Find companies:
First Place Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

First Place Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Community Bank with intense focus on sales and service culture.
AVP Corporate Recruiting Officer (Former Employee), Warren, OHFebruary 6, 2014
Prior to being acquired by Talmer Bancorp, First Place Bank was the leader in Community Banking in our footprint. We had a strong Senior Team with a focus on employees. Our corporate core values were part of our everyday. "RITE STUFF" - Respect, Integrity, Trust, Empathy, Service, Teamwork, Unique, Focus, FUN! We were very involved in our communities – more... via strong partipation with organizations/events such as the United Way, the United Way Day of Caring, Relay for Life, Panerathon to name a few. Our employees were involved, happy, customer service oriented and recognized by management via many avenues to include our Formal and Inforrmal Recognition Programs, Annual Sales and Service BASH and in the normal day to day work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better Opportunities
Senior Sales Associate (Current Employee), Ravenna, OHJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: certain employees/customers get you through your days
Cons: cutting hours, not receiving time & half anymore on weekends, no pay increases in 3 years or so
A typical day at work usually includes finding a task to do. This bank is undergoing a conversion with another bank, so typically waiting on customers is rare. They basically are having us go through files all day pulling old stuff and shredding it. Usually the upper management is sitting in an office with the door closed gossiping, or not even there – more... at all. Its hard finding someone to help you when you have an issue. Most days customers come in upset, do to all the changes. Its hard seeing good people upset especially when there used to one thing then after 20 years they have to obied by another. I would say the hardest part of my job is finding a way to convince myself that i believe in this company and what it stands for. Going on 5 years with First Place Bank, and i want to believe it will turn back into the company i once was proud of working for, thats why i am still there even after all the changes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supportive family environment
Banking Specialist (Former Employee), Warren, OHJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: changes in regulations caused the back to be bought by a non local bank
First Place Bank was a very comfortable, friendly and goal orientented environment. Job advanvcement was achievable with training and support of staff and management. It was a company that provided good, sound products to the public and always provided excellent customer service. We always took pride in that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with a great team.
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Boardman, OHJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: everything about the company.
Cons: each branch is a little different.
First Place Bank is a great company that has a lot of awesome hard working people that are always there to help. There is always room to advance and everyone is willing to teach you new things. The hardest part of the job would be understanding exactly what the customers need to have done. However, when you are able to fix the customers problems and – more... have them leave happy then you know you did your jo right and that is truly enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loan Process
Loan Processor (Former Employee), Ravenna,OhDecember 19, 2013
Went through the loans and put them in the computer.
Huds,and other paperwork in the file.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Loan Officer (Current Employee), Rockville, MDDecember 9, 2013
Great mentors to teach about the banking industry. Everyday was a new challenge that allowed me to utilize problem solving skills along with management skills I acquired during my time in the military.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful staff, flexible management.
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Warren, OHNovember 22, 2013
Working at First Place has been a rewarding and educational experience. Management is flexible and directive. A good experience working here!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment.
Jr. Underwriter (Former Employee), Neptune Beach, FLNovember 19, 2013
Pros: encouraging work enviroment.
Cons: bussiness slowed down.
By far the best place I have ever worked! As an employee we were encouraged to perform our best, concerns and complaints regarding operations were heard. Edward Mowat is the best boss to work for. Working for First Place Bank, now EMM Mortgage Loans, was a very educational experience. I learned to fully dissect my work duties, in doing so, I never found – more... myself in a position that I had to stop working because of a system error. I exceeded all expectations put on me by my employer and left this position with a positive exit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back envirnoment
Senior Electronic Funds Transfer Specialist (Former Employee), Warren, OHSeptember 19, 2013
Enjoyed working with many differnet people. Was a friendly environment to work in
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
changing environment
Regional Operations Officer (Former Employee), Elyria, OHSeptember 2, 2013
Pros: close to home
Cons: too much travel
First Place Bank was bought by another financial institution after I resigned. I have no experience with the new management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Service Associate (Current Employee), ClevelandAugust 27, 2013
Pros: it is a job
Cons: do not care about customers
Management has been severely lacking for several years. With a new company taking over it has only been made worse. Key players are making poor decisions and not for the benefit of customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sound Bank with Sound Banking Principles
Senior Credit Risk Officer (Current Employee), Boardman, OhioAugust 21, 2013
Sound Bank with Sound Banking Principles
Great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Loss Mitigation Negotiator (Current Employee), Ravenna, OhioJuly 13, 2013
Pros: lenient on time
Cons: commute, computer system
I worked with our borrowers who had difficulty making their mortgage payments in determining what their best option would be based on their situation. Management allowed you to do what needed to be done. I learned several skills including how to deal with government processes (Fannie Mae & Freddie Mac), vendor software, reimbursement requests, and monthly – more... reporting. My co-workers were helpful in trying to reach goals in all positions. The best part of this job was that management understood that their employees had lives outside of the bank and allowed them time if needed to deal with any issues that came up. Unfortunately, the bank was sold and my position is being eliminated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Train, coach and oversee staff of 12 employees (Current Employee), Boardman, OhioMay 29, 2013
Pros: nice sized institution
Cons: bank was purchased and is now in transition
Company has a caring attitude toward it's employee. IT systems have been lacking and management was lacking in their oversight. After the purchase by another institution these issues are changing rapidly for the better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people to work with
Day and Night Batch Operator (Current Employee), Warren, OHApril 23, 2013
Pros: establish friendships
Cons: losing job in july 2013
co workers are great!
management is wonderful!
The hardest part is I will be losing my job in July 2013.
The most enjoyable part of my job is that I get to work from home in the evenings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Bank
Credit Risk Manager (Former Employee), Youngstown, OhioDecember 27, 2012
Community bank with some inefficiencies. Overall a good place if you are in mortgage business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Bank serving the needs of fellow citizens
Executive Vice President, Human Resources (Current Employee), Southfield, MIAugust 26, 2012
Provides great customer service to a population often over-looked and/or under-served by larger banks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Job
Service Associate (Current Employee), Cleveland Heights,OHJuly 5, 2012
Community bank, very personal with your customer,
Typical dat at work, open/close accounts, balance vault/atm, customer service, answer phones, count cash, etc

July 12, 2012

HAVE APPLIED FOR THE SECONDARY MARKETING POSITION SEVERAL TIMES.......NO RESPONSE?????? WITH 20 YEARS EXPERIENCE IN INDUSTRY?

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in Wholesale Loan Division
Suspension Coordinator (Former Employee), Ravenna, OHMarch 4, 2012
Pros: great rapport with fellow employees.
Cons: temporary position with no benefits.
I worked in the Wholesale Loan Division with investors who purchased bulk conventional and governmental loans.