Find companies:
First Merchants Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 reviews

First Merchants Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee), Highland, INAugust 24, 2014
A typical day consists of managing accounts, assisting clients, Many opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Bank
Mortgage Loan Originator (Former Employee), Muncie, INApril 7, 2014
Pros: great people.
Cons: some politics.
Wonderful bank with a lot of very smart people. Everybody is very professional and quick to handle client needs. The only downside is the existence of some politics (in my opinion).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Always treated me with respect
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Connersville, INFebruary 26, 2014
Great place to work. Always treated me with respect. Ample opportunity for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company encourages success.
Customer Service Representative - Reserve (Former Employee), Lafayette regionDecember 11, 2013
Pros: good pay and reimbursement
Cons: healthcare plan is not great, my position had no predictability in the schedule
This company will teach you anything you need to know and will make sure you have the tools available to you that you need to succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Branch
Service Associate (Current Employee), Pendleton, INOctober 27, 2013
Pros: excellent manager, company supports work/home balance
Cons: education not considered in determining compensation, therefore well educated employees are paid less than high school graduates, not much room for advancement.
Management at the branch is outstanding. She understands the value of family and makes it possible for us to balance our lives. A typical day at work is full of friendly customer service and we strive to go above and beyond expectations to meet our customer's needs. We are an "in demand" branch, some drive extra miles to visit us. My co-workers are – more... all in different phases of their lives, so we balance each other well. They're a fun bunch of girls to work with. I enjoy talking with the different customers we have, and I find satisfaction in helping them in any way I am allowed. The hardest part of my job is not really a "function" issue, it's the lack of feeling like I leave work with a sense of accomplishment. Being a bank teller is very repetitive and there are not many situations that arise that I can achieve that sense of accomplishment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working at FMB
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Greenwood, INSeptember 16, 2013
I loved working at First Merchants Bank. I got to know my customers and develop a relationship with them. My co workers and I got along very well we all became very good friends. I started as a teller and in March of 2013 I became the CSR. I was then in charge of the teller line and I opened all accounts. I liked being in charge and having more responsibilities – more... . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Leadership
Vice President, Regional Manager (Current Employee), Anderson, INNovember 26, 2012
Great leadership with a positive direction. Employees come first, except when it comes to compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teller and Vault Teller
Teller (Current Employee), Decatur, INSeptember 18, 2012
I have basic teller duties plus vault duties. I control all the money coming and going from the vault. I assist customers everyday with basic transactions and personal financing. I have learned a lot of customer service skills along with the many, ever-changing, bank procedures. Over the course of the past few years we have had several managers oversee – more... us, they tend to take promotions elsewhere in the bank. I have come to think of my co-workers as my friends. We make eachother laugh and know how to cheer eachother up when we are having a off day. One of the hardest parts of my job is making sure there is an adequate supply of money while staying within a limit. I do enjoy my co-workers and dealing with the deposit side of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I've been a loyal employee of First Merchants for 32 years
Wire Transfer Team Leader (Current Employee), Muncie, INMay 7, 2012
Pros: good place to work
Cons: opportunities for long term employees.
I've been a loyal employee of First Merchants for 32 years and I'm currently searching for a new career in a professional environment.

About First Merchants Bank

Since our beginnings in 1893, we understand that it’s about the customer. We make our customers feel at home. We show – Read more