First Step of Sarasota Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 10 reviews
Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization
Drug Testing Technician (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLMarch 13, 2017
Great management.
Moderate opportunities for advancement.
Positive workplace culture and environment.
The most enjoyable part of the job was making a difference in the lives of others.
Pros
People
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized and poor leadership.
Intervention Specialist (Former Employee) –  Venice, FLFebruary 7, 2017
I worked in the Venice outpatient office where I was to "create my own position". I walked into a storm of backstabbing coworkers who tell stories about each other and have little respect for anyone who is not in their social click.

Because the "in" crowed did not like me, they lied about me on an incident report.

As a result of the incident report, the VP of Clinical Services fired me without even investigating the situation.

I was denied unemployment because they claimed that I was insubordinate to someone who was not even my superior, they also claimed that I knowingly violated company policy and caused turmoil with a client who was having a mental breakdown. I had no contact with the client and was never even in his line of site.

I was also to have a field position and the VP did not have the forethought to request approval for a "hot spot" so I could do my job. This caused friction in the office as I had to use the office of other workers.

Poor management, poor development, poor supervision.
Pros
None, the whole experience was a disaster
Cons
Poor management, poor development, poor supervision.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over all good job
Substance Abuse Technician (Current Employee) –  Sarasota, FLJune 29, 2016
I work night shift this job is rarely easy and laid back I've work for the facility for 2 years and I really have no complaints I need a morning job
Pros
getting to work out side of a nursing home in to a facility with people who need help mentally
Cons
very laid back staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair workplace
Clinician (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLSeptember 22, 2015
Fun work place with supportive peers. Good work environment, large company but not much room for growth. hardest part of the job was seeing individuals with substance abuse issues.
Pros
Friendly co-workers
Cons
no supervision in order to progress in career
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay. Poor leadership.
Addictions Counselor (Current Employee) –  Sarasota, FloridaSeptember 16, 2015
I worked in the Choices program which is funded through the Department of Corrections. Many issues were never addressed regarding employee performance. I was fired and feel they were looking for any reason so they could make budget cuts. They do not care about the clients or the big picture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awonderful place to work
Director (Current Employee) –  Sarasota, FLJune 6, 2014
A wonderful place to work in a strict but laid back atmosphere.
Pros
Given free rain to run my department
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Group Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLJanuary 6, 2014
The staff is great to work with very supportive and management is very approachable and excellent teachers
Pros
Great people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Detox unit
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Sarasota, FLJune 19, 2013
Addictions receiving facility/ detox unit admitting voluntary and involuntary clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  Sarasota, FLMay 2, 2013
Easy job. Some of the patients can be trying. But overall its a good place to work and excellant place to gain experience in the addictions field.
Pros
excellent PTO
Cons
no teamwork
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at First Step of Sarasota. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4

First Step of Sarasota Reviews by Location