Find companies:
First Step
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

First Step Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lacks management
Certified Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Mullica Hill, NJDecember 7, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: no breaks
Great place to learn and start but lacks management. No procedures in place. Employees are not helpful. No place for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very organized, work friendly,teamwork,experienced,patient,and productive.
Ongoing Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Vernon, NYOctober 22, 2014
Pros: great teamwork
Cons: salary
Traveled almost everyday, mostly worked from home.
Work at First Step was a very friendly environment,worked well with others. Big Team work effort. Management was very organized. Loved working with the families and children. Loved my Face to Face meeting and interacting with the child.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging at times
Child Care Instructor (Current Employee), Malvern, ARSeptember 3, 2014
Typical day, busy, loved children and work with a great group of people in my class.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and very happy place to work, with great people to work with.
Case Manager (Former Employee), Hot Springs, ARJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: getting to help make a difference in someone's life who really needs it.
Cons: having to watch clients go through physical pain and illnesses.
Typical day, reported to my office and made phone calls on behalf of my clients in which our company was their guardian in order to keep up their living. Documentation and appointments were made and attended for SSI, Medicaid, Medicare, etc. Completed evaluations and approvals in order to keep all Supportive Living Services Active for the consumers. – more... Also made daily visits to the all clients homes to make contacts and to join in on activities. It was the greatest staff anyone could've worked with. But in the midst of it being a great job, it was a very difficult job also seeing that I was working with severely disable adults. Not to mention my youngest brother recieves in house services from the same company. So it hits home to know how much they really need help just to live. However, each and every day when they get excited as if I were Santa Clause himself, it makes me feel extremely blessed and joyful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding
Owner & Director (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TexasNovember 9, 2013
Pros: making a difference in young people lives
Cons: some long hours
I loved working with young children, teachers and other staff members in this learning environment. I was the owner and operator for this childcare business so I had a lot of responsibility on a day to day basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding work
Manager (Former Employee), Hot Springs, ARJuly 25, 2013
Rewarding work. Great coworkers. Rewards of working with clients made up for low pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agency recently lost most grants, closed 2 sites and downsized.
Family Therapist (Former Employee), Towson, MDApril 1, 2013
Has been exceptional work environment to develop client responsive interventions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Step house c/o Riverside Recovery Resources
Intern/ CAS registration # 11830 (Former Employee), Hemet, CAFebruary 8, 2013
Pros: free lunches, clothing articles, close to home
A typical day at First House is always exciting during the morning hours. It begins with retriving phone messages, customer service is a big part of my job. In addition to assiting my supervisor with filing, reviewing case files, and phone interventions. What I have learned is compassion, empathy, and empowerment. My co-workers are as genuinely other – more... centered employees, but we don't look at First Step House as a job---it is our way of reaching out to the community. The hardest part of my job is going home before my task is done. In conclusion, the most enjoyable part of my job is watching people come in and transform from a catapiller to a butterfly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun workplace working with children.
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: working with children
Teaching, Children activites, Prepare meals, Answer telephones, Monitor Children for hours at a time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A dedicated company that helps those in need.
Temporary (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJanuary 4, 2013
Pros: consistent work schedules
Cons: no paid leave
I've enjoyed working for various employers through First Step. This firm made consistent efforts to help employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work especially for the kid lover such as myself
Driver (Current Employee), Fordyce, AROctober 9, 2012
Pros: freedom to go and come as i pleaes, free lunch, off every weekend, paid holidays
Cons: insurance not to good, pay not to good
On a typical day at First Step you encounter something new everyday dealing with children. Even though I have the nescssary training to be a direct care worker I am not because of the job title i chose. In the mornings and evenings I am a driver in which i transport clients to and from school. And during the day hours I am a maintenance worker. Sometimes – more... when the company is short on staff I assist also in the classrooms with the wonderful and fun loving co-workers present there. And I would say the hardest thing about my job is having to say bye to my clients each and everyday because the enjoy being around you but I love my job simply because i love children – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life
DSP - Support Staff (Current Employee), Moreno Valley, CAJune 25, 2012
Pros: free movies, driving around, meet different people
Cons: time management, new information are late to be given out
Working here is really overwhelming but it was fun. Here I meet different people with different personality where I have to adjust with them. I also meet new co-workers who are nice, friendly and willing to help each other in any situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Entertaining Workplace.
Pre-school Instructor (Former Employee), Malvern, ARApril 29, 2012
Pros: lunch was only two dollars, i gained sick and vacation days
Cons: one 30 minute break.
I would get to work aroung 0730. The children would begin to arrive around 0745. The would begin their day with breakfast. Then we would go to circle time and read a book and talk about what we would do that day. I would work with my certain five children assigned to me. We would go over their skills they needed to master in this time period. The hardest – more... part of this job was getting the children to cooperate. They were easily distracted and wanted to play, but when they mastered a skill was the best part. It made me happy that I could teach a child with disabilities something they would use everyday. My co-workers were a fun group of women to be around. We kept each other competent on our job duties. After we worked on the goals for a couple hours, we would go to recess then lunch. Nap time was after lunch. During lunch time, I did my days worth of paperwork. I documented what each child had accomplished for the day. After nap the children went home. This was between 1430 and 1530. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full of energy ,fun enviorment
Manager (Former Employee), El. Cajon & Carlsbad, CAMarch 21, 2012
Pros: enjoyed working with people
Cons: store closed down
This was one of the best jobs i have had, it was fun fast paced and rewarding !
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
REWARDING AND PRODUCTIVE
Careers Support Worker (Former Employee), NEWCASTLEOctober 6, 2014
Main responsibilities were to arrange placements for Teaching Assistants, also to help teach basic English to ESOL learners. Key skills developed were interpreting, word processing, communication skills, to be able to present work and attend meetings. To deliver cultural awareness training to other workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and motivating
Student Teacher (Former Employee), Palmerston NorthNovember 1, 2013
Pros: free lunch, fun activities
Cons: long hour but enjoyable
First was an enjoyable experience. Supervisor would help me on all my goals to be improved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many experiences in and outdoors which are unbeatable and offset a continued interest and helpfullness towards carers and employers alike.
Supporting Volunteer (Former Employee), VoluntarySeptember 20, 2013
Pros: a choice based working day and variating tasks.
Cons: extended week more tasks and sometimes over time type activities.
A typical day of work would include replanning roles as those whom either have not arrived or have special health requirements which mean they cannot participate in the daily activity ie weather permitting standing in for them on the basis of a working role or general openess from the customer to be accompanied to the activity request.

