First Niagara Financial Group Employee Reviews

Showing all 32 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place I've ever worked at
Client Service Analyst (Current Employee) –  Amherst, NYJune 22, 2016
A place that is truly interested in seeing its employees grow and progress throughout the company. All managers are very approachable, and coworkers are amazing. All employees are work as a family and not just another number in the seat.
Pros
Flexible, Family life based, training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fnfg
First Vice President, Technology Risk Officer (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMarch 21, 2016
Great company implementing next-generation banking technology capabilities. Excellent work culture with top talent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture and working environment
VP Solutions Delivery Manager/Relationship Manager (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PANovember 6, 2015
Really enjoyed the team work and culture supported by senior management. The IT organization and Lines of Business were strategically aligned.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Orientated
Asst. Compliance Testing Manager, VP (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYOctober 31, 2015
First Niagara is a family first orientated workplace. The management and staff allow employees the work/life balance that many individuals desire.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro Managers
Technology Help Desk/Data Center Operations (Former Employee) –  Lockport, NYSeptember 15, 2015
I had a brief stay with the First Niagara bank. The people I worked with were great. Very nice and hard working. But the IT manager was a lunatic. If he was gone, the department would probably run much better. The training provided wasn't very good and you pretty much had to rely on guessing for most of the work.
Pros
Great opportunities for advancing, nice office
Cons
Poor training, micro manager, not a fun environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot!
Mortgage Specialist (Contract Employee) (Former Employee) –  Amherst, NYAugust 14, 2015
This place was good. Learned a lot and had good co workers. It was only a contract job so that would be my only complaint. I really liked learning and working in the mortgage industry.
Pros
Helpful co-workers
Cons
Wasnt hiring. It was contract work only.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing career.
Customer Care Representative (CCR) (Current Employee) –  North Wales, PAMay 16, 2015
Amazing place to work at. Great people and a great work/life balance. There is a lot of paid time off and if you don't use it all in one year, it will roll over to the next. Also, the work environment is very corporate which is also a plus.
Pros
PTO, Co-workers, hours
Cons
short breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people doing their best
SVP, Retail Marketing Director (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMay 7, 2015
First Niagara is a great place to work.

The company is learning to operate in the new slower-growth economy and has committed to make massive investments in its future by devoting $250 million to building a new technology platform.

Another area of focus is bringing all employees together and re-invigorating the customer-centric culture that existed when the bank was smaller.

Many departments have seen multiple leadership changes in the past several years. Though the talented people in my department were often challenged by rapidly changing priorities of leadership, most put their shoulder to the wheel and did their best.

I will say that, despite the challenges, some of the best leaders I've worked with in my career are at First Niagara. I have high hopes for the company.
Pros
Great Employees, Solid Tradition, Good Compensation
Cons
Changing Leadership Priorities, Frequent Restructuring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small company with amazing work culture - Finance Departments
Financial Data Analyst II - ALM (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYApril 17, 2015
People are very accomodative and open to your ideas.
You will have the flexibilty to try and do what you like.
Cons: Lesser pay and yearly bonuses are also very less even if your are a high performer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Culture
VP, Business Development Manager (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMarch 17, 2015
The company has a good culture. Management has good top down approach to communication. The company also has limited silos between departments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Human Resources Dept DOES NOT protect their employees from Management Complaints (Retailiation)
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMarch 3, 2015
First Niagara Financial Group preach the Culture to the employees, but they don't live by the Culture that they speak about.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place to work. concern re: organizational structure
Senior Customer Care Representative (Current Employee) –  Avon, CTFebruary 24, 2015
decent place to work. concern re: organizational structure. the bank needs to improve upon its technology so that it can better service their customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Niagara Financial Group hires the best people they can find
Telephone Banking Representative (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYFebruary 23, 2015
During a typical day at work I answered phone calls and interacted with emails with a wide variety of subject matters.

They required extra help with their department due to a merger bringing on clients from the New England region.

