Find companies:
First Financial Credit Union
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

First Financial Credit Union Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Credit Union Member Service
Member Service Representative II (Former Employee), Temecula, CAAugust 18, 2014
Pros: the environment of professionalism of a financial instutution, its member base and regularity of business hours
Cons: restrictions on who can be a member of the credit union
I open and closed the branch. Setup computers, balance vault, receive cash drawer and money for the day. Input all cashiers checks for printing, checked lobby for coffee and clean safe environment. Stocked all deposit slips, withdrawal slips and changed calendar date daily. Stocked up supplies needed for the branch. Took ATM deposits and balanced, mail – more... deposits and night drop deposits. I did all office procedures including answering the phone, faxing, filing, updating customer info, making money transfers upon customer requests, cross-selling of all credit union accounts, auto loans, credit cards and home loans on a daily basis. Took deposits, withdrawals and all transactions required of the customer. I learned a great deal of experience on how to cross-sell and be successful at my job when handling any and all banking transactions. The most changeling part of my job was being able to cross-sell to new customers as the credit union was a Teachers only financial institution restricting my ability to cross-sell to only a minimum due to location of the branch and profession of the customers as the private clientele was low and I was not able to go out and do business presentations to surrounding schools. Therefore making the job challenging to open new accounts. I enjoyed the professionalism of the banking institution, the regularity and the face to face relationships I had with my customers. I was always requested by customers and I was depended on by my team, co-workers, management to bring in positivity, friendliness, professionalism and experience in doing a job which I enjoyed in turn finding myself to be very successful at. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free, Fun, and Productive Workplace
Internship (Former Employee), West Covina, CAJune 10, 2014
Pros: phenomenal corporate policy, great workplace, open communication, awesome management
- Great freedom to think
- Awesome management
- Can exercise at lunch via gym or basketball courts
- Friendly workplace
- Great communication
- Never afraid to ask questions and learn
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Account Representative
Teller/Head Teller (Former Employee), Detroit, MIMay 13, 2014
Pros: diversity and culture of the business
Cons: state and federal audits
As vault tell I ensured all tellers had the appropriate amount of funds for the beginning of the new business day. Reviewed EFT documents to hand post deposits to appropriate accounts for any bills to the paid from account holders. Had to complete EFT exceptions showing that an error had occurred and to apply correct information so that these individuals – more... would not suffer delays of any transaction into or out of their respective account. Fielded a wide range of questions from our clientele. Opened and closed accounts as necessary. Took loan and Visa applications and completed credit checks. Upon approval of loans, I would process loan documents and close the loans with the client. Ordered and received cash from the Feds. Verified complete count of cash delivery. Processed by deposit by encoding checks for deposit via carrier service. Balanced vault throughout day and did final balance end of business. Encouraged management to spot balance for verification. Assisted tellers in their end of day balance of cash. Assisted in locating errors (if any) and correcting transaction. I established a well balanced training program that allowing each new employee to set their pace without outside pressures. This allowed each to achieve highest business goal. Our customers were the best and it was an absolute enjoyment because they accepted my team for whom we were and we gladly reciprocated. Getting ready for State and Federal audits were always the most anxious and challenging of times. Not that I was worried about the onset of the audit, but one never truly knows if one is completely prepared. However, each year I was Head Teller and Vault Teller, were rated Five Star Awards. The President and CFO were very approachable while at the same time very professional. Always had an open door policy. I was allowed to express suggestions which would or could lead to further open discussions. Working with this management team allowed myself to hone my customer service representative skills that both benefitted the business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst work place
Member Service Representative III (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 12, 2014
Worst management team and Worst Company to work for in my whole career lift
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier Specialist
Cashier Specialist (Current Employee), Montclair, CAMay 5, 2014
A typical day as a cashier specialist at First Financial Credit Union consists of assisting customers with all retail transactions such as deposits, withdrawals, check cashing, cashier checks, and credit advances. Cross selling products and services to consistently meet sales goals are very important and may be the hardest part of the job. First Financial – more... provides employees with training to enhance referral and sales performances.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the customer interaction and facilitating retention by responding to customer requests and inquiries. Being a team player is way of life at First Financial. Coachers and helpers are what you will find in a co-worker at First Financial Credit Union. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FFCU Summary
Branch Manager (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 11, 2014
Pros: monthly lunch sent to branches, good salary and benefits
Cons: poor executive leadership, very high turnover, high sales pressure
