Find companies:
FIRST ENERGY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
52 reviews

FIRST ENERGY Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job after leaving the military
B-Operator (Former Employee), Shippingport, PAJune 8, 2014
Pros: great learning experience
Cons: i am sorry it had to end due to deregulation in the industry.
Good place to work but you were pretty much a number due to it being an Public Utility.
I did however made the most of it being able to learn about the Electric Industry and working at an industrial site.
I meant lot of great people and still have some of them as friends today.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Desktop Support Analyst (Former Employee), Akron, OHJune 7, 2014
Great people to work for with an enjoyable environment. Learned a lot about different aspects of IT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work.
call center (Former Employee), Reading, PAMay 6, 2014
Pros: weekly pay
Cons: too many
Hired as a contractor. Supervisor was awful and very unapproachable. Non-stop calls. Upper management was stuck-up. Unexpected overtime (couldn't leave until calls were cleared). Unrealistic stats required, example; on pa power outage calls you have to ask are you satisfied, really?!? Wouldn't acknowledge doctors notes if you or your child was sick – more... and you couldn't make it to work. Dont Ever Work Here!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all a great company to work for
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Akron, OHMay 5, 2014
Pros: independency, laid back atmosphere
Cons: short breaks
The company ended up closing the department that I worked in, so that's the reason I moved on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never worked close to home
Heavy Equipment operator (Former Employee), Rayland, OHApril 30, 2014
you never work close to home when you worked and you only worked when it wasn't windy, rainy, to cold or to hot!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to work
Distribution Subject Matter Expert (Former Employee), Erie, PAApril 24, 2014
Pros: great career advancement
Cons: not very good job security
First Energy was a great place to work, I enjoyed my time and learned a great deal about the industry. The best part of First Energy is the people that work there, they are some of the best in the industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy talking with the customers
Customer Service, Summit Advantage (Current Employee), Akron,OHApril 19, 2014
Pros: meeting people
Cons: healthcare
Taking phone calls and enrolling and cancel service. He i need more information about a customer account, i will ask my co-workers to help me research the account. The hardest part of the job is when you have to tell a customer that i can't waive their cancel fee from there account. I love communicate with people and to talk with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production Technician
Production Technician (Former Employee), Hatfield's Ferry Power StationApril 7, 2014
Pros: great coworkers
Cons: 6-2 work schedule
Maintained and used trouble shooting skills to maintain production of a coal fired power plant. Systems included boilers, turbines, generators, by-product disposal, and environmental controls. Completed daily inspections of associated equipment including but not limited to pneumatic, conveying, hydraulic, pumps, motors and water systems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very safe and productive company.
Substation Electrician (Current Employee), Northwood, OHApril 7, 2014
Pros: to many to list.
Cons: weather at times can be very cold in northern ohio
It is very enjoyable place to work. Everyday is different and the crew members are fun to work with and are always willing to help educate you, show you how to do things and concerned about your safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable, relaxed work envornment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Akron, OHMarch 17, 2014
Was sometimes stressful dealing with the unhappy, disgruntle customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PLEASEANT WORK ENVIRONMENT
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), READING, PAMarch 11, 2014
FIRST ENERGY IS A WELL STRUCTURED COMPANY THAT ASSISTS WITH RESOLVING CUSTOMER ISSUES.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Reading, PAMarch 3, 2014
Working for the company 8 years was amazing. I relocated to florida & unfortunately we don't have an office in Fl. However, i love my co-workers & if i ever went back to PA i'd go back to F.E. My favorite moments are assisting our customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place and productive
SAP HCM Consultant (Former Employee), OhioFebruary 18, 2014
The First energy organization is a fun place to work at, the environment is very good and co-workers are very supportive. One should join this organization
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace to get your foot in the door and advance
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee), Fairlawn, OHFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: opportunity for advancement, paid holidays, & quarterly bonuses
Cons: on call, mandatory overtime & being a temp(contractor)
I started out as a temp and was hired in 6 months later. The people are nice. I do credit, billing, move in & fax/mail. A typical day would be taking calls from irate customers, explaining the charges on their bills, starting and ending service, making payment arrangements, sending out forms and documents etc. I learned to pay attention, learn everything – more... you can & meet your goals! I enjoy satisfying the customers. The call center is only open from 8a-6p Monday-Friday. If you want to move up the ladder in a big company this is the place to do it! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Regional Account Executive (Current Employee), DuBois, PAJanuary 27, 2014
Mid-level sales managers are amazing, but top-level management as well as expectations are often arbitrary and seemingly unjust. However, all things considered, a very good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Senior Technical Recruiter (Former Employee), Akron, OHDecember 10, 2013
Lead recruiting efforts for various groups within their Nuclear Services. Clients in these groups include: Davis Besse, Perry and Beaver Valley Power Stations. Responsible for conducting ongoing fact finding meetings with Stakeholders to assess client needs. Flew to all Naval bases in the US to recruit Officers for their SRO program. This included over – more... 20 recruiting trips yearly to naval bases/nuclear power school. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mentally Hard place to work
Call Center Representative (Former Employee), Brecksville, OHNovember 24, 2013
Pros: 2 fifteen minutes breaks at beginning and end of day
Cons: non stop incoming calls, unhappy co-workers
A typical day here involves answering doctor and agency calls to add holds on to account so customers electric is not shut off. I learned how to work a new computer system and add these "med-certs" to accounts. Management is confused and not sure of what to do when something goes wrong because this is a new group and no one is sure of what to expect. – more... Co-workers are aggravated and irritable because of the non stop calls coming in. The hardest part of the job is taking call after call, day after day, saying the same thing every time someone calls. The most enjoyable part of the day is clocking out to go home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere with hard working people
Tractor-Trailer Operator (Current Employee), Bethel PAOctober 28, 2013
Driving material to and from NJ, MD, WV and PA. My fellow employees and management are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work, lots of friends
Lineman (Former Employee), Altoona, PAOctober 21, 2013
A fun interesting place to work, lots of over time, cooperative management, enjoyed working with coworkers, interesting people, hardest part of job was working during storms, most enjoyable part of the job was the friendships made
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paid the bills
SO2 Scrubber Operator (Current Employee), Courtney, PaOctober 7, 2013
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: closed plant with little notice and wanted to take benefits and pay from us.
I originally started with Allegeny Energy. Alegheny was a great company that I loved working for and planned on retiring from. They were bought out by First Energy, who has shut down our plant and put many of us out of work. They gave us little notice and had little remorse.

1 2 3