What I learned was that the difference between a bank and a credit union is substantial, especially in terms of their attitude towards the client.

I felt that most of the people that I worked with were smart and decent people who were getting a fair chance in life to have a career that they deserved.

The hardest part of the job was being able to intake high call volume about people's more complex banking needs.

The most enjoyable aspect of this employment experience was the parties that they had in the office.

I feel that this is a valuable asset to my resume and that prospective employers will chose to move forward with this as soon as possible.
Pros
overtime
Cons
temporary employment rather than full time permanent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Niagara Financial Group
Project Manager, Vice President, PMP certified (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYDecember 17, 2014
First Niagara has afforded me the opportunity to learn a new industry and connect with a whole new network of individuals in the financial services industry.

The continued success of First Niagara and its employees only strengthens and helps Buffalo and its surrounding areas grow in the financial industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and benefits, nice atmosphere
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Queensbury, NYAugust 24, 2014
Well managed and cared for, good pay and hours, friendly atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with but the company seems to not know what it really wants.
Assistant Teller Supervisor, Teller Supervisor (Former Employee) –  North Wales, PAAugust 14, 2014
i have met a lot of great people while working at First Niagara. the day mostly consist of processing teller transactions and referring products to those who were in need. i felt management didn't quite understand how things were on the branch level. i felt there was a heavy push in sales and generating traffic but a lack of focus on customer service. some of the practices that upper management wanted us to use contradicted the company's culture. i felt the sales was the hardest part of the job, but i got to meet a lot of diverse and incredible people, whether employees or customers, which was the most enjoyable part of the job. i learned a lot about regulations of the industry, management skills, and a lot about finances in general, stuff they should be teaching in schools.
Pros
all federal holidays off
Cons
heavy push in sales in an economy that wants none.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work for PNC instead
Client Sales and Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAApril 23, 2014
I had previous worked for PNC before, but when I moved back to Pittsburgh, they had no openings.

First Niagara's retail banking is a joke. The goal expectations are unobtainable and any position above teller is on shakey ground. They annually purge employees to cut costs... but they do give you a severance package.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's just okay
Teller (Current Employee) –  Eastern PennsylvaniaApril 6, 2014
A typical day at work includes a morning huddle. No big deal, but it is essentially just an opportunity for your managers to tell you that the branch isn't producing enough of this or that and need to step up the game. Obviously upper management is breathing down their neck about productivity and sales, but you can't necessarily "sell" checking accounts, and interest rates are low at this company. Customers have laughed in my face when I recommend a product and they hear what their interest would be. Again, management is okay, but I get the feeling they're only in it for themselves. The company just "let go" an abundance of managers, so in their eyes they need to keep doing something right, or they're next. I don't think employees should be afraid to work at a company. Certain accounts you don't get sales credit for, but management still needs you to sell them. Not only does that make the job more challenging, but each day it becomes increasingly more frustrating. Sales goals are straight-forward, but increase each year; don't expect to succeed in this company unless you are an absolutely SALES-ORIENTED employee and love it. The enjoyable part of the company is the culture. They have an employee volunteer council and gives back to the community. Work/life balance is good, most branches are only open until 1pm on saturdays and closed sundays, so it's a 9-5 type job. However... if you're a worrier and do not like the pressure of having to make sales, or are not customer-oriented, this company may not be right for you.
Pros
company culture, volunteer opportunities, gives back to the community, do "competitions" for sales so you can win extra $$ etc...
Cons
Incentive plan for tellers is not up to par, stressful at times, a very sales-oriented environment
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great corporate culture, growing company
Assistant Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Wexford, PAMarch 11, 2014
Strong financial retail bank that excels in business banking.
Pros
Great hours, large customer base
Cons
Slowing banking industry
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Banker
Banker (Former Employee) –  Lockport, NYJanuary 4, 2014
Small company. Located in Upstate New York. Retail banking. Terrible benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at First Niagara Financial Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 32 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4

First Niagara Financial Group Reviews by Location