First Quality Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 70 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable place to work
Forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Macon, GAJune 22, 2016
a typical day at First Quality, check off sit down forklift for ex. making sure break lights worked and horn etc. daily. Learned how to operate a stand up forklift, the hardest part of my job was trying to catch up from the other shift to make sure i was moving at a steady pace. The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to come to work everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, poor management
Instructional Designer (Former Employee) –  Hazleton, PAJune 21, 2016
Great company to work for. The salary's are reasonable and benefits exceptional. Management is green and stuck in own ways
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working environment
Utility Person (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYJune 21, 2016
always on your feet
i have learned all skills regarding floor care
management is decent
co-workers, many different personalities
the hardest part of the job is making sure that the details are accurate and they aren't many flaws, in other words perfect
the most enjoyable part of the job is working around and seeing celebrities
Pros
great salary
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Work Related to JDE CNC
CNC Consultant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 22, 2016
Work culture is very good in FQ. Even though we worked form Off-shore then also we have freedom of work and FQ is accepting our suggestions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place
Line Leader (Former Employee) –  Hazleton, PAMay 16, 2016
Lead each group to reach our main goal while working with them as a Team Player. Worked with a diverse group of people in order to meet production deadlines
Pros
Nice Summer Company Picnics
Cons
Short Brakes
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, clean, and safe
LINE LEADER (Current Employee) –  Lewistown, PAApril 4, 2016
Great place to work. Management is wonderful and very easy to work with. Only down fall is working nights, especially if you have young children.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult place to work
Process Engineer (Former Employee) –  McElhattan, PAMarch 31, 2016
As an Engineer, it is very hard to satisfy management. There is a ton of micromanagement that is not necessary. If you have your own opinion it is not wanted at First Quality, it is either there way or the highway. I would not recommend working for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Last Quality!
Tech 3 (Former Employee) –  Hazelton PAMarch 18, 2016
The work is not hard. You work on a crew of 4 or more people. Usually understaffed. People are always calling off or quitting. The people here are awful! Think highschool but much much worse. They take way too many breaks and have way too much downtime so they spend it gossiping and causing drama. Due to the people alone I would not recommend working here. Go elsewhere, the stress is not worth it ! The people are nasty and have horrible attitudes. Production managers play favoritism. There has been drugs found, people on drugs or drunk. People having affairs with one another. Terrible people!
Pros
easy work, on site cafeteria
Cons
The people, No training program, no organization, favortism, terrible leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pathetic management.
Quality (Former Employee) –  FQ Print and Pack, Anderson, SCMarch 12, 2016
Plant Manager and HR manager run everything. The name First Quality is a joke because the Plant Manager will have hold tags ripped off rejected material and shipped. Corrupt, unethical and toxic environment. These same two people have no concern for safety either. Just unbelievable that these two are still employed. Hopefully they are no longer there. Obviously a reflection of the ownership if they are. Beware, do not consider this place for employment.
Pros
Nice new building
Cons
Toxic Plant Manager and HR Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes16No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommend
Tech Operator (Former Employee) –  Hazleton, PAFebruary 24, 2016
This site isn't a healthy place to work. It is all about production! You can start training on one line but always move to lines that are short handed. You have to learn too much to move up levels to get a raise. There are too many clicks around the plant. There is not much room for advancement. I would not recommend working here!!!!!!!!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything, 12hr shifts, benefits to expensive, lack of training, moving from line to line, muilt-tasking, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes15No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About my work place
Material handler (Current Employee) –  Pendleton, SCFebruary 14, 2016
I was an inspector at lafrance making sure there was no defects in cloth and taking the defects out. Maknig sure nothing bad got to the customer that wasnt suppose to. I learned a lot about inspecting you have to pay attention to every thing that you do.The hardest part was hooking up your on frame to the machanie..My management was great help in any way to make sure you were sucessful at what you did..Co-workers were great it was 8 women to a shift and we all worked well together. The most enjoyable thing was getting up coming to that job everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do NOT recommend
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Anderson, SCFebruary 10, 2016
This company culture is broken. They have had 4 plant managers in 4 years. They have conducted employee surveys and refuse to listen and act upon the issues. The swing shift has too short of a turnaround. They hire and fire at incredible rates. I would guess they have a 60% turnover rate. No one knows where they stand. They will give some employees improvement plans and others they show the door. They do not show any loyalty to anyone. Employees that work hard and are promoted do not make as much as new employees.

It is a shame that a company can come in and develop a horrible reputation in a short period of time.
Pros
Discount quality products, on-site gym, quarterly bonuses
Cons
Management is incompetent, swing shifts, Owners in the dark or don't care
Was this review helpful?Yes20No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Converting Operator (Former Employee) –  Anderson, SCFebruary 1, 2016
Work long hours for very little pay. The whole plant is ran by the good old by system, who you know is how you move up not by skill or hard work.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Dont work here
Was this review helpful?Yes18No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Qualtiy Print and Pak Anderson,SC
Everything (Former Employee) –  Anderson, SCJanuary 22, 2016
Business leaders fires for no reason, High turnover, terrible HR Manager, long hours low pay. Management is corrupt and does not care about its employees.

Stay away. You won't be there very long once you figure out they are all incompotent.

If you become employed there get everything in writing first.
Watch your back.
Pros
None
Cons
Incompetent Management. High turnover across the board.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A well managed facility!
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Hazleton, PADecember 30, 2015
This facility is very well maintained as well as safe! Great co-workers and management! The hardest part of this job was downtime, getting things ready for start up!
Was this review helpful?Yes10No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great while it lasted!
Transportation Coordinator (Former Employee) –  McDonough, GADecember 19, 2015
I loved working for FQ until they restructured the entire organization. I was not able to relocate, so I had to take their severance package and move on.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Inspector (Former Employee) –  McElhattan, PANovember 3, 2015
Started with a short meeting and stretching then went to work areas and watched product go through the line to make sure they were sealed correctly. About every two hours we went to a ten minute break or twenty minute break. Worked twelve hour shifts. It is a good place to work if you can do it.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Distributor Control Specialist (Current Employee) –  Anderson, SCAugust 20, 2015
A good company to work, always learning new and improved processes. Everyone was friendly always willing to help each other out.
Was this review helpful?Yes21No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many Bosses
Electrical/Mechanical Technician (Former Employee) –  Hazleton, PAAugust 10, 2015
Very good place to work ,very good people . Five bosses for every line make work a struggle .also stuck on nightshif . great year end bonus
Pros
year end and quartley bonus
Cons
managmnt
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Macon, GAAugust 4, 2015
First Quality is a good employer that cares about its customers and the quality of products its produces. I gained a lot of experience in my time with the company because of knowledgeable team members. Some position within the company lack advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No7

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 70 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1