Starting the – more... day by administering assistance to the paid staff for imaging using computing or taking photos for Ebay sales of Company goods.
The days outcome set off by a review being opened and greeting the health professionals when they arrive or conversing with them in the residents area.

Taking updating roles for employment opportunities which are prior agrranged to accomodate the practice of emplyment discipline,workshops or generally offering out roles when supporting and participating in the team.

Looking at cooking or preparing breakfast ,lunch or the evening meal for the residents or staff sometimes this is due to the ability to prepare the meal more efficiently by accompaning to and from outdoor shops due to independent living standards.

Co ordinating jobsd for the users whom have identified the need to seek employment and talking with their support workers about this and what the company can assist or in arrival travel times generally. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encourages you to achieve
Office finance Personel (Current Employee), LondonMarch 2, 2013
Pros: fulfilling
Cons: low paying
busy working with accounts in the finance department with the finance manager. checking the supplier and customer ledgers for accuracy. creating payment runs. reconciling bank accounts. reconciling supplier and customer ledgers with sage accounts. e.t.c
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very much serious about work
data entry jobs for different departments (Current Employee), Siliguri - 734001, West BengalOctober 5, 2012
At present working for about 10 hours a day.
completed dip.in elec. engg.
at the moment office-in-charge
with 10 co-workers
to finish the job stsrted in schedule time
getting payment in right time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, enjoyable and an idyllic environment.
Work Experience (Former Employee), DarlingtonAugust 10, 2012
I experienced many different roles and I had many responsibilities. The work included observing and shadowing the gym instructors, cleaning, I also had experience in reception answering telephones and taking bookings, during the time at the gym I also worked in the crèche looking after young children.
I gained critical knowledge and experience on interacting – more... with the public and I enjoyed reception work the most which has inspired me to follow a career where I use these skills and interact and communicate with the public. – less