Find companies:
First Step
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

First Step Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lacks management
Certified Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Mullica Hill, NJDecember 7, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: no breaks
Great place to learn and start but lacks management. No procedures in place. Employees are not helpful. No place for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very organized, work friendly,teamwork,experienced,patient,and productive.
Ongoing Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Vernon, NYOctober 22, 2014
Pros: great teamwork
Cons: salary
Traveled almost everyday, mostly worked from home.
Work at First Step was a very friendly environment,worked well with others. Big Team work effort. Management was very organized. Loved working with the families and children. Loved my Face to Face meeting and interacting with the child.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging at times
Child Care Instructor (Current Employee), Malvern, ARSeptember 3, 2014
Typical day, busy, loved children and work with a great group of people in my class.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding
Owner & Director (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TexasNovember 9, 2013
Pros: making a difference in young people lives
Cons: some long hours
I loved working with young children, teachers and other staff members in this learning environment. I was the owner and operator for this childcare business so I had a lot of responsibility on a day to day basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at First Step,inc.
Bus Monitor (Former Employee), Hot Springs, ARNovember 7, 2013
Pros: taking care of the kids.teaching them songs, playing games, etc.
Cons: part-time, no benefits, split shift.
I left to further my education. Felt it was time to move on.
I felt the calling for the medical field. I felt i could help more people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding work
Manager (Former Employee), Hot Springs, ARJuly 25, 2013
Rewarding work. Great coworkers. Rewards of working with clients made up for low pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agency recently lost most grants, closed 2 sites and downsized.
Family Therapist (Former Employee), Towson, MDApril 1, 2013
Has been exceptional work environment to develop client responsive interventions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Step house c/o Riverside Recovery Resources
Intern/ CAS registration # 11830 (Former Employee), Hemet, CAFebruary 8, 2013
Pros: free lunches, clothing articles, close to home
A typical day at First House is always exciting during the morning hours. It begins with retriving phone messages, customer service is a big part of my job. In addition to assiting my supervisor with filing, reviewing case files, and phone interventions. What I have learned is compassion, empathy, and empowerment. My co-workers are as genuinely other – more... centered employees, but we don't look at First Step House as a job---it is our way of reaching out to the community. The hardest part of my job is going home before my task is done. In conclusion, the most enjoyable part of my job is watching people come in and transform from a catapiller to a butterfly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun workplace working with children.
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: working with children
Teaching, Children activites, Prepare meals, Answer telephones, Monitor Children for hours at a time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A dedicated company that helps those in need.
Temporary (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJanuary 4, 2013
Pros: consistent work schedules
Cons: no paid leave
I've enjoyed working for various employers through First Step. This firm made consistent efforts to help employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work especially for the kid lover such as myself
Driver (Current Employee), Fordyce, AROctober 9, 2012
Pros: freedom to go and come as i pleaes, free lunch, off every weekend, paid holidays
Cons: insurance not to good, pay not to good
On a typical day at First Step you encounter something new everyday dealing with children. Even though I have the nescssary training to be a direct care worker I am not because of the job title i chose. In the mornings and evenings I am a driver in which i transport clients to and from school. And during the day hours I am a maintenance worker. Sometimes – more... when the company is short on staff I assist also in the classrooms with the wonderful and fun loving co-workers present there. And I would say the hardest thing about my job is having to say bye to my clients each and everyday because the enjoy being around you but I love my job simply because i love children – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life
DSP - Support Staff (Current Employee), Moreno Valley, CAJune 25, 2012
Pros: free movies, driving around, meet different people
Cons: time management, new information are late to be given out
Working here is really overwhelming but it was fun. Here I meet different people with different personality where I have to adjust with them. I also meet new co-workers who are nice, friendly and willing to help each other in any situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Entertaining Workplace.
Pre-school Instructor (Former Employee), Malvern, ARApril 29, 2012
Pros: lunch was only two dollars, i gained sick and vacation days
Cons: one 30 minute break.
I would get to work aroung 0730. The children would begin to arrive around 0745. The would begin their day with breakfast. Then we would go to circle time and read a book and talk about what we would do that day. I would work with my certain five children assigned to me. We would go over their skills they needed to master in this time period. The hardest – more... part of this job was getting the children to cooperate. They were easily distracted and wanted to play, but when they mastered a skill was the best part. It made me happy that I could teach a child with disabilities something they would use everyday. My co-workers were a fun group of women to be around. We kept each other competent on our job duties. After we worked on the goals for a couple hours, we would go to recess then lunch. Nap time was after lunch. During lunch time, I did my days worth of paperwork. I documented what each child had accomplished for the day. After nap the children went home. This was between 1430 and 1530. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full of energy ,fun enviorment
Manager (Former Employee), El. Cajon & Carlsbad, CAMarch 21, 2012
Pros: enjoyed working with people
Cons: store closed down
This was one of the best jobs i have had, it was fun fast paced and rewarding !