Find companies:
First Horizon Home Loans
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
31 reviews

First Horizon Home Loans Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Phone Job
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNMay 24, 2014
Pros: big kitchen
It's your typical phone job.
You do not get much time to talk to the people next to you or form many work relationships.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really liked this company
Loan Closing Specialist (Former Employee), Pleasanton, CAMay 8, 2014
Pros: my manager, the location, the pay and my co workers
Cons: really
I can not recall who my manager was, but she really liked me and the work I did. I liked her and my fellow co-workers. The company was a great company to work for, even though it was a temporary job.

Even though this was a temporary job, my manager wanted to hire me full time, but I declined because I was still in college and did not want to take a – more... full time, permanent job at that time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay
Teller (Former Employee), Memphis, TNApril 29, 2014
Low pay, Great employees. Long hours. System for data entry would break down often.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Corporation
Vice President, Network Operations (Former Employee), Irving, TXApril 29, 2014
Demanding, but rewarding at the same time. Treated employee's fairly, and rewarded appropriately.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No opportunity for growth within this company
Teller, Retail Support Services (Former Employee), memphis, tnMarch 16, 2014
Pros: off & paid for holidays
Cons: management is not supportive, very little room for advancement.
What the company reps say about the culture during orientation looks good on paper and sounds good to the ears, but is not the true culture. Advancing from the retail to corporate side is nearly impossible, as much favortism is shown--it's more about who you know. This company does not value those who are trying to advance. Even though they encourage – more... networking across the company, few, if any, will respond to "networking" attempts. Beware, especially if you are applying for a position on the Retail Support Services team! There is minimal chance for advancement; a large majority of tellers have been tellers for 5+ years, and are unhappy concerning failed attempts at advancing within the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mortgage Default
Bankruptcy Specialist II (Former Employee), Irving, TXJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: coworkers & workout facility
Cons: promotion
• Responsible for governing Chapter 7, 11, and 13 portfolios.
• Verified consent order terms, monitor pleadings and hearing dates.
• Processed relief on defaulted loans.
• Provided information to attorney's to comply with RESPA related issues.
• Corroborated terms and observe trustee compliance with Chapter 13 plan, retrieve PACER documents.
• Processed – more... relief, discharge, and dismissal orders.
• Detailed research, problem solving, customer service, asset management, and quality assurance.
• Balanced payment histories, provide attorneys with detailed escrow breakdown, pre/post-petition payment histories, and corporate fee breakdown. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everythign here was exceptional. Great management and experience
Producing Branch Manager (Former Employee), Irving, TXJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: mangement, employees, underwriting, processing
Cons: none.
Everyone here from the top to the very last clerk had a professional and customer service oriented attitude. Well educated and experienced, responsive to all suggestions and always accessible and in communication . Everything needed to be a great mortgage origination machine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Prime Regional Manager (Former Employee), Livermore, CADecember 9, 2013
Pros: environment, products, management
Cons: marketing
First Horizon was a great company to work for. Great environment and supportive management. They offered a great list of products and training for all employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented
Shipper II (Former Employee), Irving, TXOctober 22, 2013
Pros: a flexible schedule
Cons: long ride to work
First Horizon is a family oriented company. They treat there employees like family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company no longer around
Executive Aide II (Former Employee), Tustin, CAAugust 21, 2013
Loved everything about working here until my job ended involuntary due to reduction in workforce back in 2006. Since then, the company went out of business and the mortgage industry never quite bounced back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work...
Mortgage Loan Servicing Analysis (Current Employee), Irving, TXAugust 20, 2013
Very flexible and supportive. Challenging yet friendly.

Everyone shoots straight and treats people with respect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good experience in the mortgage business.
Servicing Lead- Processed (Former Employee), Irving, TXAugust 8, 2013
I learned processes from various departments in the company. I was able to gain incite on the different loans, foreclosure and bancruptcy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to Work
Loss Mitigation Workout Specialist III (Former Employee), Irving, TXAugust 3, 2013
First Horizon was my first mortgage career. I loved the way they recognized when the job was well done and how always promoted/rewarded hard work. I started there as a customer service rep, one year later they promoted me to collections. After a year in collections, I then applied to loss mitigation and began may way to work up to a Loss Mitigation – more... Supervisor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working in the mortgage field to help people find/build their dream homes.
Construction Lending Processor/ Loan Officer (Former Employee), Denver, CO and the Atlanta Ga areaJuly 24, 2013
Pros: meeting new people/clients and helping them achieve their goals of home ownership
Cons: market rates go up, business goes way down. commissions only jobs are tough.
I felt I was an excellent communicator between the client and what it takes to build/purchase or refinance a home.
I enjoyed the work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant Work Envirnment
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Tustin CaMay 20, 2013
Pros: innovative
Cons: slow response
Executive Level Management very involved in all processes including creating a work place geared for success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We had fun games days.
Post-Closing Specialist (Former Employee), Irving, texasMay 9, 2013
Pros: game days and free lunches
Cons: short breaks
I really enjoyed my work time with this company. The company loves us. We was treated like Family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salary/compensations too low as well as job security uncertainty
Client Specialist II (Current Employee), Memphis, TNApril 30, 2013
Banking industry is always changing with the economy. For this company the salary compensation for employees in key sales positions is not comparable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked the people I worked with at this company
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Pittsburgh PAFebruary 15, 2013
Pros: location of office was close to home
Cons: company closed
Reviewed daily reports for pipeline, locks, compliance

I also would process and close loans when needed

I worked with the people in my office for over 10 years and we had fun working together
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sup Prime mortgage lending
Mortgage Loan Originator (Former Employee), Florence, KYFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: helping people
Cons: bad company
Company had major internal problems. Programs and policies continually changed. A failing industry and bad decisions brough the USA to it's knees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the associates
Teller (Former Employee), Memphis,TNOctober 15, 2012
Pros: nice associates
Cons: no 15 min breaks.
They have a high turnover rate. You can have a job today but, gone tomorrow.

About First Horizon Home Loans

First Horizon National Corporation is a premier financial services company with a long history of success and traditions dating – Read more