Find companies:
First Student
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
271 reviews

First Student Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers were enjoyable
Bus Monitor (Current Employee), Boise, IDAugust 11, 2014
Pros: students with special needs
Cons: managment
My typical day at work is arriving to work at 5:30am, helping students with special needs on the bus, strapping students in wheelchairs, and buckling preschool students in the safety vests.

My co-workers are very good to work with because we all have the same objectives which is to keep students safe on the bus,

The most enjoyable part of my job is – more... working with kids with special needs and preschoolers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
have no opportunity to grow as a professional
Driver (Current Employee), Bloomfield, CTAugust 7, 2014
Pros: can be flexible with the schedules
Cons: no opportunities
my days at work are long I'm always on time always precent, after the route in the morning job putting dealsel to busus, then clean offices, manaller not have much experience and does not take the best deciciones in the work area .
Most drivers do not complete their work, not on time and do not follow instructions.
I am spear driver is complicated in – more... the winter when it's dark and you can not clearly see the instructions of the stops.
i love going to work every day to complete my work, I enjoy working with children and adolescents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very organized and goal oriented company
Bus Driver (Current Employee), Erie, PAAugust 3, 2014
Best job I've ever had. Hardest part is dealing with various weather conditions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always something new
School Bus Attendant (Former Employee), Lawrence, KSJuly 15, 2014
Pros: working with the kids
Cons: long bus rides
I worked with special needs children and helped insure their safety to and from school and home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a paycheck
Accounts Receivable/Payroll Clerk (Current Employee), Red Wing, MNJuly 14, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, good coworkers
Cons: benefits suck, pay is not great, no room for advancement
A typical day at work started with me coming in at 5:30am ad dispatching the morning drivers. Then I'd have a 3.5 to 4 hour break ad then come back in and dispatch PM drivers along with charters.
I have learned nothing from this company that I did't already know. The management is horrible, I feel as if my boss has no clue what he's doing. He doesn't – more... follow through with any consequences, he is not found of confrontation, so he avoids punishing employees. I like a handful of my coworkers, the others I can live without.The hardest part of the job, is feeling unappreciated and not given any praise for what I do. The most enjoyable part of the job is the end of the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice job
Bus Operator, First Student (Former Employee), Savannah GeorgiaJuly 9, 2014
you are really independent. You go pick up the kids in the morning after you drop them off to school you go home for them couple of hours then go back to pick them up and take them home
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enjoyable
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYJuly 7, 2014
Pros: breaks in between runs
Cons: benefits wasnt great
hardworking employees that never give up very deciated learned how to work in such environments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transporting students
Bus Driver (Current Employee), Canton, MSJune 30, 2014
Pros: free time to go to school
Cons: not enough hours
Transport students and various clients to activities, events and other school functions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turnover tuff job.
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Grants Pass, ORJune 27, 2014
Low pay for what u do.
Kids and staff easy to work with.
Mixed feeling about management.
Loved working with the kids.
Split shift part time hours.
Benefits are horribly expensive.
I hope you get good unemployment benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work environemnt
Van Driver (Current Employee), lewisberry paJune 25, 2014
Pros: pay, good people to work with
Cons: split up day
Great people to work with, good hours, great pay, good management, learned how to work as a team, my typical day of work was split up work four hours a day,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like driving school bus.
Bus Driver (Current Employee), Gresham, ORJune 23, 2014
I like driving school bus. Would be nice to work more hours in each day. Having summers off is difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Alton, ILJune 22, 2014
Pros: students
Cons: horrible pay
transportation of students to and from school, call center, inspection of buses for safety
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good part-time job for people who need to spend a good amount of time with family or have children or school.
Driver (Current Employee), Robbinsdale, MNJune 21, 2014
I like working at First student because it gives me the opportunity to drive and help children. it is a flexible position and allows time for me to be able to conduct other personal and business obligations by having a split shift. the pay is fair and the management show understanding. I would like something more full-time but I will take what I can – more... get for now. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wasn't for me
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Wichita, KSJune 13, 2014
Cons: everything
this job took up the entire day 5am-10am and then 1pm-6pm was very stressful to keep up with my daily life at home with 4 kids.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfactory
Bus Driver (Former Employee), cincinnati OHJune 11, 2014
satisfactory job. Job was enjoyable. Management went through transition. I learned how to handle students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ideal part time job.
Bus Driver (Current Employee), Central Point, ORJune 4, 2014
Pros: enough time during the day to relax or do another activity
Cons: no benefits as healthcare.
Interact with children from kindergarten to high school students.
The importance of safety.
Management flexible and disciplined at the same time.
Friendly and reliable all my co-workers.
Maintained discipline among students while riding the bus.
Students though, are the most enjoyable part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a very good worker and was on time .
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXJune 2, 2014
Pros: the people were great
Cons: short notice
I not sure what you are asking.The job is very intense while carrying kids on bus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Loved working with the children.
Bus Aide (Former Employee), Verona, WIJune 2, 2014
Ride to school with the children, take them home typical day at First Student. I wasn't a fan of how much drama and out of work craziness that occured there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reasonable company
Driver (Current Employee), Cheektowaga, NYMay 28, 2014
A reasonable company where you can earn decent pay with few incentives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Gardena, CAMay 27, 2014
The environment was exciting ,fun working with the children and the staff was helpful

About First Student

As Canada's largest student transportation company, we’re committed to the safety of our passengers, employees and the buses – Read more