The company is based in West Covina and requires all branch employees to commute there on a regular basis. Training is lacking and can be delayed if there isn't a class available when a new employee starts. This creates an uncomfortable work environment because from day 1 the employee will be in the branch with no training and expected to figure it – more... out. The salaries and benefits are very strong, but the company severely lacks infrastructure. The computer programs used in the branches for sales and operations are archaic and need to be updated. The programs often crash or lack clear information, and many of the commands require letter codes that you are not taught, making even a simple sale very frustrating to process. The company intranet has multiple directories created by different departments that format differently, making it nearly impossible to find information when you need it. For example, an important document form would not necessarily be located under "Forms" but rather would be found under a different heading altogether.
You find that half your day is lost just trying to maneuver through the difficult processes set in place by the company rather than actually being able to focus on selling and producing. To make it worse, the culture is very prideful, and the mentality towards employees is "sink or swim". There is no room for expressing your ideas as a way to improve how the company operates. Instead the answer is "that's just how it's always been" or "you just get used to it and learn to accept it" or "don't worry about it and just focus on sales". The company likes to have monthly celebrations at the corporate HQ and isn't afraid to spend a lot of money on their parties. However, they have 0 tolerance for anyone who isn't 100% on board with their ideas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Dedication
Member Services Contact Rep (Former Employee), Covina, CAJanuary 25, 2014
Sales production focused, busy and multi task environment. Friendly and dedicated co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Corporate Internship (Former Employee), West Covina, CAAugust 17, 2013
Pros: gas card
Cons: non paid
During the internship, the Credit Union had offered to work in different department such as customer, sales, financing, and management. The hardest part is to learn as much as I can during every stay in different departments. The enjoyable part is I can learn how a Credit Union runs and meeting different people from different departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very small call center.
Phone Banker (Former Employee), West Covina, CAJuly 23, 2013
Pros: one of the pros was we had half days on every other friday.
Cons: a con was the management team.
A typical day at work was taking about 50 calls. I learn how to reach my goals on a daily basis. Management was not so great because they was not ready to help. My co-workers we helped each other because the management team was not friendly and willing to help. The hardest part of my job was dealing with my management team. The most enjoyable part of – more... my job was helping my members with there personal banking account. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORST PLACE TO WORK EVER
CSR (Former Employee), San diego, CAJune 22, 2013
I was a CSR here and let me tell you, this place does not know how to run things. They didn't even send me to training which was all the way in West Covina. almost 2 hours away from the branch in San Diego. They pretty much make you learn the ropes on your own. The branch manager did not know how to run things and always made the assistant branch manager – more... do his cut of the work. Don't even waste your time applying here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I ever worked
Branch Management (Former Employee), Inland EmpireOctober 20, 2012
Pros: nice members/customers
Cons: everything else
Don't be fooled by it being a credit union, they try and run it like a corporation but not smart enough, and poor senior leadership. Unrealistic goals and the turnover is ridiculous. Just take a look at their financials, they are losing money like it's going out of style and the only strategy from upper mgmt is layoffs. If your thinking about wking – more... there and you have another choice, for your own sake turn around and run as far and fast as you can! If u don't have another choice and you need a job, take it, and by all means keep looking for another job! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked my job and made it enjoyable helping customers
Senior Member Contact Representative (Former Employee), West Covina, CAJune 20, 2012
Pros: good company low rates for credit union loans
Cons: union did not give many raises, you had to be in the union and pay dues
call center fast paced environment. Sometimes employees were overlooked. Very talented individuals high turn over rate because company would not hire enough staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to work
Manager (Former Employee), Multiple locationsMay 30, 2012
Cons: where do i start?
This is the most oppressive and dangerous work environment possible. Stay away! They have a turnover rate at or near 90%, dysfunctional management, and a clueless board of directors. Lavish trips for management and the board and nothing but stress for employees. You are a long term employee if you make it past 6 months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place I've worked EVER!!!!
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), West Covina, CAApril 11, 2012
Pros: everything! career, benefits, pay.
Cons: can't think of any.
Assist members in reviewing all transactions made. Carefully and attentively processing all transactions. Sales, Sales, Customer Service, Sales.

I learned that working for a great company can reflect on your future goals. My management team was AWESOME!!! Each manager that I met was great at what they did, they were always willing to help you achieve – more... your goals. The hardest part was leaving this job! I enjoyed absolutely everything about this job, I was really looking forward to having a career here. – less

May 30, 2012

This review must be a joke! Why did you leave? This place is toxic to your emotional well bean!

About First Financial Credit Union

For over 75 years, First Financial has been dedicated to providing educators first-class banking in service, quality, value and – Read more