center goes. Be careful about closing depts. You may be laid off without notice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Analyst
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Lansing, MIOctober 23, 2013
• Read documents produced in the early stage of the project
• Met with PM and other product development team, discussing the Scope of the Project
• Consulted with project manager in developing project plans & scope
• Was responsible for clarifying project requests, providing root cause analyses
• Always sharing best practices, and presenting findings – more... and proposals in a professional format
• Validate testing methodologies and sharing the results with Business SME’s.
• Conducted business process modeling and analysis
• Always identified, assessed and articulated gaps/operational risks associated
• Presented risk-mitigation and operational enhancement solutions to project management team
• Worked with SME’s, upstream/downstream systems, to identify and map detailed current processes
• Was responsible to identify gaps and failure points, perform root cause analysis
• Bottom line responsibility to develop functional requirements that supported overall strategy, goals and objectives, and develop and document the functional requirement documents
• Was responsible for creating and reviewing business requirements and functional specifications
• Took bottom line responsibility in creating and reviewing project schedules, project documentation and test plan – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Community Bank
Financial Assistant (Current Employee), Grafton, WVOctober 22, 2013
I no longer feel that I will not be moving up any time soon or in the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place I would recommend working at.
Loan Document Origination Specialist (Former Employee), Sugar Land, TXOctober 22, 2013
Cons: lack of training and organization
From my initial hiring until the end of my time working there the atmosphere was awful, the training was pitiful and I was would not recommend anyone to work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Analyst
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Lansing, MISeptember 29, 2013
• Read documents produced in the early stage of the project
• Met with PM and other product development team, discussing the Scope of the Project
• Consulted with project manager in developing project plans & scope
• Was responsible for clarifying project requests, providing root cause analyses
• Always sharing best practices, and presenting findings – more... and proposals in a professional format
• Validate testing methodologies and sharing the results with Business SME’s.
• Conducted business process modeling and analysis
• Always identified, assessed and articulated gaps/operational risks associated
• Presented risk-mitigation and operational enhancement solutions to project management team
• Worked with SME’s, upstream/downstream systems, to identify and map detailed current processes
• Was responsible to identify gaps and failure points, perform root cause analysis
• Bottom line responsibility to develop functional requirements that supported overall strategy, goals and objectives, and develop and document the functional requirement documents
• Was responsible for creating and reviewing business requirements and functional specifications
• Took bottom line responsibility in creating and reviewing project schedules, project documentation and test plan
• Intricately involved in Business Process Flow development, Business Process Modeling
• Created test scripts and test cases based on business requirements, worked with development and QA teams to carry out the tests and document all test results
• Conducted User Acceptance Testing
• Created user manuals and conducted training for the production support personnel – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an unconventional work place
Branch Manager/Head Teller (Current Employee), Rogersville, TNJuly 6, 2013
A typical work day in 9am - 7:15pm which does not leave much time for family or fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun
Bank Teller/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCJune 26, 2013
banking hours, holidays and weekends off worked out great while raising a family**********************************************
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work was great, the company was great.
Financial Assistant (Former Employee), Pineville, WVJune 22, 2013
I had personal issues with the management team at my branch. The work was great, the company was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and professional work place
SENIOR FINANCIAL ASSISTANT (Current Employee), NCMay 6, 2013
I enjoy working for First Community. The people and the customers make it easy to come to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable enviroment to work in with great people
Teller (Current Employee), Petoskey, MIApril 3, 2013
A typical day at work is doing quick transactions for the customer and answering any problems they may be having with there accounts. I also answer phones and help transfer the caller to the right people to help them if i can not assist them. I have learned allot about banking that I previously didn't have. Allot of my customers I see at least once – more... a week and others more frequently. However, after each visit, I am better able to help assist with there banking. I work with a great group of people that are willing to help and stay late to make sure the customers needs are meet. The hardest part of the job is not being able to have the full range of duties that higher posititons offer. The most enjoyable part is getting to know the customers and helping them get the most out of there bank account. Making them more knowelgeable about how the bank works and how it can help them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning environment
Bookkeeper (Former Employee), Pahokee, FLApril 1, 2013
* A typical day would be going over checks to make sure they were endorsed, transferring balances over the phone and doing administrative tasks.
* I learned there's many aspects to banking then just depositing your money
* My co-workers were a friendly group and made the workplace fun at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall this was once a really fun place to work
BANKING OPERATIONS ACH (Former Employee), Bluefield, VAFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: nice work environment, employee functions
Cons: pay, advancement opportunities
A typical day at work was not bad. It was an easy going laid-back type of environment. I learned a great deal about banking even though I was not in a management position I given the opportunity to learn different departments. Unfortunately the pay and job security were trouble areas. The job could be stressful sometimes because when you deal with other – more... people's money there is little room for error. Also everything was on a strict time schedule. I really enjoyed my co-workers they were the most enjoyable part of the job. In fact I have many co-workers I can call friend and we stay in touch. Occasionally I will go back and visit – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced workplace
Finanical Assistant (Current Employee), Princeton, WVFebruary 5, 2013
A typical day is coming in and logging into your computer, getting your work space ready for the day and start waiting on customers. You recieve anything from deposits to loan payments to change orders. Then you count your drawer down and close out the day. Management here is awesome, there isn't one person that you can't talk to and they always make – more... you feel comfortable. There really isn't a hard part to the job, you only have the worry of a check coming back. I love working here, but I'm moving out of state and will have to look else where. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Financial Consultant (Current Employee), Columbia, SCJanuary 23, 2013
Great family atmosphere and team oriented work environment. Small bank and small investment division.