First Niagara Bank Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 165 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mamagement
xxxx (Former Employee) –  xxxJune 14, 2016
The upper management not trust worthy the branch management is excellent where i worked last not the previous branch

In the branch i worked everyone where good nice team i worked in two location in my first location it was good until the old boss, once the new boss took over it was not pleasant to work at that branch ever one hated that person that's why lot of co workers left that place.that person was a good friend of the upper management they do what ever they want
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Operations Specialist (Wires) (Current Employee) –  Lockport nyMay 16, 2016
Keybank is taking over soon and many jobs will be lost. Decent pay, but the department that I work for currently does not care much about job work/life balance.
Pros
pay
Cons
healthcare, curent position does not promote a good job work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with "family"!
Teller-Part Time (Current Employee) –  Brunswick, NYMay 10, 2016
BEST managers, kind, caring believe in family comes 1st.

Great training and many possibilities to move up, if you like.

All positive, no negative's.
Pros
GREAT CO WORKERS, MANAGEMENT, TRAINING!
Cons
NONE
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Assistant Vice President (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMay 3, 2016
Great culture and work environment. Friendly and knowledgably staff. Teamwork and comradery are in abundance. They really look out for one another and treat you like family.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Starter Company
Customer Care Representative (Current Employee) –  Maple Glen, PAApril 25, 2016
Really like the culture of First Niagara. Good starter position but very hard to move up within the company. The tend to hire more people from outside the company than from with in.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for, benefits and incentives
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Lockport, NYApril 24, 2016
A typical day at work, assisting customers with account information, problem solving with accounts, including with online banking. I've learned how the banking systems works on a daily basis. Management tries everyday to make working here fun, with contest and prizes. Co-workers, work together to help each other. Sometimes, the hardest part of the job is being on the phones all day and having, some customer's, just not appreciate what you do to try and help solve their needs. The best part of the job, is when you get that one customer, who really appreciates what you did to help them and they tell you what a wonderful person you are to have helped solve their needs.
Pros
The co-workers and sometimes the contest for prizes
Cons
short lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Life experience
Item Processing Specialist II (Current Employee) –  Cheektowaga, NYApril 21, 2016
Working for this company I counted the vault down at night, as well as count and verify many cash deposits throughout the day. I also on occasion helped pack and fill cash orders for customers and branches.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self motivated, goal setter
Sales and Service of Financial clients (Current Employee) –  Delmar, NYApril 16, 2016
Typical day starts with goal setting and focus to achieve said goals. I have learned that private industry has certain ebb and flows that if coordinated with can reach over-all targets.

The hardest part of my job is coordinating events to accomplish known goals on a timely basis.

The most enjoyable part of my job is the enjoyment of the people I am surrounded by.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent regional bank to grow with
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYApril 13, 2016
Great company to work for, and to grow in. Full service bank with multiple lines of businesses to learn in. Excellent management support.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company to work
Collateral Appraisal Analyst (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYApril 10, 2016
First Niagara Bank is a great place to work. The work culture is amazing and lots of learning opportunities. Management is very helpful and always supports employee advancement and development.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place to work no etiquette
Senior Customer Care Representative (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYMarch 29, 2016
The people i worked with were thieves now pretty much all of them got let go since Key Bank has acquired them.


Very stressful to work for and sales pressure forcing products on customers that they don't need.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very friendly and fun place to work at.
Bank Teller - Full Time (Former Employee) –  Pearl River, NYMarch 28, 2016
My overall experience at First Niagara was all positive. I was an intern and everyone who worked there showed great respect to me and treated me as if I had been a part of the company for awhile.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, current merger causing job loss.
Operations Specialist III - Wire Transfer Services (Current Employee) –  Lockport, NYMarch 28, 2016
Great place to work - great pay, bonuses and advancement opportunities, although, current merger is causing job loss. I would stay if I could.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Centric
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee) –  Columbia, CTMarch 16, 2016
Regular Customer facing interaction. Outgoing sales requirements to drive revenue. Tight knit team of platform/teller line associates.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place enhance your skills
Sr.NET Developer (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMarch 1, 2016
I have a learn large amount new skill's with working in first Niagara bank.

Working with team of 6 in the tracking portfolio for the past 6 month's, I've been team lead and produces the best of all my teammate.

Over your life in FNB is balanced.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hoping for better
Senior Developer (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAFebruary 17, 2016
Everything in IT was outsourced. Lack of intellectual property within the company. Things will look better after integration because of acquisition.
Pros
work culture, benefits
Cons
lack of vision, IT operations outsourced
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great company to work for
Customer Care Representative (Current Employee) –  Dunkirk, NYFebruary 11, 2016
First Niagara is a good company, but we are being sold to Key Bank. I believe when First Niagara Bank bought out HSBC 3 years ago, they just got in too deep.
They are a good, family based company to work for and they are always concerned that their employees have a well balanced family and work life.
there are many opportunities for advancement if you wanted to work in the Buffalo Market.
Pros
vacation, and incentives
Cons
I honestly cant think of any
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self Employment
Vice President, Senior Facility Manager (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYFebruary 4, 2016
I enjoyed my time being self employed as I enhanced my business management experience by starting the business from scratch. I was challenged everyday to effectively manage cashflow, employees, customers and business development opportunities.
Pros
Self employed
Cons
Self employed
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going out of business
Temp Operations Specialist (Current Employee) –  Lockport, NYJanuary 14, 2016
Company is behind on technology and probably the reason they are going under and being bought by key. I have not worked for the company long enough to really be able to give a good judgement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Registered Representative LPL (Former Employee) –  Allentown, PAJanuary 14, 2016
the job is working for a bank. it involves investments, lending, and deposits. client retention and enrollment. first niagara bank was purchased by key bank.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 165 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture